We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorietta Bay Inn is the only place to stay while on Coronado Island”
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glorietta Bay Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We celebrated my wifes birthday over the 4th of July weekend at Glorietta Bay Inn. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are the best we have ever experienced. The local 4th of July parade was also quite awesome featuring our WWII vets. God Bless you guys! And by the way . . . Santa always vacations on Coronado Island. HO HO HO

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaSanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

Hotel is very clean, staff was very friendly. Location is great! Price is a little high for a hotel/motel with very little frills but being only two blocks from the beach and being in a wonderful neighborhood made it worth it.

Nice central location for most of San Diego's sights. Usually about 15-20 minutes to the zoo, USS Midway, downtown. Breakfast was nice and had a nice variety.

Only complaint was with the room. Room was small, but comfortable. We had two beds and one bed was very creaky and loud. Our sliding door leading out to the balcony did not work properly. It took a lot of work to get the door open and closed and the lock was broken and was falling out. Basically, we could not use the balcony for the entire trip.

We did call the front desk to report the problem, they said they would take care of it but they never did. We had a second request for a clogged toilet but that was fixed quickly.

Other than that the room was very clean and served it's purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tusken10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I can't say enough about staying at the Glorietta Bay Inn. I was lucky enough to get the Sunset Room in the mansion for a full week in June 2010 for my Honeymoon. The location was perfect. We were a short walk from beach, right across the street from the Hotel Del Coronado, and 5 mins walk from multiple fantastic places to eat. The Glorietta Bay Inn mansion guests get turn down service, and orderable breakfast brought to your room every morning at a time you appoint. The Sunset room was smaller than the other rooms, but perfect for a couple. The bed was fantastic. The Sunset room has a private outdoor porch with a porch swing and small table and chairs for a romantic time. The staff was SO accommodating. They respected our privacy when we wanted us, and showered us with service and help when we needed it. They surprised us with a free bottle of champagne (we don't drink, but it was a wonderful gesture) upon arrival. Parking was simple and close (cheapest in the area at $10 a night). I could go on and on about the views and surrounding areas. We tried most of the restaurants in the area. Ones that I highly recommend would be the Brigantine, Miguels, Village Pizzeria, Mootime Creamery and Diner, and La Salsa. I would avoid Costa Azul at all costs (horrible service and worse food), and I wasn't impressed with the Rhinoceros (far too pricey for the quality of food and the service. Not horrible, just not outstanding.) All in all, I think this is the perfect spot for a fantastic honeymoon. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

It took several months of online research and numerous telephone calls to hotels in the San Diego area before I selected the Glorietta Bay Inn for a week long family vacation which included my wife, recent high school graduate daughter, recent college graduate son and his girlfriend. From the reservations that I made in January, to checking in on May 24th, and checking out on May 30th, everything went great! We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite that was clean, roomy and comfortable. We started each morning with the complimentary breakfast which included some outstanding coffee that's blended especially for the Inn. The Inn is conveniently located on Coronado and provides easy/quick access to San Diego. On the afternoons that we were at the Inn, we enjoyed the fresh lemonade and cookies that they provided. The weather was beautiful the entire week and we enjoyed spending some of it at the Inn's pool. The Glorietta Bay is within walking distance of an outstanding restaurant...the Coronado Boathouse (seafood & steaks)...which we visited several times. Right next to it is Seaforth Boat Rentals where my son rented a large sailboat at an affordable price. He, his girlfriend, and his sister enjoyed an afternoon sailing in the San Diego Bay area. The Inn is also within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. We found everyone at the Glorietta Bay Inn to be professional, polite, friendly, and accomodating...from General Manager Holly Ansley, to Front Desk Supervisor Kari Carty, to the staffs of the front desk, kitchen, housekeeping, and maintenance. The very few issues that we had while at the Inn were immediately addressed with no trauma at all. There was nothing that we could throw at the front desk staff that they were not willing and able to help us with, whether it directly concerned the Inn or not. While parking was limited, I never found it to be a problem. For this trip, we "went to the San Diego area" and "stayed at the Glorietta Bay Inn." We are already excited about planning our next trip which will be "to the Glorietta Bay Inn" from which will we "visit the San Diego area." If you're considering a trip to San Diego, don't miss an opportunity to stay at the Glorietta Bay Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gator8511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights with girlfriend at the end of a tour of California.

Hotel was an absolute gem. The rooms were a reasonable size, but with nice decor and exceptionally friendly staff.

As this was at the end of out stay we spend alot of time locally and around the hotel relaxing. The pool area is great, its so relaxing without the hustle and bustle of a big hotel.

I would return to this hotel again if i was ever in the san diego area

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKhattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I organized a large work conference and our original lodging facilities fell through, yet we were able to book all of the required rooms at the Glorietta Bay Inn for the same price. My room was almost like a one bedroom apartment, with a seperate full kitchen and bathroom, and outside patio area. Laudry facilities and pool are also available. Complimentary breakfast served each morning. Although this is not the newest facility, the rooms were very large and spacious, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location is among the best on the island. Directly across the street from the famous Hotel Del - it is only a short walk to the beach and many restaurants and shops along Orange Ave. Parking is limited in the hotel lots, but there is convenient residential parking nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhatMickyEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

My first trip to see my daughter who moved to SanDiego. Wanted to have a special Mom & daughter mini getaway & choose the Wonderful Glorietta. My choice was largely due to the reviews on Trip Advisor. And let me tell you I can't believe they have gone down to #2 spot.
Location,price ,service & lovely accomodations all rolled into one!
We choose the bayview room It had a small balcony with two chairs & a table Perfect for our evening wine time. Then down to the hottub located off the pool in 2 comfy robes that were hanging in our bathroom. (Which had a large beautiful shower ) We didn't stay in the Mansion but enjoyed our breakfast there( It is lovely) but loved our room & would probably choose it again! Everything is well maintained & very clean & pleasing to look at! Lovely flowers all around. Never having visted Coronado before wanted to see the Del & just a quick walk across the street you are there. We had lunch on the Sundeck of the Del & walked the Silver Strand Beach Only to return to the Del & sit on the comfy deck couchs & enjoy the view over drinks We returned to the Glorietta to get ready for the evening Wish we could have stayed longer but even for a mini getaway it still was perfect! If your going to Coronado you need to give it a try!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 17 in Coronado
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
735 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd, Coronado, CA 92118-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £169 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing