We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great little place!!”
Review of La Avenida Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Avenida Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Charles, LA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a great little place!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We had a wonderful four night stay at La Avenida Inn! It is a small, older hotel, but our room was very nice with a super comfy king size bed and lots of space. The bathroom was rather outdated (not important to us) but spotlessly clean. The wireless Internet worked better than the one at the fancy hotel we stayed at on the bay in San Diego. The staff was friendly and helpful. Location wise, you couldn't choose a better place! It's right across the street from the Del and a block from the beach. Anything you would want to do is in walking distance. And the best part? They provide beach towels and give you a sand pail for your trips to the beach! We shall return!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    197
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
205
197
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
285 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is almost right across the boulevard from Del Coronado but under $150/night. Large queen room with a good amount of extra room, table and couple chairs. Quiet, clean, comfortable. Less than a block from the bus stop for easy access to public transportation to the city. The "island" is small enough to easily walk for one in moderately good health. Light continental breakfast but you'll want to add a piece of fruit from a nearby market. Great location at 5 minutes from the beach.

Room Tip: Be sure to get room facing the pool. Those in the side corners are dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikingfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My wife and I stay in San Diego every year in July. It is her birthday trip and our anniversary trip all rolled into one fantastic get away. This year we decided to give La Aveniada Inn a try as the reviews were strong.

I will start with the good. Each and every member of their staff with the exception of one was amazing. The location is beyond wonderful with only a 2 minute walk to the beach and the plush Hotel Del Coronado. A movie theatre is located just down the street which was fun and convenient. There is great food at every corner and stop. The room was large and comfortable. There was a pool which we never used but it looked nice. The manager and the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly with one exception.

Sadly now for the one staff member who was rude and unreasonable. There was one front desk representative named Susi who did not listen and was rude each time we interacted with her. Here is one of the times and what happened. The first day we arrived we were told by the individual that checked us in that we could keep our car within the parking lot after our check out time of 11:00am. We planned on enjoying our last day on foot and then return to the hotel to pickup our things and our car. The plan was not possible when we checked out with Susi and attempted to confirm with her that our car was ok to stay for the day. She sighed and said "No once you check out your car will need to be removed as you are no longer in a room." I explained that t at check in we were told that we could leave our vehicle for the day and she laughed. She under her breathe stated "of course the day told you that". I explained I was just looking for consistency and I didn’t understand why the person at check in was the problem. She told me that they tell everyone whatever they want to hear and laughed. I then offered to pay money for parking to attempt to offer a solution as she was honestly wearing on my nerves (I don’t like being laughed at). She said I could not pay for the parking spot and other guests would need it. I stated I had stayed for 4 nights and 5 days I did not understand the problem. She looked at me and said well sir there are guests staying 6 days. I asked if that meant my stay was not appreciated and she said that many guests stay much longer than 4 days.

At this point I was very frustrated and fell very unappreciated. I had already checked out they had my money and up until this point I had tolerated Susi and felt this property was near perfect. I am sorry to say that Susi ended our trip on a horrible note and in my opinion she should not be working in a customer service type position. I am still amazed that she laughed at me and my wife’s request.

All in all I would recommend this hotel just avoid Susi!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmortuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our property and your time in Coronado. We were, however, very sorry to learn that one of our staff members did not meet our guest service expectations. Please be assured that our guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we have counseled our representatives accordingly. We very much appreciate the time you took to bring this to our attention and sincerely hope you will choose La Avenida Inn again for your next "birthday/anniversary fantastic getaway" trip. Please contact me directly to arrange your visit so I can personally thank you for your loyalty. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Ron Diepenbrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband and I live in San Diego and decided to do a Coronado weekend getaway. La Avenida Inn is PERFECT! It's very clean, well kept, nicely decorated with great service! It's centrally located to everything in Coronado— and I mean walking to distance to shops, restaurants and the beach) . I would highly recommend this place, especially for the reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supernelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

It was just a one night stay, sadly, and the location in busy Coronado is convenient. I found Johnnie a pleasure to work with in booking the room -- a lucky break for me in finding just a single night in the busy season. Almost everything is nearby. My room was quiet -- and most rooms seem set back from the pedestrian and traffice bustle of Orange Avenue. Johnnie was a great guide, secured a taxi in an advanced and timely way. The room accommodations were basic and clean -- I sure wouldn't spend much time in any room in a beautiful location like this if I'd had more time. And I would come here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Located right across street from Hotel del Coronado and soft sandy beach. Nice sized room with comfy beds. Walked to lots of shops and restaurants. Pool was clean and refreshing. Bathroom seemed a bit cheap, but functional. Overall, wde were pleasantly surprised with La Avenidva Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennykarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Is directly across street from Del Coronado. Lots of great food and shoping in walking distance. Italian restrurant right next door was very good. Parking is free. We got there early, and the desk gave us a free parking pass. We left our bags in the car and toured the area until check-in. Rooms are nice and very clean. Air conditioner worked great. Has free coffee and nice selection of breakfast muffins in morning. Desk gave us free vouchers for discounts and local resturants/shops.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartyEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coronado Beach Resort
Coronado Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Property: La Avenida Inn
Address: 1315 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and the beautiful Coronado Beach. The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing