We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of La Avenida Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Avenida Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed at the La Avenida Inn for 3 nights in early Feb and were very pleased with our choice of lodging. After reading other reviews from TripAdvisor, I knew exactly what to expect and was not disappointed. We had considered biting the bullet and booking at the Hotel del Coronado, but I am so glad we didn't. We were literally across the street from the Del and paid a fraction of the price. The room was nice, clean, and sufficient. My only "complaint" would be not having a hair dryer. But since we were on vacation, I didn't fret about my hair too much. I believe they had a dryer in the office I could have borrowed, but I didn't worry about it.
The greatest perk of this property is it's location to the Del. You cross the street (a busy street, though), walk a couple of minutes, and you are on the del's beach. We rented bikes one day, rode around Coronado and took the ferry to San Diego. Coronado is a beautiful place, very quiet and peaceful. There is a bagel shop right next door to La Avenida, or you can get complimentary coffee and pastries in the office if you prefer. There are many dining options within walking distance. The weather was incredible. La Avenida has a pool, and it looked very pretty but the water was COLD! Even my 11 year old son wasn't brave enough to dive in.
We had a wonderful stay on Coronado and thanks to TripAdvisor were able to save money by booking at La Avenida and walking to the Del. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. If you are cost-conscious and are looking for a nice, quiet, affordable hotel on Coronado, then La Avenida is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebafay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2011

Clean, large, modern rooms 1 block from beach. Next to breakfast places, health clubs and restaurants. Pool, though unheated. Everything in room was spotless. Only drawback was the room heater was extremely loud. Excellent value overall.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dseetstarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Stayed here 12/19/10 to 12/25/10. Even though the weather did not cooperate, we loved this hotel. It is very close to the Del and there are lots of nice restaurants within walking distance even in the rain. The large king room had a great bed, and we did not mind the small TV. We used the heating system as our hair dryer, it worked very well, but we both have short hair. I would have liked a "heated " pool, like some of the other hotels, but it was not that big of a deal. The management was plesant, very nice and helpful. I woild stay here again without any reservations. There was no bothersome noise to speak of even though the hotel is on Orange Avenue.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handyrandy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We loved this place, the front desk was very friendly, helpful, and you felt like family.
We wanted to be by Hotel Del, its beautiful and so is the beach. Just walk across the street and your there. Early morning strolls on the beach, covered in sand dollars. Stop by the front desk area for free yummy pastries and coffee, tea, or hot cocoa. It added to the relaxing walks on the beach.
You could hear the people in the room above you, next time we will get the upper floor.
But this will always be the place we stay when visiting southern california.
Thanks again to the hotel staff for making us feel welcome.
Our teen daughter absolutely loved it and tells everyone about this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipflopyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were ending our California Coast drive vacation, spent 2 nights here before flying home to East Coast. Very helpful staff, provided coupons,
advice for cheap gas, all you had to do was ask. The proximity to the "Del" was the reason we picked this hotel, not realizing that the heart of Coronado Island was withing walking distance. Lots of great shops and restaurants, beaches.
Room was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nekrum30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This is a perfectly situated older, but updated, hotel in downtown Coronado, in walking distance to just about all, including the beach. The hotel is clean, inviting looking and our room was quite large and decorated very invitingly, with gorgeous wood floors and fresh, clean bedding. However! The walls are paper thin, and so, it would seem, is the ceiling. We could hear every word from both sides of us (TV and conversations) and hear every step taken overhead. I have never ever been in a hotel where you were buffeted on both sides and above by so much noise. We resorted to turning our TV up far louder than we would normally do and sleeping with earplugs. My husband says it is because it is an old hotel. Well, it is just way too bad that when the refurbishing was going on....as it clearly has been updated....that the walls were not better insulated; ceiling too. Because of this, we cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMJCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Excellent stay. Reception staff Suzi, Laurie, Johnny and manager Ron, all super sweet, helpful and friendly. Very yummy complimentary breakfast almond pastries, 4 minutes walk to beach, surrounded by restaurants, downtown bustop a few steps away. Thank you all: from your Aussie mate, Sara.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraMarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Address: 1315 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £136 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and the beautiful Coronado Beach. The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing