We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stated---they just do it right!”
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simply stated---they just do it right!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here and had a nice suite. Only downside was the view was of the parking lots. That said, it really wasn't as issue. The room was great and the staff here make this Inn work in all the right ways! Friendly, courteous and helpful and we will gladly stay here when we return to Coronado. The location across the street with Hotel Del is an added advantage.

Room Tip: If your 'view' is important, ask for a room that over looks the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabond116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    249
    49
    20
    10
See reviews for
254
424
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Livin' is easy . . . everything is first rate and close by! The staff is very courteous and helpful.
Raj went out of his way to make our April 7-9 visit special. Walking to the beach, shopping and many dining choices plus parking for your car makes for pure relaxation without stressing over any detail. We have stayed there several times and always recommend it to friends and family. A great R&R adventure!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms tend to have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks for the lovely write up. Excellent service is at the top of our list and you are sure to receive friendly service during each stay. We will be sure to let Raj know the kind words. Thank you for referring our hotel to your friends. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I loooove this place. We have a family home in Coronado and we always recommend this hotel to our friends. We have been guests also. Don't waste your $ at Hotel Del, it's right across the street if you want to check it out. Granted, it's not as fancy, very quaint. The hotel staff are so friendly and helpful. The grounds are lovely. The free continental breakfast is wonderful. Gingersnaps and lemonade every day by the pool makes my kids happy. Very clean. Right on Orange, walking distance to everything! If you are planning to visit Coronado in July, be sure to book your room no later than the beginning of April. Also, ask to see the suites in the main house. It really is such a cool place with lots of history. If you're lucky enough to get the tour, take the old elevator/lift. Another plus, laundry facilities! Breakfast in the den or the patio is lovely, and equipped with toys for the little ones.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We arrived at the end of March for a dual purpose -- a memorial service in San Diego for my dad who passed away a few months ago, and a much-needed anniversary get-away for my husband and I. We live in Colorado. All was going well until we saw our small room, which was a "bay view" but actually had more of a view of the top of a VW bus from a small, shaded balcony. Emotions took over since it was not what we had expected. But the Asst. Manager Mike was sensitive to my fragility and took it upon himself to make sure we got a room that we were happy with. It didn't take long because he offered us a room in the mansion with a view of the pool and the bay, the Sugar Baron suite, and it was perfect with a nice big balcony and spacious room.
After moving our belongings to the new room, a knock on the door from a member of the housekeeping staff brought my personal pillow that I had left in the previous room. Customer service is so important to this hotel that they make it a priority. It's wonderful. Asst Manager Mike even followed up with a personal email the day after we checked out just to make sure that our stay ended will since it started a little on the rocky side. My husband and I were very impressed. Thanks, GBI staff, for saving our stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seekonk, MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the GBI from April 6-10 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The grounds are small but very well maintained with beautiful gardens and meticulous grassy areas. Each staff member we interacted with was very friendly and helpful from the moment we checked in.

As others have reported the location of the inn is perfect. There is so much to do within walking distance and many restaurants to satisfy just about every preference.

We booked a King bay view room. We were given #786 which is a corner room overlooking the bay from the balcony and the pool from the large floor to ceiling window on the side of the room...it was nice to have 2 exposures.

We were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday and there was a nice card and bottle of wine waiting in our room to help us begin the celebration. A very nice touch!

The room is very well equipped with a small fridge, microwave, plates, bowls, glasses, mugs, flatware, dish soap, and a coffee maker with the necessary fixings to make your own coffee.

The only minor issue with this particular room is the small toilet/shower area (there isn't a tub) which is separate from the sink area. The door actually opens "in" to the toilet and there isn't much room to get in or out without having to maneuver the door to a better position. A quick fix would be to mount the door so that it opens "out" instead or eliminate the door completely and put it at the entrance to the sink area. (just a tip to maintenance personnel) :)

Our room also had a nice sized safe that was large enough to hold our Ipads. There isn't a closet, however there is an open "closet type" area to hang some things. There are also 2 nice GBI robes to use while at the property.

The bed and pillows were very comfortable in our room and there was a small table and chairs in front of the side window. The tv is a flatscreen and there are MANY cable stations available...most of any hotel we've stayed at in a long time.

Also in the room were an iron and ironing board, blowdryer and alarm clock.

The room was spotless when we arrived and was kept spotless our entire stay. We never heard any outside noise or noise from our neighbor. I recommend asking for this particular room since it's at the end and has a very clear view of the harbor. (I'll post a picture taken from our balcony)

The hotel pool is located alongside the parking lot on one side and the road on the other, however once inside the area it isn't too much of an issue...maybe a few more tall plants around the fence would help to block the view of the cars/road.

Located in the main building to the rear of the main staircase was a room with 2 washing machines and 2 dryers....detergent and softener can be purchased in the dispenser on the wall. Very convenient!

We enjoyed the continental breakfast each morning. While we were there it consisted of different fresh fruits each day, a variety of instant oatmeal, 3 or 4 different types of bagels, muffins, croissants, donuts, breads to make toast, cottage cheese, a good variety of yogurt, apple, orange and cranberry juice, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea etc.

We dined on the outside patio overlooking the pool area which was perfect.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights at GBI and we will definitely return in the future.

**I would love to post some pictures but don't see an area to do so.

Room Tip: Book a bayview room...it is worth the extra $...ask for 786 (corner room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkelly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is my second review of the Glorietta Bay Inn. Last week, my wife and I spent 4 nights at the Glorietta Bay Inn in Coronado. We stayed here last October and liked it so much we came back again and again reserved a junior suite.

The junior suite that we received was huge, extremely well appointed with 2 bathrooms, a separate bedroom with a very comfortable king size bed, 2 televisions (a 40 inch flat screen television in the living area and a 32 inch flat screen in the bedroom), pull out sofa, a kitchenette with a sitting area with a table and three chairs, and a balcony. The bed, as well as the pillows, was fantastic and very comfortable. When we arrived in our room, there was a very nice welcome card signed by the inn’s staff and a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us.

Both my wife and I totally enjoyed our stay here. Everyone on the staff was extremely polite, friendly, and very helpful. The location is great being right on Orange Avenue directly across the street from the Hotel Del Coronado and the beautiful long beach. There are many shops, restaurants, and stores on Orange Avenue within a very short walking distance. Our favorite restaurant is the Brigantine Seafood Restaurant and it is only about a 2 minute walk away. We went there for happy hour one night and dinner another. Another great restaurant in east walking distance is Vigilucci's Ristorante also located on Orange Avenue. The food at both places was delicious. One other nice thing about the location is that it only takes about 10 minutes to drive to downtown San Diego (even in rush hour).

Our thanks again to the staff at the Glorietta Bay Inn. You truly made our stay extremely enjoyable. We will definitely be coming back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seekonk, MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Had a very nice room over-looking the marina. Staff was super nice. The location in Coronado is perfect. Look for bargains on their website. We were able to reduce our stay by about $100 over 4 nights by using their package deal.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jkelly611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Property: Glorietta Bay Inn
Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing