We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Family's”
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

For a family stay in Coronado, this is the place!
I stayed here with my son for our annual mom/son trip. I haven't been to Coronado Island before this trip. It was the perfect spot!
The Glorietta Bay Inn was delightful! The staff is helpful and friendly. ) The rooms were clean and updated. The pool is small but we didn't ever feel overrun by other guests. The jacuzzi was the perfect way to end our fun-filed days.
This is a great alternative to Hotel Del. You can still use many of the amenities of Hotel Del (like the Del Beach set up service I reviewed earlier) and the enjoy the restaurants and shops at the big hotel. But then go back to your quaint hotel Glorietta to retreat from the crowds.
Pluses:

-- BREAKFAST is free and it was plentiful! What a treat to sit on the patio and have a nice bowl of oatmeal and coffee.
--- The hotel also lends you beach chairs, towels, body boards and umbrellas is you would like to spend the day at the beach.
-- Some of the rooms have kitchens for a longer stay.
-- From the hotel t's a short walk to Hotel Del and to the main strip.
-- The "library" in the hotel is a great place to play card games and/or chess. It's like a giant family room.
-- Tea, coffee, cookies and lemonade served at specific times during the day.
-- The parking is plentiful. (No valet but parking is free!)

I can't wait to go back with my whole family!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzbroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Glorietta Bay Inn. I’m happy to hear that our service, continental breakfast, and our great amenities made you and your son's stay more comfortable. Although we do have self-parking, it is an additional $10/night. However with our convenient location, as you stated, our guests can easily walk to the beach, shops, and restaurants in Coronado. We hope to see you again in the near future! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

My fiance and I took a trip to San Diego only a few months after we had gotten engaged. The Glorietta Bay Inn was the last stay of our trip, meant to be a relaxing end to quite a busy vacation in California.

It was such a wonderful stay. The continental breakfast in the kitchen and on the patio is an excellent perk and it is SO close to the beach, directly across from the Hotel Del Coronado. The area is quiet but also close enough to walk to the restaurants and shops.

We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay or the pool! Some rooms have locations that you may be staring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and reviewing your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We appreciate your lovely comments on our friendly staff, convenient location, and our complimentary continental breakfast. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon! Best, Kelsey McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our week at the Glorietta was Glorious. The staff is excellent, the brunch fantastic, the room wonderful and all in all a 5 star experience. Treat yourself to the best time in southern california..stay at the Glorietta Bay

Room Tip: the suites are excellent..plenty of room and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had walked by the Glorietta Bay Inn several times when we stayed in other hotels. One trip, we could not get a room at our normal hotel. We thought we'd give it a try since it always looked nice. It turned out to be one of our favorite places. Clean, friendly and has its own parking which is a great benefit on busy Coronado weekends. It's now our first choice when we visit the island. They also have a great complimentary breakfast with a huge variety. Great way to start your day.

Room Tip: Haven't found a bad one yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred_Erickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your visit in Coronado. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and we’re flattered to be one of your new “favorite” hotels. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon! Best, Kelsey McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our family had an amazing experience at the Glorietta Bay Inn. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all times from making our reservations through the last day of our stay. Alexandra was very helpful and gave us lots of advice about local activities and dining. They also assisted us when we moved from a one bedroom suite to a two bedroom suite to accommodate our family. The hotel and the guest rooms were always clean and the hotel was extremely quiet. The pool was also extremely clean and quiet. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and there were many restaurants within walking distance. The staff gave us towels, umbrella, chairs, and boogie boards to take to the beach each day. It was a 10 minute walk to the Coronado Beach in front of the Hotel Del Coronado and it was a fantastic beach. We had a wonderful vacation and will definitely return and stay at the Glorietta Bay Inn again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom and Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay! We are so pleased you enjoyed our location in Coronado and that you found our suites comfortable for you and your family. We hope to see you again! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Last night here and we are thinking we don't want to leave! Not only are we in love with Coronado, we are so happy with our stay at Glorietta Bay Inn! We have a 2 bedroom suite which was perfect for my family of 5 (3 teenagers). CLEAN, clean clean! The linens, rooms, common areas, etc... Staff all very professional, polite and accommodating. We enjoyed the continental breakfasts, lemonade and cookies in afternoon and bananas or apples that were available throughout day.
Will definitely will stay here again if we are fortunate enough to visit Coronado in the future...

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite I stayed in does not have a view. If that's important, ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kim436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room with your family. We’re also happy you enjoyed the afternoon refreshments... it's always refreshing especially on a warm day. We hope to see you and your family again in the future. Thank you, Kelsey McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

From day of reservation Kelsey was customer oriented helping answer all my questions and offering the best options, to day 2 Georgia helping me with adjustments to my reservations and later in the day to James finalizing and confirming my reservation. Arrival date was nothing but pleasant, concierge explaining in detail their ammenities, location helping w/any needs I may have had. Everyone to say the least at Glorietta Bay Inn was very amicable, super sweet to say the least, helpful and knowledable. It's a clean hotel, family oriented, friendly, superb customer satisfaction. I can say I was very happy with my stay at this hotel. This is right across the main attraction of Coronado, providing their guests with chairs and towels for the beach which is a small walking distance. It is an older hotel, but nothing better than history at it's best! I would definitively come back and prolong my stay.

Room Tip: Beautiful hotel, historic, and nice and friendlyness staff. The view from my room was spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRo-315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for the lovely write up. Excellent service is at the top of our list with each and every person you encounter during your stay. We’re glad we could help make you feel comfortable and at home. We'll pass on your kind words to our staff members. We highly value you as a GBI guest and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
718 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £179 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing