We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pork Belly Po Boy - Delish!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delux Dogs - CLOSED

Delux Dogs
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Description: Opened by hot dog lovers, for hot dog lovers. The menu has simple classics for the purists and unusual combinations for the adventurous.
Pelham, GA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pork Belly Po Boy - Delish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

At conference for a week at fancy hotel in San Diego, so I go to Walgreens to purchase some snacks and beer (as I can't afford $5 bags of chips and $7 beers at hotel). I've already paid the parking meter so when done shopping at Walgreens I decide to not move rental car and just stroll the sidewalk and find cafe or sandwich shop. (Some may call me cheap, but I'm on company's expense account and steward their money as I would my own.). Anyway, I walk into Delux Dogs - a long, deep, narrow opening with very spartan and industrial seating. As I'm walking in I'm reminding myself that I don't even like hotdogs, and at that moment my eye drifts toward a single sheet of paper taped to cash register - the daily special - - PORK BELLY PO BOY!!! Need I say more?!?! Fried pork cubes on top of a bed of sliver thin sliced cabbage Cole slaw, a tangy buffalo style sauce smeared onto a soft potato bread type hotdog bun/roll, all topped with chopped dill pickles. Go try it. The rest of the menu looked interesting. If if can get back down there this week, will try the Reuben dog.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpelements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We discovered this place walking on Orange Avenue in Coronado last month while we were travelling in San Diego and Coronado.

They had a few tables outside on the sidewalk and the place looked really cute. There were tables inside the restaurant but it is a narrow, fairly small restaurant and we enjoyed sitting outside.

They have a great menu and my husband ordered The Windy City dog and I had a burger. We also ordered one order of french fries for the both of us. It was plenty of food!

We both enjoyed our food and once we saw their Delux chopped salad we wanted to order it too!

Next time!

Great place we will return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NatC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Yes - gotta try a Delux Dog!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We found Delux Dog while roaming Coronado and it sounded like a great idea so we tried it. I noticed several locals eating there which typically is a good sign. I'm not a super big fan of hot dogs but the large and interesting menu talked me into it and I am so glad. The different variety of high quality hot dog creations will suit virtually any taste and yes, they are indeed high quality dogs. Add the fresh-squeezed lemonade and really, really, really good sweet potato fries and I left very happy. Extra bonus - very reasonable prices! If you hit up Delux Dogs, you'll leave quite satisfied but it won't break the bank. Oh, one more thing - outstanding counter service from a very hard-working, conscientious young man made it a sure bet we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Truly Delux”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Try these dogs and you will never go back to "plain" hot dogs. The rueben is my favorite. The also have a selection of craft beers available.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hot dog!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

I come from the land of good hot dogs and this place was right there!!! The snap dog rocked as well as the BLT dog. Mostly wholesome and outdoor seating. Craving a dog? Come here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank solberg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing