We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel in Coronado!”
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Our group stayed here during a recent trip to San Diego. Overall, we were impressed by this hotel. The main part of the hotel is located in a very pretty turn-of-the-century mansion, which has been added onto over the years with low-rise hotel room units around the back. The result is an interesting mix of hotel suite and bed-and-breakfast type feel to this property. Staff service was exceptional. The hotel is within an easy walking distance to Coronado's main street shops and the beautiful Pacific Ocean beaches. The property has a pool and a hot tub. There is a nominal parking fee at this hotel, but it's worth paying - parking in Coronado can be challenging during busier periods.

Our room was in the newer part of the hotel, and was a two-bedroom and two bathroom suite. The second bathroom did not have a shower, and both bathrooms were a little on the small side. However, the room was very clean and comfortable, and even had its own balcony. The furnishings were very modern. Our suite had a fridge and a flat screen TV in each bedroom. The complimentary wifi internet worked flawlessly.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and featured the usual cereal, muffins and pastries. Although the breakfast was fairly typical, the breakfast sitting room (the former mansion's parlour) was simply stunning! The ornate features and attention to detail, particularly in the ceiling, were an absolute delight to view. There was also plenty of outdoor patio seating on which to enjoy breakfast, offering some very pleasant views of the marinas of Glorietta Bay and Coronado.

Overall, this hotel delivered on all fronts. There were no surprises here - Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cbevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for the lovely write up about your stay at Glorietta Bay Inn. We're happy to hear that you loved the Music Room during breakfast. The room still has the original crown moulding of the former Music Room where an enormous 41-rank Aeolian Pipe Organ used to play. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
There are newer reviews for Glorietta Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at the Glorietta Bay Inn for our second time over the Thanksgiving holiday. The property continues to shine, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place in Coronado. The rooms are spacious, sparkling, and convenient. The breakfast buffet (with a table overlooking the marina) is a delight. The hotel is an easy walk or bike-ride to everything.
I will definitely look forward to our next visit to Coronado…and that will definitely include the Glorietta Bay Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelrLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you so much for the nice review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us over Thanksgiving. You're right in that the hotel is in the heart of Coronado and within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Please come see us again soon! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Spent three nights here in a bayview king. Good sized room with nice appointments and a comfortable chair. Good desk work area. Bathroom a bit tight. View of harbor. Good continental breakfast. Staff was friendly from clerks to the maids. Mansion rooms were a treat to enjoy. It a couple minute walk to beachfront and the "del" is across the street with its shops and restaurants. Other restaurants in easy walk range.

Rooms near orange ave - Between 6am and 8am traffic is noisy out on the deck.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank RichardSoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Guest Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for the lovely write up. The Bay View room is an excellent room and the view of Glorietta Bay can't be beat! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013. The hotel is conveniently located, restaurants & beaches are a short walk away, and getting to San Diego is also easy whether by bus, car or the passenger ferry. All staff we interacted with were pleasant and helpful, the continental breakfast was very good (watch out for the birds!!) and car parking was easy & close to the room.

We stayed in a second-floor room. The room itself was clean, spacious and comfortable, the bathroom good, a small balcony and a large TV with plenty of channels. We'd mentioned it was our honeymoon and a bottle of wine was waiting for us when we checked in - much appreciated!!

Our only gripe was that with the doors shut the room was fairly warm and the option was to either switch the A/C on (which was quite loud) or open the doors to let fresh air in (which was probably louder as there is a main road nearby which was always fairly busy). We got used to it though, and it didn't majorly disturb our sleep.

There's also a pool which seems nice, but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Guest Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We are so happy to hear that we could help make your honeymoon memorable! Guest service is at the top of our list... especially when making new memories. We appreciate your feedback about the AC noise, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope to see you again in the near future! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Glorietta Inn is a quaint size Inn compared to the Coronado Hotel across the street. No hustle or bustle at this location but close to the beach, stores and restaurants. We experienced a perfect stress free getaway for our anniversary. Tim our concierge was very attentive to our needs. We had a small problem and without any questions he took care of us beyond our expectations. Tim suggested restaurants and made our reservations. He was helpful in giving suggestions for the San Diego sights to visit. The continental breakfast was a great way to start the day, without having to leave the Inn. Customer service is alive at the Glorietta Inn. Something we don’t see much of these days. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Guest Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

"Customer service is alive at the Glorietta Inn". Your kind words mean so much to us! We will definitely pass on your nice comments to Tim. We look forward to the day we welcome you and your wife back to the Inn. Thank you, Kelsey McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Inn is located across the street from the Coronado Hotel which is on the beach. Getting to the beach from Glorietta Bay Inn requires crossing Orange Avenue and walking a short distance. Orange Avenue is the main thoroughfare of downtown Coronado with all the restaurants and shops and it is very busy. In all honesty I had probably the worst room at the whole Inn because I had a so called "single" room with a cheaper rate. The room was right on Orange Avenue and I had to sleep with ear plugs on. These rooms were in a motel like structure that had two stories and you had to walk up about 30 steps to get to your room. I had a heavy suitcase with me so that was a back breaker.The room itself was small (after all they called it a single room) and motel like. The bathroom was modest with cheap tile and a bathtub shower. For heat or airconditioning there was a loud airconditioner that you typically find in motels. The positive was the beautiful lobby, breakfast and library areas where they served free breakfast. I think that if you pay for a better room or a suite this Inn can be lovely. It is conveniently located for going to the beach, the marina, the Navy and dining and shopping downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank givemesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We’re very sorry for the noise issue you encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern. I hope that the next time you’re in the Coronado area you’ll stay with us again. Please contact me directly at kelsey@gloriettabayinn.com so I can personally set up your next stay. Thank you, Kelsey McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I searched Trip Advisor for hotels in and around San Diego before deciding on Coronado, and this hotel was near the top of the list so we went and booked a Junior Suite. The hotel itself was far more affordable than the Hotel Del across the road, while offering bigger rooms. The Del is also massive and the Glorietta far more "boutique".

Arrival and check in was easy, and the staff were very helpful providing maps and directions as well as advice on anything required.

We stayed in the Junior Suite which was around the back. Although the car had to be taken around the back, it actually worked out better as not only were we parked only metres from our room, but the back entry to the lobby was just as close as the front one.

The room was great. The bedroom was large with it's own TV with cable. The living area had a pull out double sofa, and there was still plenty of room for a roll out bed. Two larger than normal screen TV's both with cable in each room helped a lot with the kids and parents "separation and quiet time". We all had good sleeps, so no complaining there. There was a couple of earlier morning flyovers from the naval base, but outside of that noise wasn't a main drama.

Yes, the pool isn't huge, but it's fine for having a quick dip. It probably also wouldn't get much use in the hotter weather as Coronado beach is only across the road.

The continental breakfast supplied was nice, and we all managed to overeat each morning !

The location of the hotel is excellent, opposite the Hotel Del and at the start of where Orange Ave really kicks off. Restaurants, convenience stores, etc, etc all only a short walk away.

Coronado itself is a beautiful place to stay and I'm very happy we choose this location over others in San Diego. The drive to the tourist locations such as Balboa Park, etc was minimal. We had a look around and we were very happy we did not choose accommodation in the hotel circle in Mission Valley as it didn't seem convenient to anything at all (ie restaurants).

Room Tip: Ask for one on the ground floor, just to save you lugging your stuff up the stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. I’m happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable. Our staff strives every day to perform exceptional customer service to our guests. We hope to see you again! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
708 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £174 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing