We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise!!!”
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise!!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Usually stay at Loews on the other end of the Strand however, took a chance on Glorietta Bay Inn and we were not disappointed. The rooms are a little dated, but for the location, price, and features you cannot beat this place.

We had a King Suite with Kitchen and the price was well worth the stay, five nights for under $1300. The living room included a large flat screen TV, cable, dinette table with seating for 4, writer's desk, and pull-out sofa. The kitchen had everything you need to lunch in or dine in. You don't need to worry about breakfast, Glorietta has that covered. The included breakfast had a great selection of fresh fruit, pastries, coffee, etc

The staff was exceptionally friendly and always said hello, how can we help you and it's my pleasure. This not only included the front desk, but every staff member we encountered.

We will be staying here again and frequently!

Room Tip: You can stay in the unique mansion rooms if you like, but if you are on a budget and a small family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dndholland62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and reviewing your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We appreciate your lovely comments on our friendly staff, location, and your bedroom suite. Our team is committed to providing exceptional guest service in a clean and well maintained facility Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    249
    49
    20
    10
See reviews for
254
424
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville,WA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We just returned from 3 nights here, and would return in a heartbeat!Package at $395.for 2 nites, including parking($10.per nite), $ 25. credit at local restaurants, free appetizer at Brigatine Restaurant($12.-14.), generous and excellent continental breakfast, and package of old time candy, free dvd plus taxes included is a bargain! Standard rooms are $180. Personal courteous service of the desk staff is outstanding. Every detail has been considered in one's comfort in their rooms. Only slight discomfort is the small bathroom ( about 5 ftX 5 ft), so toilet area is tiny, and best only one person at a time for shower or using the sink..Still, it's perfect! We strolled over to The Del for a cocktail on the beach patio, and although it is lovely, historic and on the beach, we prefer the Glorietta Bay Inn, an intimate, private boutique hotel with lots of history too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvgr8trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This was a perfect spot for a relaxing stay. The hotel is very nice and it's in a perfect location for beach and shopping/restaurants. There didn't seem to be too much going on in town at night but that was perfect for us. Everything being in walking distance was a huge plus.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lindso369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Your comments about your stay at Glorietta Bay Inn made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Glorietta for our first family road trip vacation. We spent a long weekend at the Inn and found the service, amenities, and property to be extremely pleasant. We are a family of three, two adults and an infant (6 months). The Inn provided a pack-n-play and also offered a crib to accommodate our infant. They even gave her a little lion plush toy as a present to help make her stay comfortable. We stayed in a standard room and found the space perfect for our little family. The room has a generously sized queen bed, flat screen television, seating area, refrigerator, desk area, safe, and en suite bathroom. The bathroom is a bit dated but clean and comfortable. The bath products are also lovely. The linens and room in general are very clean and comfortable. The daily breakfast provided is a very nice continental buffet and water, teas, coffee, juices, and little snacks are provides throughout the day. The front desk staff is super helpful and extremely knowledgeable. They also provide coupons to most any restaurant you are interested in visiting. We spent a lot of time at the beach in front of the Del. The Glorietta provides towels, umbrellas, chairs, and even toys for the beach and it is a quick walk across the street to the beach in front of the Del. They even have a deal with a local gym, so you can purchase a ten dollar coupon from the front desk and use the facility for the day. The pool at the Glorietta is heated and the spa, though small (seats 4 people), is wonderful as well. Parking is ten dollars/night and worth it! Though street parking can be found, it is not worth the search. Our room was on the first floor by the pool, there was some noise but nothing that kept us up...we also travel with the white noise machine for the baby so that helps :)

Overall, we had an amazing long weekend and hope to visit again soon!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraclemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are also very pleased that you found the room comfortable and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We’re also happy your little one enjoyed the lion toy. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to our area you’ll stay with us again. Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was here for a business trip (conference). In hindsight, I was fortunate not to be able to stay at the conference hotel (Loews Coronado) because the room block sold out. In my initial search, Glorietta seemed to be a reasonably priced hotel located relatively near by with good reviews from TripAdvisor.

I picked the "snug room" which I thought would be a closet! Although compact, the size compares favorably to some of the boutique hotels I have stayed in San Francisco. Enough room for me, and also a desk to do work with a functional (yet small) bathroom. I would even consider the snug room if my husband and I stayed here - who sits in their hotel room when in Coronado anyway? Also the little touches in the room really made it feel luxurious, the furniture, the tiling in the bathroom, the sink (sounds odd, but I noticed it was a really nice sink), and the toiletries (Gilchrist and Soames) - LOVE!

Total bonus was the mini fridge to store my food, great TV with a ton of channels, and best of all - within walking distance of Hotel Del Coronado and the cute downtown area. The downside is that there is no gym on the grounds (and yes I could have run on the beach, but I like the treadmill) so it was an extra $10 for a day pass to the local gym. Plus is the local gym has everything any gym rat would probably need or want, even cardio machines on the patio to view the beach.

Service was impeccable. I was impressed with the courtesy and attentiveness of the front desk staff.

Internet worked well, no issues and included with the room fee. Another bonus no resort fees!

Breakfast - it's a continental-ish. I love having protein in the morning, and they had hard boiled eggs along with several choices for pastries and bread, fresh fruit, yogurt, cottage cheese, variety of cereal and hot (instant) oatmeal, and juices/coffee. I ended making an egg sandwich which sufficed.

I had to "commute" to the conference hotel, which ended up to be the best since I had access to several local restaurants and shops by staying at Glorietta! I would definitely stay here again and recommend others to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom junior suite, and it was spacious and comfortable with a kitchenette, a large sitting room with a desk and a separate bedroom, all for the price of a standard hotel room elsewhere. The location, just across the street from the Del Coronado Hotel, is perfect, with many restaurants and shops just out the door. Coronado Beach, one of the best beaches anywhere, is a quick walk -- just one block away. A $10 parking fee lets you leave your car in the convenient lot and walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. The icing on the cake was the staff at the hotel -- accommodating, knowledgeable, friendly and on call 24-hours a day. The continental breakfast was better than the usual fare, and it's served in the lovely mansion part of the hotel -- historic and gorgeous.

Room Tip: There are two sections -- the historic mansion and the contemporary rooms. The contemporary rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libbypomroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Took the family for a quick spring break getaway. We were impressed with the size and finish of the one bedroom king suite. Very clean and well appointed. I'd be happy to visit on an extended stay. The staff was attentive and friendly and the mansion was beautiful, especially the music room (I wish we could have played the piano). There's a reason people keep coming back to this property. Close to the beach, just across the street and through the Del Coronado. We didn't have a view of much of anything from our first story room, but their small grounds are pretty, well maintained and manicured. A gentle criticism is the bed and bedding. Our pillows smelled a little "beachy" and our mattress seemed like it could use an update, but that may have just been a matter of personal preference. Food was good, if not special, and the breakfast was well attended to. Gingersnaps and lemonade were a nice afternoon snack (but don't get too excited, they weren't freshly made). Excellent stay (solid 4) with lots of character and I'd have no problem recommending to anyone. Excellent value and many thanks for a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. We appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience with us. We’re happy your enjoyed our boutique hotel and that our amenities and friendly service made your stay more comfortable. We love to hear our guest's opinion to improve upon ourselves, with that said we have shared your bedding feedback with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Property: Glorietta Bay Inn
Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing