We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive view for any beach, even with dog and bikini show” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Deck Bar and Grill

Sun Deck Bar and Grill
Ranked #28 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Expensive view for any beach, even with dog and bikini show”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

California loves their dogs and this expensive well located bar and grill was NO different. California state regulates that animals shall not be within 20 feet of where food is sold, guess paying close to $20 for a burger doesn't count. Certainly the girl in bare feet wearing just a bikini did not seem to mind the big dog. BUT hey it was a patio by definition.
Jordan was a fine server on her first day back and I did enjoy the hamburger, others must have have enjoyed their water too because table turn over was slow. We watched one table of three men drink water while one of their group nursed a draft beer for the entire time we were there.

Great view, hard to recommend the place when there are less expensive restaurants nearby with a different dressed clientele.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dive_ability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    87
    61
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT locale, very good food, sssllloooow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Once we finally received our food and drinks, they were quite good. We were there on a busy Friday afternoon - they just didn't have enough servers. Ours was very friendly but long waits for everything. My pesto chicken sandwich was terrific though!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmdangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baxter, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beach atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

A nice place to stop for a drink in the middle of your beach walk. The grill closes at 5 so we missed the appetizers, but the drinks were good and the service was great. Nice waterfront deck seating with gas fires nearby.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
191 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Disappointing Management Decision- No More Live Band”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

As vacationers, there was one event that we especially looked forward to in the summer...spending a lazy Sunday afternoon on the Del Sundeck listening to Ron's Garage Band...an eclectic mix of oldies.
Alas, there is no more band after many years of playing this gig;, the band was asked to go elsewhere.
Rumor is that the summer traffic didn't turn over fast enough and the band was limiting the hotel's profits.
Thus this "excellent" experience is now downgraded to "average".
Still want to hear the band....go to McP's patio down the street...same great sound with considerably lower prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
2 Thank Theroadwarrior12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The weather is still a bit chilly on Coronado in May. But the Sun Deck Bar has gas fires around the couches and acrylic wind shields that make it very comfortable. The Deck has a great view of the beach and sunset. The food is good and the portions are large. When I was there in July last year, the Sun Deck had live entertainment in the afternoon. I was disappointed that there was no live entertainment on this trip. I was surprised because it was memorial Day weekend. But it was still a very nice afternoon hang out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WillB_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Deck Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sun Deck Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing