We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resturant but expensive”
Review of 1500 OCEAN

1500 OCEAN
Reserve with OpenTable
1500 OCEAN is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 100 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dana Place
Transit: Serviced by SDMTS Route 904 http://www.sdmts.com/RouteFiles/routes/pdf/904.pdf
Description: Inspired by its beachfront setting, Hotel del Coronado’s signature restaurant 1500 OCEAN spotlights California Coastal cuisine with fresh local ingredients. Start with a craft cocktail at the Sunset Bar overlooking the Pacific, and then venture inside for an epicurean adventure of seasonal dishes paired with exceptional wines.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice resturant but expensive”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we stayed five days at the Del this was on of their nice restaurant's they have two. It was nice, the food was just ok, and the service was horrible and it was expensive. Essentially, you are paying for the location and the view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_VO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at 1500 OCEAN, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are thrilled you chose the Del for your vacation! Creating the most amazing experience is the goal of our 1500 team. We fell short and apologize for the unacceptable service issues you encountered. We will share your review with our team so we may make the necessary improvements. Thank you for your valuable input and we look forward to your return so that we can provide the legendary service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    98
    38
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This restaurant has beautiful views, it's right on the beach. The outside set up is really nice. This restaurant is worth visiting because of the staff. We spoke to several of them who had been there for over 30 years! I think that says a lot about an establishment. I did the prix fixe menu and it was really good. If you want to splurge on a "fancy" meal with nice people this is the place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebekkah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at 1500 OCEAN, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are pleased that you had such a memorable experience at this iconic resort and enjoyed dining at 1500 Ocean. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A No Rush Restaurant”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We dined here on our second night at The Del and had the most enjoyable experience. We did the Tasting Menu (well worth it) and they actually gave us plenty of time between courses to really enjoy the experience. We were there for 2 1/2 hours. The food was fantastic! We will dine here again in the future! (Again, an outside table is a must)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at 1500 OCEAN, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience at 1500 Ocean. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful meal”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Unlike my review for Sheerwater at Hotel del Coronado, the 1500 Ocean was excellent! Although expensive, the service, atmosphere, and food quality was excellent. It was well worth spending a few extra $ and dining here! Innovative and delicious food, personal attentive service, and a beautiful restaurant. Recommended but not cheap.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greekeyrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Turned a bad situation good - excellent service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location is spectacular with excellent views of the beach and ocean. When we first arrived we were guided to our table and served cold water. However, while every other table around us (literally) was being served no one came to serve us. Apparently our table had not been assigned to a waiter. The manager was so embarrassed that he personally apologized and comped our drinks. I judge a restaurant on the food and service but also how situations are managed, this could not have been handled better.
Tried to book on Open Table and nothing available until 8.30. Called and made a reservation through the Hotel Coronado at the exact time we wanted.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank My_Lady_of_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at 1500 OCEAN, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed our oceanfront setting. We appreciate your recognition of our legendary service and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1500 OCEAN also viewed

 

Been to 1500 OCEAN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing