We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coronado's Best Bet For Breakfast”

Villanueva Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Coronado's Best Bet For Breakfast”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

If there is a better place to have breakfast in Coronado, then I have yet to find it. This place has great omlettes and world class muffins among other offerings. What else can you ask for? I have never eaten anything but breakfast here, so I can't comment on their lunch options. Get here relatively early in the morning, before 8:30 and you should have no problem getting a table. It does get crowded and you could wind up with a tray of food and have no place to put it. You order your food at the counter and it will then be brought to your table when ready. Just don't feed the pigeons that sometime congregate nearby the outdoor tables, probably looking for leftover crumbs from those delicious muffins.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bulls76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gleeson. AZ
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Food Self Serve”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Interesting concept for me, order at the counter then your food is delivered. Very small restaurant and popular so you could find yourself placing an order with nowhere to sit. We were fortunate enough to have found a spot after we ordered. The food was well prepared and nice portions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No sign outside saying kitchen closes near 2:30; inconsistent food -- 2.5 stars”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We arrived about 2:20, sat at a table outside and chose our meals then proceeded inside to order only to find out 4 out of the 5 of us could not get what we wanted because the kitchen closes near 2:30 and they could only serve sandwiches. We all switched our orders and had some type of sandwich. Three of the five came out with some sort of pasta salad as the side then the final two sandwiches arrived with a side of fruit salad. We asked for pasta salad on one of them instead and the server wasn't sure there was any. When she brought it out, it seemed like the bottom of the container and then found a dead 4 centimeter spider in it. Needless to say, my appetite was gone by then. When brought to the server's attention, they were completely apologetic, offered a dessert on the house (which I declined) then offered the return of my money. I don't complain to get something for free so I declined both a free dessert or the return of my money. As for the other food, four out of five of us had the same sandwich -- the Silver Strand -- which is a take on a Rueben. The bread was good but the meat (corned beef I believe) was extremely fatty and couldn't be eaten without worrying about what you were ingesting. I wouldn't return but do have to say some of the bakery items looked delicious inside the cases. Unfortunately for me, my first impression wasn't good and there are other options I'd try before ever visiting Villa Nueva again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alsobidingmytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I think I ordered the wrong item!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Although my Breakfast Croissant was delicious, when I saw the French Toast delivered to the next table, I now know what I will order on my next visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 64peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food, horrible cappuccino”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This coffee shop/deli is in a good location. Best enjoyed sitting outside.
I had a divine croissant and ice tea. I was happy! Hubby had a sandwich and 'cappuccino'. He enjoyed the sandwich but said the cappuccino was worse than 711's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeroBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villanueva Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Villanueva Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing