We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a Great Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coronado Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coronado Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Susanville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a Great Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our family reunion at Coronado Beach Resort. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Loew's facilities for pool and recreation were fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slim33150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    89
    26
    12
    9
See reviews for
176
192
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Nice place next to the beach. Staff was very helpful. Being one oldest on the island,it's awesome to see it still in good shape.I'll change the carpets because they look /smell really used.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagbenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

Coronado Island is a beautiful spot to visit for singles or families. This hotel is one block from the beach, next to the Hotel Del, and shares excellent pool/spa amenities with the Lowes nearby (4 mi). The rooms accommodate a family of four comfortably and are very well supplied. The staff can't be more helpful. Beach equipment (towels/sand toys etc), DVDs etc. are complimentary. Bikes available for rent across the street. We seldom cooked in because every restaurant one could want to try is within walking distance.
Won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JUCandDMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Coronado Beach Resort. It is centrally located in downtown Coronado, which is walking distance to many places and just half a block from the beach. It is also only a short driving distance to San Diego. The lobby is quaint & cozy, offering free internet usage, coffee/tea and popcorn, and decorated with the residence of Cody the Macaw and a well-maintained salfwater aquarium. Each room has a DVD player and a kitchenette. The staff is super friendly & helpful. There is a gorgeous rooftop patio area for lounging, jacuzzi, dry sauna, and bbq. Although the jacuzzi was not working when we were there, the resort well compensates by giving resort patrons access to the pool amenities at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort. There are so many things to do in the Coronado/San Diego area, I will definitely return soon and stay once again at the Coronado Beach Resort.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilPebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

The resort was fantastic. The front desk agents were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were emaculate and we loved the Macaw in the lobby. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueEyedAline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

I stayed at the Coronado Beach Resort for several reason:
1) Much cheaper hotel rate about 50% less than Hotel Del Coronado
2) Free wifi with free use of computer in lobby.
3) Small but servicable gym with treadmill and stationary bike
4) Great for the business traveller who needs to save money and go the Hotel Del for meeting; right across the street.
5) Basically a time share with rooms to rent during off season: so frig, small stove, DVD player and stereo system provided.
6) Parking included in the resort fee, which itself is very reasonable $15 a night.


Some problems:
1) Rooms somewhat dark, needs more lighting
2) I stayed in a studio, which required a Murphy bed (a first for me)
3) No restaurants, but hotel provides discounts for nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lcjmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

My mother-in-law just passed away unfortunately, and this past weekend was her funeral. They lived in Coronado and my our family, traveling with 8 people (including 2 little kids), needed some rooms to stay for three nights to get through this rough time. The Coronado Beach Resort was perfect. We had three units -- 3 one-bedroom condos -- that were absolutely perfect. Free internet. BBQ facilities and sauna/jacuzzi on a very cool roof deck. We could make coffee, eat breakfast and lunch in the room, spend time in Coronado itself or taking the kids in between events over to the beach. We felt comfortable and at home even though we had a lot of obligations that had to be attended to. The location could not have been more perfect for us. Restaurants and shopping right in reach without ever needing to get in the car, yet a parking garage and easy access to Coronado so we didn't need to worry about a thing. While it was a rotten reason to have to go to Coronado, we will definitely go back again -- hopefully under happier circumastances to have a really nice vacation in Coronado.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank alippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Beach Resort

Property: Coronado Beach Resort
Address: 1415 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2948
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#1 Green Hotel in Coronado
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#3 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic and historic Coronado Island, Coronado Beach Resort emulates a unique beachside charm with an urban backdrop. Choose from a variety of our suites which give you the comfort & convenience of home while still having that vacation getaway. Located in the heart of Orange Avenue, our guests are steps away from the unique shops, restaurants, and bustling atmosphere of the charming downtown area. Dine in and enjoy the Jacuzzi or Adventure out and experience Coronado Island from a new view with access to our off property Pool, Basketball & Tennis Courts. Come and stay at Coronado Beach Resort and take that relaxing & fun filled vacation that you've always dreamt about. Please note a USD 20.00 Nightly resort fee will be collected at check in. Check-in is at 4 pm and check-out is at 11 am. Minimum age to check-in is 21. Also be advised that a credit card is required for incidentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Coronado Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing