We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leroy's Kitchen & Lounge”

Leroy's Kitchen + Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Leroy's Kitchen + Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 10th
Description: With all of our restaurants, we have tried to bring something new and exciting to Coronado. Leroy's Kitchen + Lounge will specialize in Urban Eclectic Food from sustainable natural sources as well as Cocktails and local Craft beers! Leroy's is about great food – without being expensive or fancy -- made with passion and the freshest ingredients for the most prominent flavor paired with "stiff" drinks and good wine! Our menu is intended to be exciting, unexpected and most of all fresh and flavorful. Overall, we hope to provide a place for our guests to relax and dine in good company.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Leroy's Kitchen & Lounge”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Leroy's eclectic menu offers something for everyone. The burgers are excellent as is the Sangria. The list of microbrews is wonderful with many local breweries. The hostess can be a bit on the slow/disorganized side but the wait is worth it. Our waitress was excellent, once she was assigned to our table and we were seated. Attentive, checked frequently and ready with suggestions when asked.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    169
    56
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, CA USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT BURGER!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On my recent visit to Coronado, we ate an upbeat, relaxed restaurant with great food. My burger was delicious, and my friends' pork dish and chicken sandwich were also tasty. The service was great.....an overall good choice for brunch, lunch, or dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank S0CalSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley, California
Level Contributor
297 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very good food, attentive staff, but noisy on some nights, typical difficult Coronado parking!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

So we were here at a friends invitation as he is retiring from the Marines and wanted to thank us for our hospitality and friendship during his time in San Diego. Interesting place featuring faux chic - hip raw wood interior with one private room for a group of eight or ten and another large single room for dining and bar which on Wednesday and Thursday nights and Sunday brunch also includes live music. If you want or intend on talking to anyone, including your waiter, do not go on a band night. Talking is impossible, very loud voice or shouting is the only way to communicate.

Now, having said that, the food was great! Between us we shared four starters, the french fry with pomegranate ketchup, steamed mussels, fish tacos, and fried squash blossoms; all were great. My friend and I had the "just introduced to the menu that evening" rib eye steak and it was very good; not as good as Island Prime, but good. The wives had the scallops and they were fabulous (yes my wonderful wife and I share, made up our own surf and turf). In fact I think they were the best scallops I have ever had. Desert? Oh yes, we had the Peanut Butter Bar and Naughty Ding Dong for desert and, again, were very happy. Add in at the table french press decaf coffee and desert was really well done. BUT, once we were done with desert we left quickly to escape the music. Don't get me wrong, the band was good, but too loud and over amplified for the small space. And because of that patrons trying to communicate raise their voices or even shout. Folks do not linger after dinner! It's kind of like they haven't figured out what they are on Wednesday and Thursday night; a bar? A restaurant? A lounge? Trying to be all three in a single room just isn't working, in my opinion.

Excellent wait staff, great service.

Yes I will go back, for lunch, and even dinner, but not when there is live entertainment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great food for brunch. They had free mimosas for mom's on Mother's Day weekend. Really accepting of children. They brought a high chair and a magna doodle. Everyone was really friendly with our toddler made it a great visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gkbpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Busy, lively place - a haunt for locals”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were pleased we went to Leroy's and had a good table for listening to the Gonzo Trio. Despite their name they were a decent rock covers band.
The place was busy and lots of people seemed to know the band and each other which made for a jolly atmosphere. The food we ordered was pretty good: carrot and saffron soup and devilled eggs both enjoyed as a first course; corn ravioli was a bit stodgy but the vegetables in the sauce delicious, and swordfish was good. We shared a lemon crème dessert which was also good. The service was a little slow at times. One extremely expensive sour style beer was not enjoyed. Overall a good evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leroy's Kitchen + Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Leroy's Kitchen + Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing