We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, sports bar”
Review of The Tavern

The Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable, sports bar”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stopped in while walking/shopping in Coronado. Nice bartender with good selection of tap beer - Guinness on tap, and he took his time pouring it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt_in_Minn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    89
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere, Good Food”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The Tavern is a good addition to Coronado (replacing a Wendy's). Good service, good food, and a good atphosphere. TVs for sports, good beers on tap, and good location. Don't wait an hour for a table at the Pizzeria, sit right down and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAReviewer--CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Specialises in good value 'comfort food'. We ate there twice and on each occasion received excellent service and tasty food which we very much enjoyed. Very good value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank junerose_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great spot”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Located in beautiful Coronado. Great service, delicious appetizers and entrées, great drinks, even the kids menu was delicious :) Generous serving size
Clean restaurant, clean bathrooms, walking distance from the beach. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, great food at a great price.”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We happened into this place by accident. Originally, we planned on the Italian restaurant next door, but after comparing our attire with the prices on the menu decided the Tavern was a better fit. We started with the crab cake appetizer. I could have sworn the menu said "crab cakes" but only one came on the dish, which surprised us. Don't let that stop you from getting it, though. It is loaded with large chunks of crab and is perfectly cooked and flavorful, with a scrumptious creamy avocado aioli sauce to the side and fresh greens with vinaigrette. My husband had the flat iron steak with a chili reduction, fingerling potatoes and the freshest baby green beans. It's been a long time since I've seen my husband eat so slowly, but the steak was so tender and well prepared that he wanted to savor every bite. Now THAT is saying a lot! I had a simple green salad and added shrimp to it. The greens were fresh and the added carrot slivers and almonds with a lime vinaigrette The shrimp came on a separate plate and were cooked to perfection with lots of garlic, scampi style. It was a wonderful meal answer will be returning often. The worse part was the paid parking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muddymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing