We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun, for all ages”
Review of Segway of Coronado

Segway of Coronado
Ranked #2 of 13 Tours in Coronado
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A super fun alternative to a walking tour, you learn to ride a Segway and have a great tour around the historic and beautiful parts of Coronado, California. THE best day of our 5 days in San Diego!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Istanbul
1 review
“Great fun, for all ages”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Barbara was wonderful and made us feel like pros on the Segway. It was much easier then I thought. Coronado has excellent sidewalks for it too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Asligermen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    8
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Segway of Coronado”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was really happy with the overall communication and handling of our reservation with Norm. Also, the tour itself was wonderful! Jessica was patient, knowledgeable and kept the flow of the tour interesting. This was a perfect add-on to our trip to San Diego. Jane K.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaneakaJeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on the road to Rock'n'Roll
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“More fun than I expected!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have a friend who's wanted to try riding a Segway since they were first produced. So, a few weeks ago we decided to finally give it a shot. We chose Segway of Coronado and were very pleased. No problems scheduling the tour or having our questions answered before arrival. We tried to book at less-busy time and were lucky enough to be the only two people on our tour. Our guide (I want to say her name was Jessica) was fantastic and made it a great experience. She gave us a quick lesson and some practice time before heading off on the tour and made sure we were both comfortable riding the Segway. While it's a little strange at first, it's very easy to pick up and by the end of the tour you'll feel like an expert. The route through Coronado was nice - even though we both live locally, we saw and learned some new things. We did the normal tour and it was the perfect length - we felt like we really got our money's worth and had a full experience. We actually commented afterward that we were glad we stuck with the normal tour as the 'deluxe' tour may have actually been a bit too long. Do wear comfortable shoes! Even though you're mostly just standing, you'll be on your feet a while and will appreciate some cushioning. The tour ended up being more fun than I expected and I'd be happy to try it again sometime (maybe in another city for variety.) And my pal was over the moon! A very fun outing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bamalamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, NM
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Ride, Fun for All!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had the opportunity to organize a Segway glide for a group of friends while we were attending a conference in Coronado. In spite of needing a time frame outside the "ordinary" tours, Norm was easy to work with and scheduled our tour just as we needed. Because we were a large group, we had two guides (even tho' we traveled together...don't tell Norm. :>) Barbara had "seniority" and took half our group, while Jessica, the "rookie" got her feet wet with the other bunch. Only three of us had played on a Segway before, but after only a few short "lessons" the entire group of "beginners" had their glide on. Even the most fearful and timid were riding like pros after the lessons on starting, stopping, turning, riding on surfaces other than concrete and going up and down driveways and hills. We selected the basic tour and began our glide to Glorietta Bay towards the historic Boat House where we stopped to look at the City's historic photo mural of the Hotel Del and Tent City. After a few minutes there, we returned along the Coronado Bike Path past the tennis courts along Glorietta Bay blvd to look at some very beautiful homes and gardens. We passed the Coronado Golf Course then went underneath the Coronado Bridge toward Tidelands Park, where we stopped to take photos of the Coronado Bridge. Some of us then went on to the ferry landing alongside beautiful San Diego Bay. Highly recommend this activity, for all ages. You will be glad you did!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
“Great Fun - Jessica was Fantastic!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed a beautiful afternoon touring Coronado with my wife and 16yo daughter. Our guide, Jessica, made the day fun, interesting and safe. It was our first experience on a Segway, and it was a blast. I would highly recommend seeing Coronado and its beautiful neighborhoods from this perspective.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JEMTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Segway of Coronado also viewed

 

Been to Segway of Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing