We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at the Glorietta Bay for 3 nights with my husband and our 2 sons aged 13 and 15. We really liked the hotel it is a lovely hotel great setting, and very close to all the shops, restaurants, and beaches in Coronado.

Unfortunately we didn't love Coronado, it seemed to us quite old fashioned. The hotel as well seemed to have an older/retired crowd.

With that out of the way, the hotel is lovely, a beautiful old hotel set so close to everything. We stayed in the newer add on part of the hotel, out back. It was a small one bedroom apartment with a King Size bed, a pull out couch and we also got a roll away bed. there was also a full kitchen and dining area, the size was amazing.

The down side of this room is that we were below a family with small children who as small children do, were quite loud, and you could hear all the footsteps. That was unfortunate as it did wake us up most mornings. We also had a storage shed outside the back of our room, which is accessed by a gate and used by the staff. Again no big deal just nit picking.

The hotel does do an amazing continental breakfast every morning. This was amazing, and they didn't skimp on the items in the buffet. Well done Glorietta Bay!!

They have a pool and a hot tub, the pool wasn't heated so we were unable to use it, which is a shame.

All in all a good hotel if you are staying in Coronado I would totally recommend it!

Room Tip: The apartments at the back are great for families and very spacious, may want to consider a second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 328sandip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

Perfection! Everyone went out of their way to do anything that would make us comfortable and happy. I would like to particularly thank Keri, who is the kind of person I would like a s a close friend, and Kevin too, who was also so nice. The housekeeping staff and maintenance deserve a special shout out, too. I kept spilling things, and so housekeeping had about triple the usual amount of work, and maintenance gave me a beautiful little present. What a spectacular place. I can't say enough.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the mansion if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My husband and I had to stay here 1 night by "default" because our hotel was overbooked. We LOVED it and were sorry that we didn't just stay here for our entire trip! The room was small but very clean, and the beds/pillows were SUPER comfy! Our room had a great balcony, but it made it a bit noisy in the morning due to other guests arriving/leaving. The continental breakfast was a surprise, and it was perfect….from well stocked fresh fruit, juices, yummy pastries, breads, muffins, cereal, etc., it was wonderful. We weren't even out of our cab and a staff member was there greeting us and taking our luggage. Everyone on staff was just delightful and willing to please. We ended our trip at the Hotel del Coronado, and for WAYYYYY less money we were happier at Glorietta Bay! Would stay again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Our room was right above the entrance. The balcony was great, but if you want a quiet morning, I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Have-A-Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed 5 nights here while attending a conference at the Convention Centre
Staff could not be more helpful. Comfortable rooms, healthy breakfast. Friendly , non corporate, atmosphere, and close to beach location was the perfect way to start the day before a $20 taxi ride into concrete jungle.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at the Glorietta Bay hotel last week, and were thrilled at our stay. We went to celebrate our anniversary, and couldn't be happier. The hotel, and furnishings at our room in the mansion were wonderful. But in addition, the hotel staff were attentive, and pleasant, and made us feel special. The hotel has a beautiful view of the bay, and is also close to shopping, restaurants, and travel.

Room Tip: Look on line and spend the extra dollars for a room in the mansion. It will make the stay more memo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbkulstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This is a nice "hotel"; the main house is more of a B & B atmosphere and the "modern buildings" are more motel in design. There is a little bay view from some rooms while others can just look out on the walkway/courtyard or parking lot. The beds, linens are very comfortable. Lighting in the bathrooms can be better and our view room didn't have double sinks. GBI is across the street from the Hotel Del Coronado so you can easily walk across the street to whatever is going on there and beach access (but you have lug your stuff down some paths so if you have kids and lots of beach gear, get a luggage "trolley" of some sort to make it easier.. GBI is an easy walk into "town" so you can get to nice restaurants without getting in your car. (Go to Miguel's). The complimentary breakfast is a slightly upgraded continental with hard boiled eggs in the mix. The fruit was "iffy". Mixed fruit cup has grapefruit in it which isn't good for persons taking certain medications. The staff is very helpful and responds quickly to requests. (We needed a new nightlight and additional pillows).

Room Tip: make sure you specify "view" cuz you can end up with a parking lot room or a room that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katharinepacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed at the Glorietta Bay Inn on a weekend and was impressed by the level of service that I received. Exceptionally friendly staff who went out of their way to accommodate guests. I sat in the lobby early one morning to do some work while my husband slept and overheard numerous guests interact with the front desk. The attitude was positve, warm and friendly. Genuinely caring about every guest. When I walked to and from my room - every staff member met my gaze and gave me a "hello". The room was very comfortable and offered every amenity that I would have expected including Gilcrest and Soames bath products. The continental breakfast offered is a plus. The location is fantastic - across from the Hotel Del, the beach and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. I would highly recommednd the Glorietta Bay Inn!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 17 in Coronado
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
736 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £170 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing