We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel in the perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Avenida Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Avenida Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel in the perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I think anyone looking for luxury or a quaint Inn will be slightly disappointed here, but if you're looking for a good budget option in a fantastic location on Coronado, then you can't go wrong. Just moments from the beach, you're also on the main road down to the Ferry Landing so everything is within walking distance including the Bay and a host of fantastic bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is probably in line with a very good Travelodge or similar - clean rooms, comfortable bed, cable TV, spacious bathroom - along with some fantastic extras that really make a difference such as complimentary WiFi and pastries/coffee for breakfast.

Our only complaint (apart from the lack of hairdryers in the rooms) was that the walls are very thin meaning that if you're unlucky enough to be next door to noisy neighbours then it might affect your stay. Ours decided to get up at 5.30 every morning and listen to music... which meant we were forced to do the same. I'm sure a good pair of earplugs would have improved this.

Overall, a great place to stay that's very reasonably priced and in the perfect location. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy.
For future reference, we do have hairdryers available upon request at the front desk for use during your entire stay.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to your stay again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    191
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
196
193
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We thought La Avenida was great, a perfect location close to the beach, shops and restaurants. Everything we wanted for a two star but after having travelled down the Pacific Coast and staying in various hotels we really missed the fridge and safe. Ice facilities were available though. Pool area was lovely and towels provided. Coffee and danishes for breakfast. We would stay there again and would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, king size pool view, nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choccylab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

this was a vacation visit to coranado ca. and this hotel has a ideal location and is a very clean hotel with very economically priced rooms. they have very friendly service staff would stay again when we return thanks again for the wonderful hospitality

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our lovely hotel. We appreciate your kind words of praise. This will be passed along to our great team to make them aware of your wonderful compliments. We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Jodi Owens
General Manager
La Avenida Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
concord
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Very nice motel in a great location. VERY clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful (esp Benny, Susie & Johnny.) Just a short walk to the beach. The post office next door was noisy early in the AM, otherwise absolutely no complaints. Highly recommended for a family vacation in the San Diego area.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the back near the post office
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rene970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. I will happily share your comments with the rest of our team and I am sure it will make them very happy. We look forward to welcoming you back again to the La Avenida Inn when you return to the San Diego area.

Warmest Regards,

Jodi Owens
General Manager
La Avenida Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Not a lot of bells and whistles but for the price and location this was perfect. Our room was clean and had all the basic amenities we needed. If you are looking for lots of frills and extras then this might not be the place for you but if you want location at a good price then this might be the one. It is still within 20 minutes of all the major attractions that San Diego has to offer yet gives you the laid back feeling of being on the island. Shops and restaurants are right outside your door yet you still can make it to the zoo within 20 minutes door to door.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel, FL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Check-in went smoothly with our reservation. Benny, front desk clerk, was super helpful and gave us a coupon for free appetizer at Brigantine Restaurant located nearby. Room was clean and comfortable. Bedding was fine. Free internet. Coffee and pasteries were served in lobby in the AM.

Front desk also assisted with printing boarding pass for plane and arranging a shuttle for the airport. All and all a good value.

Room Tip: First floor is convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanibeltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Ron the manager at La Avenida was great and we will definitely be back to visit this great little hotel, in a great location on beautiful Coronado Island. Do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
Coronado Beach Resort
Coronado Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Property: La Avenida Inn
Address: 1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and the beautiful Coronado Beach. The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing