We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious Glorietta!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Glorious Glorietta!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

While visiting friends who live on Coronado Island, we had the opportunity to stay nearby at the Glorietta Bay Inn. The stay was near-perfect! The hotel is extremely clean, quiet, and completely relaxing. The room, though a tad small (as expected at any beach location), had all of the necessities readily available. The continental breakfast is quite extensive, and the room patio overlooking the marina at the bay was a perfect place to relax. Across the street at the Del, there are plenty of dining and shopping options. The location is an easy stroll to all of the sights along Orange Avenue.
I highly recommend this hotel as your base for a visit to Coronado!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelrLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with Glorietta Bay Inn! We are pleased to hear that you found our location great and that you would stay with us again. We hope to see you again soon!
-Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    246
    48
    20
    10
See reviews for
247
417
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rye, colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a great place. Across the street from the Del without all the bustle, a quick walk to the beach, restaurants, and shopping. Fresh fruit, oatmeal, pastries, juices for breakfast to eat inside or on the patio. Clean rooms, awesome staff, and beautiful, historic lobby and public areas filled with the most gorgeous orchids I have ever seen. Pour a to-go cup of coffee and take a morning walk on the beach. Life at its best. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sevensprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you found the breakfast delightful and that you enjoyed the history behind the mansion. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to our area you’ll stay with us again.
-Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My family has stayed at the Glorietta for several vacations over the years. This May my husband and I enjoyed another week there. They sent a bottle of wine to our room upon arrival as it was our 40th wedding anniversary. The staff are so friendly and no task is to much trouble. They even arranged to get flowers for my husband to give me for our anniversary. The buffet breakfast which is complementary is a great thing. My husband would eat there every day. Not only is it a great location,pool,staff, beds and breakfast but you feel like one of the family, not just a stranger who happens to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms facing the water which are small but have a view. The rooms in the mansion ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay at Glorietta Bay Inn! It was a pleasure to have you and your husband celebrate your 40th anniversary with us! We're also pleased you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and great location! We hope to see you again!
-Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here because we were doing the bridge run and wanted to stay on the island. We then stayed for a few days afterward as well. The staff was very firendly and made us feel like we were old friends. They also supplied us with beach chairs and towels for a trip to the beach. It is very close to both the beach and the many shops on orange avenue. I usually travel to coronado on business and I have stayed at several of the hotels on the island and this has been my favorite. There was plenty of food for breakfast and they had snacks throughout the day.The pool and hot tub area was also very nice. The room was very clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a place to stay with a "homey" feel to it it is much better than the "chain" hotels. We will definately stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in both the comfy room for one night which was very small but we just needed to sleep so i...
See more room tips
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Wonderful facility and staff. We thought of it as a boutique hotel having a beautifully maintained property & grounds, crisp clean rooms, we stayed in a 2nd floor king with a bay view and balcony, and the place has location, location, location going for it. Michael the Asst. GM and the front desk staff were most helpful, they're excellent at problem solving when necessary, and overall very pleasant to interact with! The price is right and the views are superb when selecting a room overlooking Glorietta Bay. Both pool & hot tub are inviting with their cleanliness and palm tree accents, and in the Spring as we visited the flowers on-property were bursting with color (that canopy of reds fronting our building was brilliant).

The mansion itself is quite grand if you're of a mindset to choose a room in it, otherwise it's more classic motel style rooms of varying sizes and types. The suite we saw appeared quite spacious, however note that you'll sacrifice the view if choosing one of them. There's a morning breakfast room, typical continental style fare is offered inclusive with the room cost, the really fresh fruit selections were a big plus for us. Coffee & tea are available any time of day.

The "Del" is right across the street if you're of a mind to walk that historic property, and maybe take in drinks or a meal should the spirit move you. Many restaurants & bars are an easy stroll away (1-4 blocks). As for Coronado Island, well we'd gladly return again and again. It's only a short drive over the bridge from San Diego, yet you feel like you're a world away. In case you can't tell; we'd absolutely stay at this inn anytime we're back in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballymorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Beautiful and spotless property. Location is perfect for anything you choose to do on the island. Most importantly, the staff is outstanding, both while making my arrangements before I arrived and once I was there - they can't be beat. My room was immaculate and my family's room was too. They had a two bedroom suite that looked out into beautiful trees and flora from their window, there we hummingbirds right out the window. The bedding was immaculate and so comfortable, I had a perfect nights sleep each night. I love Coronado and will go back many times and I know that I will only stay at the Glorietta Bay Inn each time I go back. This place is great for singles, couples and families, it's very kid friendly. Absolute great vacation, thanks to you all!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisa1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Over the past 30 years my wife and I have had the good fortune to have lived and traveled all over the world. We have stayed at chain hotels like Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, and Kempinski. Classic hotels like the El San Juan in Puerto Rico and the Alvear Palace in Buenos Aries as well as boutique hotels in the U.S., Europe, Asia and Latin America. In late April we had the opportunity to stay at the Glorietta Bay Inn where we found a comfortable, well-appointed room and an attentive staff who made you feel like you were home. It was a great value at a great property and we will definitely be back, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Property: Glorietta Bay Inn
Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing