We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coronado Island Inn
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Reviewed 11 March 2013

negatives:
The comforters on the beds felt dirty -- wife and I had itchy skin throughout the night. Room has very poor sound and temperature insulation so it got extremely cold in the room during the night and could hear whenever cars drove by. The heater/AC is a wall unit with a broken vent panel so it was somewhat weird. The TV remote didn't work. The shower had poor water pressure.

positives:
The checkin counter was very friendly. The bed mattress was pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

I love the clean, simple, basic, and very affordable rooms that allow me and my family to spend a couple of extra vacation days every year in a gorgeous location. The affordable rooms ensure that we have extra spending cash for anything we want to do around town. There's even a cute pool to cool of in the evening after coming back from the beach. Walking distance to restaurants and to the ferry landing. Be realistic in your expectations, and you will not be disappointed. We always had a very friendly staff, and we've been lucky enough to never have had loud neighbors. Hopefully our luck will hold, we're definitely going back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dyan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This has to be one of the last remaining original motels on the island. WE ended up here because we neglected to make reservations early enough to capture a more desirable property. The Coronado Island Inn rooms are very small. The motel is at the corner of two of the busiest streets on the island, so commuter noise is as bad as it gets. But the rooms are fairly well insulated. The worst noise comes from the antiquated air conditioning unit mounted to the rear wall of our room. Strangely, one can adjust to the lack of sophistication and amenities ... and the place begins to endear itself to you. But if I had a choice, I'd probably start earlier next year to find a more desirable hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the sister motel across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

First let me say that I read all of the reviews for 2012 before making our reservations here, and those were very helpful in setting realistic expectations of this property. I find that I sometimes need that 'reminder' so the I give properties a fair shake.

Room was a great size, clean, and neat. Water pressure was horrible, TV remote had a mind of its own, and the internet never worked. If I had asked for a new remote, they would have given it to us, but we were only there 1 night and it was late. The water pressure was evidently a water leak they didn't know about till I told them when we checked out. For a resort island, and on the main drag - that was a good value for the money and a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same side of the street as the pool - as this property is split into 2 locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gennymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We had a quick overnight in San Deigo. This property was only about 15 minutes from the meeting in "central" SD, but was just a reasonable walk to a dog beach. The rooms are all on a platform, so when our neighbors came in around 3 am, it was pretty loud with foot thunking (only was to describe it). The room had all the essentials, and was fairly basic. The fridge and microwave were awesome to have for keeping frosty beverages frosty. Our only snafu was upon checkout, where a billing question we had a couple of days later was only answered after we gave them a deadline or "we would dispute the charges and write a bad review." Over all, it was a basic, clean property with a friendly staff, very dog friendly, and we would likely return. If you are expecting luxury, then cough up a few hundred dollars more per night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sander_is_a_Corgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I booked a room at this little motel of twin properties on the corner of Orange & #rd at the last minute before traveling down to San Diego Friday 11/4/11. Erin was a doll to speak with on the phone, and the rest of the staff was awesome too. The room was very nice, complete with a kitchenette, new flat screen t.v., a nice table and two chairs, and lots of space for you clothes and in the closet as well. Only thing is, the bathroom is very tiny. but you won't be spending your vacation in there, so who cares. The rate is right on, and they don't gouge tourist on the weekends. Large selection of continental breakfast items (coffee, bagels, fruit, cereals, etc.) n the mornings. Between the two properties there are only 15 parking spaces, so just FYI if you go. I will definitely stay here again with my friends and family next time!

Room Tip: Even though I had a room right by the street, it was actually not noisy at all. Either property (th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ShelbyPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We just came back from San Diego and the only bad experience was our stay at the Coronado Island Inn. If you like sleeping on an urine smelling mattress at a busy intersection and having to walk across a busy street to swim in the murky pool then this is the place for you. After trying to move to a different room we were told that our room was a recent reno and we could upgrade at a higher price. No thank you we went to the Glorietta Inn and had a fabulous experience. I guess you get what you pay for

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
717 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.8 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Inn

Address: 301 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1412
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range: £98 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coronado Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Island Inn is located in Coronado, CA, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. The hotel is centrally located and is only a short distance from local shops and restaurants. Recently renovated, the Coronado Island Inn is perfect for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Coronado Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Island Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing