We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but not top-notch ... except for the staff - they are tops!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice enough but not top-notch ... except for the staff - they are tops!”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This is located on the Silver Strand, about 5 or 10 minutes south from the town/village of Coronado but is still technically "Coronado." The resort could use some sprucing up with the over grown landscape that is out of hand (more on that later) and some of the buildings look a little tired, with wall paper peeling here and there. Not a lot, but still ... My harsh critique is due to the fact that this is supposed to be an upper end resort, and the location should also nudge the owners into keeping it tip-top.

My two biggest complaints have to do with the landscape of all things! Picky, I know. The paths along the grassy areas between the buildings are overgrown with what could be, and probably once was lovely, eye-appealing vegetation. But because they aren't being tended to enough, they look messy. Now here's the main complaint: the beautiful lemon trees have dropped their fruit into the overgrown bushes, and they are rotting and they smell bad! You only smell it if you are out there in that area, fortunately. If you know the smell of lemons when they rot and turn that powdery-green, you know the smell and how it fills a room, or in this case a semi-enclosed garden. Just walking through that particular area was most unpleasant due to the smell. Fortunately there were other garden areas and so we just never revisited that one. The other yards we went through did not have citrus trees, hence they were odor free. Whew!

The nice sized room had 2 double beds, not queens, which would have fit just fine, and more preferred. The other room choice is a king bed, but we were using United Miles and didn't get the option when we booked. I tried to upgrade, but it would have needed to be done with United.com and became more of a hassle than it was worth. I'm glad it was just 2 of us and no kids or anyone else with us because my husband and I would not have enjoyed sharing a (small) double as we are used to a king at home! I will say though that these beds were very comfortable! So were the pillows. The sheets were cool and soft as could be. Really appreciated that! Overall the room was clean and nicely appointed and had free Wi-fi. The room did have a nice sized balcony furnished with 2 comfortable chairs and a small table. The bathroom was modern and spacious with oversized, soft and thirsty towels. Loved that! Nice sized sundries too - soaps, shampoos and such.
The wash cloths hadn't been restocked, so when we discovered that and need them, even though late at night, they had a fresh supply delivered to us within a few minutes. Great service!

I don't know if this was necessary, but when we stay at time-shares it is, so we are sort of trained, I suppose, so we did inventory the well stocked mini bar and found 3 or 4 things missing. We called the desk to ask about that. (With a can of soda being $3.00, and a beer at $6.00, for example, we didn't want to be charged for any of the missing items!) The young lady on the phone was very helpful and said she would make a note on our acct.

Speaking of the hotel employees, they all were very helpful and very friendly, from the check-in clerk to everyone we met on the grounds, the lovely gift shop, the bar... They all were excellent! Absolutely no complaints there!

We had our big labrador retriever with us and she was welcomed almost everywhere, which we really enjoyed. (No dogs at the pool or of course in the restaurants, neither of which we used anyway.) Loved the little bowls and dog tag she got to take home. She even got to kick back with us one evening on the outdoors patio which was serviced by a waitress (or you could go into the bar and "fetch" your own.) The outdoor fireplace was wonderful, as were the heaters on the rafters high above. We sat on a comfortable patio sofa in what became our own private area, (we were there on a weeknight/not busy) and enjoyed seeing the water and bits of San Diego in the near distance.

Overall the place was nice enough and if I could book it with some kind of special that appeals to us, we would certainly go back to Loew's Coronado. (My husband stayed at Loew's Lake Las Vegas earlier this year and said it is a little bit nicer. It's newer, so that probably accounts for a lot of it.) As with everything there are pros and cons. You probably pay less here than you would on the "island" because it is a little bit out of town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtn2Lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AStephany, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Mtn2Lake, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy you found our service and spacious bathrooms to your complete satisfaction. Additionally, thank you for your feedback in regards to our landscaping. We have shared your experience with our management team to ensure this is not a recurring issue. We truly appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,167
    1,061
    410
    192
    105
See reviews for
1,195
1,170
83
1,006
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2011

The concierge service really made our experience at Loews truly memorable. It started out by Tucker/Barry arranging dinner for us at Peohe’s . We had customized menus that made great souvenirs, flowers at the table, met the restaurant manager, and received a free dessert, all while enjoying the spectacular view of San Diego. Not to mention the food at Peohe’s is amazing!

Gordie was amazing as well. He suggested the best breakfast place we had ever been to, Hash House a go go. We liked it so much we went there a second day with my parents. Each time we arrived, we didn’t have to wait in line. Our Loews reservation card got us right in and the restaurant owner came to greet us. On our departure Gordie even offered more advice on places to visit for the rest of our trip that were spot on. The other staff at Loews was also extremely accommodating from giving us a better room with a big shower and great view, to shuttling us to and from the beach.

In addition they have everything you would ever want to do on a vacation. We were not able to experience it all on our first visit, but definitely want to return.

The staff at Loews was exceptional and provided an amazing start to our vacation in California! We’re already planning our next trip back!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katakins05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

I booked this hotel on a whim due to a discount I got, and ended up being beyond happily surprised. It is very kid friendly; they gave my 3 year old daughter a little coloring book and crayons upon arrival.

We were hungry and ended up eating in the fancy restaurant, Mistral, but they still had a kids menu for her (even though she still wanted to eat my salmon and my husband's steak). The staff was so nice and accommodating, and even though it was an upscale restaurant they did not bat their eyelashes twice at having her in the restaurant.

The outdoors is great; they have a giant chess board and a giant connect-four you can play. There are three pools: one for adults only, one for families, and one for kids. We went swimming kind of late so it didn't really matter anyways but what was wonderful was the free pool noodles and pool toys that were available.

They also have alot of family activities; on Friday night we went to a smores event on the patio-for an extra 5 dollars we got all the marshmallows we could roast, graham crackers, chocolate and fruit. They also provided coffee, tea, and hot chocolate.

The room service the next night was also great because again there was a kids menu with alot of choices and very reasonable-for less than 9 dollars, my daughter got a meal, a large side of fruit, chocolate milk, and a choice of dessert (brownie). She loved "picnicking" in the room.

We spent most of the weekend out and about so my only regret is not spending MORE time at the hotel: you can also rent family bikes, boats, etc. Next time I will just spend an entire day at the hotel :)

Note: there is a kids program and babysitting service; it appears that you have to be 4 to take part, but again we did not delve into that arena thoroughly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We had wonderful time with friends and our children. Pools were really good and convenient for our kids. Easy to access coffee shops, restaurants, downtown...
Especially Sea Spa... you can be very relax when walking in and very welcome smiling from the staff. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank webworkconnects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

While on our honeymoon, we stayed May 8 - 14 at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort and had a wonderful time. Each member of the staff we encountered was very attentive to us, and we were very impressed with the level of customer service we experienced. Because of this, we will definitely look to stay at a Loews hotel when traveling again. Cody S. at the front desk was very helpful to us at check-in, and even remembered we were on our honeymoon when checking out. The valet attendants were always there to greet us -- we didn't need to open a main-entrance door for ourselves the entire stay!
We especially loved our room -- a deluxe bay-view with soaking tub -- and were in no hurry to leave at the end of our stay. The decor was in cool blue tones, and very relaxing. Every morning from our balcony, we enjoyed a beautiful view of the San Diego bay while sipping a cup of hot chocolate or tea and reading our copy of the San Diego Union-Tribune that was placed daily outside our door.
The look of the lobby area was very impressive, and the resort's grounds as a whole are beautiful. We found the terraces with pretty views of the bay to be especially lovely in the evening. The three heated pools and two jacuzzis were really nice as well.
While we never tried Mistral, we ate at the Market Cafe several times and have no complaints. The service and food at each meal was great.
If we were pressed to come up with a complaint, a minor one would be the charges to use the internet in the business center are high. But, there were iPads to use for free in the lobby area, and we had access to our iPhone, so did not need additional computer use during our stay.
Overall, we were very impressed with our stay and already have recommended this hotel to friends who are visiting San Diego next month for their wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letsgohere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Even prior to cheking in, the customer service was parallel to none. I had a special request for our room for my husband's birthday and reservations manager Katie Powers took the utmost care of all of our needs.
Check in was a breeze with the help of Sergei who was very attentive and assured we had everything set up in our room.
The one bedroom suite was airy, immaculately decorated and the bed- soooo comfortable! Great views of the water from both rooms.
Poolside service was great. Our daughter left her goggles at home amd within minutes a helpful attendant brought her a pair to use.
Lunch at the poolside bar was delicious- try the calamari!
Speaking of food- the dinner experience at the Market Cafe was, well, yummy! My husband and I are both foodies and we don't often call out the chef to see us but we had to- the food was ah-mazing and we wanted to compliment Paolo in person. The lobster corndogs are from heaven and as main course the halibut as well as sea scallops area must have!
Also big kudos to Aana and Viloetta at the Concierge desk for going out of their way to assure my husband had a birthday stay he will never forget!
Overall, the general manager Kathleen Cochran runs an extremely well oiled operation at the Loews Coronado and even-though we just checked out today, we are already planning our next trip here!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Stay: We stayed at the Loews Coronado May 16 - 20, 2011 in room 2214 ('luxury', king bed).

Staff: The front desk staff was very courteous and the bellman, Jeff, was outstanding. There was some mix up with our Southwest vacation package however, Jeff took initiative to do some research and ensure we were happy with the accommodations. I felt sorry for the valet staff as they were also very courteous but I suspect they don't receive many tips with the sky high parking fees.

As a side note-- we tried to get information from the concierge several times but they always had a sign up indicating that they were closed; make sure you do your research prior to arriving as I'd not depend on the hotel for any information.

Rooms: Overall, I'd say the hotel is okay but rooms were a bit smaller than I expected for 'luxury' (there was only one step up which were the suites). We understood 'luxury' and 'deluxe' were the same square footage but the views differed from 'bay' to 'garden/bay'. The bay allegedly had the better view but we visited one other 'luxury/bay view' with 2 beds that was more like a bay/dumpster view. We didn't care much about the view anyway but were more interested in a (comfy) king bed since we were traveling with our 17 month old (note they do have cribs available).

The bed and pillows were indeed comfortable which aside from cleanliness tops our list of requirements. The bathroom was quite dirty when we arrived but nothing my Clorox wipes couldn't correct. The rest of the room appeared to be fairly clean.

They did have newly refinished carpets in almost all the rooms and we heard this update would be complete for all rooms very soon.

Parking/Travel: I agree with other posters that the parking at $28/day (valet; self park is $22) is more than a bit ridiculous. There is currently a 'suite' special on the Lowes website where you receive free parking if booking online through them along w/$50/day food & beverage credit however beginning at $409 per night, you're likely paying for parking anyway. A rental car is a must as it's a 5 - 10 minute drive to Coronado (talk about your captive audience!).

Food: They have 24 hour room service and a stocked mini bar which were very convenient. There is also a little deli area downstairs for quick bites and morning coffee/lattes. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants (they didn't look too busy).

Summary: For the great deal we received though Southwest Vacations ($2200 for 5 days/4 nights for 3 including hotel, air (direct flights), rental car, and tickets to the San Diego Zoo and SeaWorld), I'd say this was a good find and deal. If we were to receive discounted pricing, I'd stay at this hotel again. However, depending on activities planned and travelers, we may try the Omni, Hard Rock or another hotel in downtown San Diego next time.
As one more side note, we tried some featured Diners Drive In's and Dives restaurants (Hodad's and Hob Nob Hill) that were excellent!! The other food we had was mediocre at best (and pricier).

Room Tip: Deluxe and luxury rms have the same square footage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLF_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing