We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annual Retreat”
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Annual Retreat”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stay at Glorietta Bay Inn once or twice per year and have for the past 10 years. It is centrally located on Coronado Island so if we aren't planning to do a lot of sightseeing in San Diego proper, we typically don't rent a car. The hotel is immaculate. Every individual on staff no matter what their responsibility is helpful, kind, and cheerful. The breakfast is a perfect start to the day as is sitting on the patio viewing the bay as breakfast is eaten. The the bougainvilla vines nicely accentuate the white backdrop of the hotel facade. Parking is somewhat limited, but an easy walking distance to rooms. We love the nearby beach, walking the residential streets after breakfast, the newly remodeled movie theater down Orange Street, and all of the restaurants from which to choose. McP's is our favorite because of out door dining in the most always perfect temperatures. The reservation process is so easy and Internet specials seem to be often available. Thanks to the fantastic staff for making our stays beyond exceptional!

Room Tip: We enjoy one of the two smaller rooms on the furthest NW section of the hotel. Close parking and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaTravelerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    249
    49
    20
    10
See reviews for
254
424
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for our 15th anniversary. The staff is very helpful and courteous. We got to our 2nd floor room to find an anniversary card and bottle of wine. Thank you Georgia! Our room was nice and roomy, the bath a bit small, but was fine. The bed was SUPER comfy, the balcony overlooked the parking and surrounding gardens. The hotel is within walking distance of the del and it's shops, the crepe shop and other stores. The architecture of the mansion is amazing. The breakfast was abundant with dry cereals, fruit, instant oatmeal, boiled eggs, toast, pastries, bagels, juices, cottage cheese and yogurt. The inn is lovely and worthy of our return visit!

Room Tip: the staff is so helpful, just tell them your needs, and they'll help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosetealady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Your comments about your stay at Glorietta Bay Inn made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Thank you for letting us help celebrate your anniversary. All of us, including Georgia, look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for 5 days and 5 nights in May. We had a king room--not in the mansion. Our room was perfect. King-size bed, decent size bathroom, flat screen tv, desk area with chair, big closet with full length mirror, lots of counter space in bathroom, and a small patio with 2 chairs. Very impressed with this hotel, the grounds and the staff. Pool area was beautiful and very clean. There was always lemon water available in the pool area. They provided towels, chairs and umbrellas for the beach. Took me 5-8 minutes to walk to my spot on the beach. Directly across the street from the Del, and lots of shops within walking distance. Didn't have any trouble with noise. IF I had to find any negatives, it would be the following (and I really had to think to come up with these): water pressure wasn't all that great, we had a view of the parking lot (but I mean who stays in their room when in CA), temperature of the water in the shower was hard to regulate. I would definitely stay here again. Room was spotless, housekeeping was awesome, breakfast was good and the location was perfect!!! Oh, and we never had trouble finding a parking spot and we came in late most nights.

Room Tip: We were in room 332 which faced the parking lot, but it was very quiet, large and convenient to ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about the water pressure and temperature in your room. We had our engineering team look into the issue right away. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so we can correct the issue for the next guest. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon. Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switz City, Indiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have stayed here in the past several times, the rooms are becoming tired. We lived there 42 years ago while in the Navy. We had a king suite that faced the harbor. The room was fine, but not for 250 a night. The bath is extremely small, no tub shower only, door is totally in the way. The hotel has beautiful flowers and they keep it very clean. Easy walk to downtown. They charge extra for parking, breakfast is good, no meat. The laundry does a good job at a low cost. I think next time around we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here and had a nice suite. Only downside was the view was of the parking lots. That said, it really wasn't as issue. The room was great and the staff here make this Inn work in all the right ways! Friendly, courteous and helpful and we will gladly stay here when we return to Coronado. The location across the street with Hotel Del is an added advantage.

Room Tip: If your 'view' is important, ask for a room that over looks the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabond116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Livin' is easy . . . everything is first rate and close by! The staff is very courteous and helpful.
Raj went out of his way to make our April 7-9 visit special. Walking to the beach, shopping and many dining choices plus parking for your car makes for pure relaxation without stressing over any detail. We have stayed there several times and always recommend it to friends and family. A great R&R adventure!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms tend to have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks for the lovely write up. Excellent service is at the top of our list and you are sure to receive friendly service during each stay. We will be sure to let Raj know the kind words. Thank you for referring our hotel to your friends. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I loooove this place. We have a family home in Coronado and we always recommend this hotel to our friends. We have been guests also. Don't waste your $ at Hotel Del, it's right across the street if you want to check it out. Granted, it's not as fancy, very quaint. The hotel staff are so friendly and helpful. The grounds are lovely. The free continental breakfast is wonderful. Gingersnaps and lemonade every day by the pool makes my kids happy. Very clean. Right on Orange, walking distance to everything! If you are planning to visit Coronado in July, be sure to book your room no later than the beginning of April. Also, ask to see the suites in the main house. It really is such a cool place with lots of history. If you're lucky enough to get the tour, take the old elevator/lift. Another plus, laundry facilities! Breakfast in the den or the patio is lovely, and equipped with toys for the little ones.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Property: Glorietta Bay Inn
Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing