We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The home away from home we all dream we could have!”
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The home away from home we all dream we could have!”
Reviewed 17 November 2009

I was hosting three Korean children (9, 11, 13) on their first visit to America. Although I live in exciting Las Vegas a trip to the San Diego Zoo and the beach and Balboa Park seemed a down-to-earth homey idea. The staff at the Glorietta Bay treated these rather shy kids as if they were family and also as if they were royalty. Their names were remembered, breakfast with birds visiting the table delighted them and the afternoon "tea" with fresh lemonade and strawberries and gingersnap cookies made us all feel oh-so-special. The proximity to the 'Del' and the beach as well as the local attractions was fast and easy and the island traffic a lot more relaxed than in San Diego itself. On our final night we came 'home' to fresh to-die-for chocolate chip cookies and a champagne bucket with a pitcher of milk on ice. The fantastic service is from a century ago (as is the resort itself) and we cannot find a rating high enough for our wonderful experience at the Glorietta Bay!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    251
    50
    20
    10
See reviews for
259
427
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
saratoga springs, ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We stayed in Coronado for 4 nights and reserved a Junior Suite. It was located toward the back of the property but we were delighted when we entered......it was absolutely spotless with a full kitchen, large living room with dining area, nice bedroom and very clean bathroom. Along with all of that, we had a private back patio area with a table and 4 chairs and a pretty garden. The complimentary breakfast was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return......we will definitely try to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marra10jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed in the Sugar Baron mansion room. From the first encounter at check in the staff was so accommodating. The room was so quaint and the view from the balcony was stunning overlooking the marina. Location was also wonderful, we walked every morning in front of the Hotel del Coronado. The town itself is also very easy to get around and safe at all times of the day or night. Ate great dinner at Miquels right behind the hotel. Another highlight was (suggested to us by the front desk) was to rent bicycles from Little Sams. We then rode the bikes to the ferry and rode around the San Diego waterfront. Finished that day by riding to the end of the beach north of Hotel del Coronado and watched a beautiful sunset. Glorietta Bay also delivered hot chocolate chips cookies and ice cold milk every night. Not to mention the bottle of champagne and truffles that awaited us upon arrival. We absolutely loved the hotel and Coronado itself.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L.A. 'burbs, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Mu husband, 5 yo daughter and I spent 5 nights at the end of June at The Glorietta Bay Inn. We got a suite at a phenomenal price. Our room was like a small apartment with a full kitchen and we had our own private patio. The room was clean and comfortable and we had plenty of room for 3 people to even get a little privacy at the end of a day together.

The morning breakfast was good, although nothing to write home about. In fact my only recommendation is to maybe change up the menu a bit as it gets a little tiresome after a few mornings. The food was always fresh and ample. There was never a rush to get the last muffin. :)

The location of the hotel is great. One of the top perks for us is you really don't have to ever drive if you really don't want to. The beach is across the street and there are many restaurants and shops that are an easy stroll away. The beach is beautiful too. My daughter enjoyed spending the days boogie boarding and the mornings finding shells and sand dollars washed up on the beach.

We enjoyed this trip so much we came back for a weekend trip in the beginning of September. We'll be back, too!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We have stayed at the Glorietta many times in the past and enjoyed it so much that we trusted the hotel to host our wedding this past June. We had a fairytale wedding made possible due to the staff at the Glorietta. The personal attention we received, prompt responses to every request combined with insider information of the area made the whole weekend memorable for us and our guests. Every detail in the hotel was perfect...the mansion rooms restored to their orignal grandeur combined with the spaciousness of the hotel property rooms gave us and our guests opportunities for romance or family fun. The staff knew all of our names, helped us with storing our gifts and wedding cake, and just took care of all of the small details that made us worry free. With beautiful orchids and flowers on the property, continental breakfast, fresh homemade cookies and coffee offered throughout the day, relaxing pool and spa, as well as a perfecdt location central to everything on Coronado, the Glorietta Bay Inn is the only place to stay when visiting San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kr8itnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2009

My husband and I just returned from a night away at Glorietta Bay. We did not stay in the mansion, but in one of the motel rooms next door. The rooms were lovely--fully updated with flat screen HD TV's, updated bathroom and furnishings. There was a free breakfast in the morning which was very satisfying. The hotel also had a pool and hot tub which we enjoyed. Best of all, it's located right across the street from The Hotel del Coronado and one block from downtown Coronado. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asmolyn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Many of the opinions already given are very accurate about this hotel. i was traveling for a long weekend with my two kids (11 and 13). We were very busy doing all the local attractions, so we didn't spend a lot of time in our room. Our one-bedroom suite (444) actually had bunk beds in the living room, which my kids loved. Having the kitchen was a plus for snacks and drinks before dinner. If you are looking for a room with great views or a pretty place outside your room to sit, this is not the hotel for you. The wings were added to the hotel, and in many ways it is more like a motor inn. Outside of every room is a parking lot. The walkways are landscaped very nicely, and here and there they have tables and chairs, but nothing right at your room. The suite itself was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Also, VERY DARK as they are using only high efficiency light bulbs. The pool is small, yes, but my kids were satisfied. They keep a nice container of iced lemon water near the pool and also have a constant supply of plush pool towels. The vibe is very mellow - when we walked over to the Del, the feeling was very hectic and crowded. AND, the Del employees were striking, so they were walking all over the place yelling into bullhorns - glad I paid $260 night at the Glorietta instead of $475 for a single, loud room at the Del. As people already mentioned, all the staff members were just excellent - the lady arranging the breakfast was actually singing as she worked. The continental breakfast was so nice and easy to begin a busy day of touring local attractions. We only ate out one morning just for a little variety. Try the Burger Lounge down Orange Ave - all organic ingredients and a fun, funky vibe. Right next door was my daughter's favorite place - the Yogurt Escape. They let you serve yourself frozen yogurt (6 flavors) plus loads of really festive toppings. Only 39 cents an ounce - a darn sight cheaper and more fun than paying $6.75 for a smoothie at the Del. If you are thinking about booking a single room at this hotel, look into it a little further. From my observation, many of the single rooms were in the least desirable locations in the hotel. Clarify the location and size of the room. I would stay here again - it was so easy, mellow and clean. Why not spend the money you save on Sea World, shopping and great dinners?

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzgirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.2 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
690 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Property: Glorietta Bay Inn
Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing