We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Sushi on the Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saiko Sushi

Saiko Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Saiko Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st
Transit: Just steps form the Coronado ferry terminal
Coronado, California, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Sushi on the Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Love the food and love the staff! If you go you have to try the Saiko Roll! It's their signature and it's great!

Monday is happy hour all day and includes the roll. Some great deals to be taken advantage of!

Enjoy!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank crazyben5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    43
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Nice location and very tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

It is located at the end of the orange street where you can sit outside to enjoy a street view of Coronado or a little bit skyline of San Diego. The service is very good and sashimi taste just like the one you have in Japan. The price is very fair and that is my best Japanese meal abroad...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very poor ! Humiliating treatment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Awful treatment by the greeter and manager Robin last night , who turned us away saying they were closed and implying that we did not have an internet booking last night for 8.45 pm despite a confirmation email in our possession . So disappointing and upsetting . We could not believe they were so offhand and insensitive to the embarrassment they caused us turning us away at the door despite our reservation .

I wrote an email this morning and not a singe word of apology from management either.,. Very poor .
We were staying at the Coronado and made the managers there aware of the awful treatment we received so as to warn potential future customers

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evieb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Tried Saiko after reading some good reviews while I was visiting Coronado over a long weekend. It's at a convenient location by the Ferry Landing on Orange. Restaurant is clean, nicely decorated, full bar with no Japanese employees anywhere in the restaurant. That made me little nervous but it was a nice surprise when I tasted the Chirashi, Roll Combo, etc. Chef Pascale has such a delicate touch and the food there are beautifully balanced, creative, and progressive. They also got the rice right as well which is not easy. I get really frustrated by Japanese or Asian-based restaurants that make bad rice! Marilyn, our waitress, was always very perky, personable, and attentive. The Chef was very accommodating as well to our personal request - thanks for letting us return the next day to claim what we left. =) We have been to many well known sushi places owned by celebrity chefs (Chef Morimoto is our favorite!) and I can tell you that we are looking forward to going back to Saiko. Try it and you won't regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lov2bParisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome sushi in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had one of the best sushi ever. Location is fancy and warm, service kind and fast but come here for sushi, one of the best of my life. The have also a pretty good choice of wines ( add more italians!).
We come out with house specialties and fried calamari , awesome!
Come and try, great place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muouci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saiko Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Saiko Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing