We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“biggest rip off ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Avenida Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Avenida Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
las vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“biggest rip off ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

My wife and I were so disappinted in this Motel. It isn't a quaint little Inn, it is a room with four walls around it. So overpriced and the management was horrible. They clearly don't know the meaning of guest services and were totally unprofessional. It is the trailer park of motels. There are better places to stay in Coronado with more charm, better service,and for less money. Will never ever stay there again, even if they gave me a free room. Also lots of noise, kids, and stale smelling rooms.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — employees
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jsanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    191
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
196
193
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

La Avenida has a fantastic location on the island just opposite the Hotel Del. It is very clean with a nice pool although the water is a little too cold. Would recommend this place although I feel it is perhaps a little too expensive especially as breakfast consists of only coffee and doughnuts. But otherwise this is a very good spot

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paularea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2008

Found this little gem looking for a property near the Hotel Corondao with a better rate. Had a conference at the Hotel Coronado with conference rate $250 night plus pay for parking.

Booked online directly with La Avenda Inn Paid $149 night minus 10% AAA discount for grand total $434.48 for 3 nights Sun April 13th-Wed April 16th. Got internet special rate plus AAA discount for a one king standard room.

Exceptionally clean across the street from the Hotel Coronado and free parking with plenty of spaces during my stay. Continental Breakfast daily in lobby and helpful staff. I was pleasantly greeted each afternoon by the resident duck swimming in the pool-how adorable that little guy was.

More than I needed, quiet, clean, walking distance to everywhere and plenty of tv channels. Save your money and stay here-you won't regret it.

  • Liked — Affordable, comfortable, clean and ample parking
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h2okc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

We just finished a stay at La Avenida Inn on Coronado. Here are the positives and negatives.

Pros:
Location
Good price
Pool (although it was too cold to swim)
Free parking included
The grounds keeper was very nice
Clean

Cons:
Continental breakfast is pretty weak
Thin walls
Can hear cars on road
Front desk staff is ok - they could smile a bit more
Rollaway bed is terrible
Bed was not that comfortable
Soap/shampoo could be upgraded

  • Liked — location, free wireless internet
  • Disliked — thin walls, noise
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dc_gooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2008

We happened upon this place while traveling thru Coronado. Great location, very clean no frills room. It was located a quick walk from the Hotel Del or the beach. Another plus was the free parking!

  • Liked — clean & comfortable
  • Disliked — didn't know we could ask for a refrigerator
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

This was a wonderful little motel/hotel. It was 1/2 block away from the Hotel Del and 1/2 block away from the beach. Clean, great staff, wii. No, it is not the Hotel Del, but we got a great room with a far less price than the Hotel Del or any of the other hotels close to the Hotel Del. I consider this place an absolute gem and the savings was fantastic. I highly reccommend this as a great place to stay. Now if your idea of a great place to stay means you stay in your room all the time and demand room service and lots of ammendities I do not recommend La Avenida Inn.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kcshawnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el paso
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2007

good size room. Ours had new carpet, paint, windows, and it seems the bed and pillows were new as well. A little noisy from the street but no big deal. Nice staff. Easy walk to beach through the Del or side street. Why pay Del prices when you can enjoy all that the Del has to offer and just be walk across the street.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rbaelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coronado Beach Resort
Coronado Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Property: La Avenida Inn
Address: 1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and the beautiful Coronado Beach. The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing