We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We have stayed at the Loews Coronado Bay several times and we are NEVER disappointed. Every aspect of the property is top notch - especially the service from every member of the staff. If you are traveling with your pets, this is "paws down" THE BEST PLACE TO STAY! Can't make it any clearer. Do yourself a favor and book a stay here as soon as you can. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cuz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AStephany, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear Cuz29,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy you found our amenities and service to your complete satisfaction. We hope you enjoyed your time in San Diego and look forward to welcoming you and your four-legged family back to Loews.
Sincerely,
Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,891 - 3,897 of 4,478 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

I'll begin by saying that the facility itself is nice enough. Room was good, restaurant was good, service was okay. However, the feeling within 3 minutes of checking in that the management lacks integrity and a commitment to customer satisfaction never left me. Nasty surprises ensued as they were literally in my pocket every step of the way.

It started with a surprise $25 per day charge to self park a car. At no time when making a reservation did anyone tell me that I would have to pay a fee to park. Paying to valet park would be understandable (yes they have that too, and charge even more for it), but to park my own car? And BTW, you HAVE to have a car because the hotel is more than 5 miles from the main beauty and attractions of Coronado. So I felt misled from the get-go and no one seemed to care. The gal at registration admitted they don't tell people about the extra charge to park and she felt bad, but clearly was not in a position to do anything about it. How can they keep quality employees when they put them in an indefensible position with customers?

Next, wi-fi. This hotel charges $12 per day for something you'll get for free at any Starbucks, most airports and any really good hotel. They were quick to point out that Internet access is free in the lobby, which would be great except there is a grand total of TWO very small computer terminals for a hotel of 440 rooms and loaded with kids. Further, they're out there in the middle of everything so privacy is completely absent.

Then the, ahem, "Business Center" -- it's in a dirty, dingy, nasty basement complete with horribly stained carpets and no windows. And to access the internet there? $50!! No kidding! Five-Oh!

The situation was so bad and unsettling that I found myself double-checking before I consumed the in-room coffee (Keurig machines, very nice, great coffee, BTW). It didn't seem they charged for this, but until I get the final bill I won't know for sure. Are they going to charge for express checkout? The newspaper they left at the door? The use of the in-room hairdryer? I honestly don't know and though I'll be furious if they do charge, I won't be surprised.

Never, never, never again. My first experience with Loews will probably be my last.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McGillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AStephany, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear AmyVCTexas,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and had a positive experience with our staff. Our parking and internet pricing is comparable to other luxury properties in San Diego. We believe we offer good value, given our beachfront location and extensive amenities. However, we do value all guest feedback and will review your concerns with our management team. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Sincerely,
Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This is located on the Silver Strand, about 5 or 10 minutes south from the town/village of Coronado but is still technically "Coronado." The resort could use some sprucing up with the over grown landscape that is out of hand (more on that later) and some of the buildings look a little tired, with wall paper peeling here and there. Not a lot, but still ... My harsh critique is due to the fact that this is supposed to be an upper end resort, and the location should also nudge the owners into keeping it tip-top.

My two biggest complaints have to do with the landscape of all things! Picky, I know. The paths along the grassy areas between the buildings are overgrown with what could be, and probably once was lovely, eye-appealing vegetation. But because they aren't being tended to enough, they look messy. Now here's the main complaint: the beautiful lemon trees have dropped their fruit into the overgrown bushes, and they are rotting and they smell bad! You only smell it if you are out there in that area, fortunately. If you know the smell of lemons when they rot and turn that powdery-green, you know the smell and how it fills a room, or in this case a semi-enclosed garden. Just walking through that particular area was most unpleasant due to the smell. Fortunately there were other garden areas and so we just never revisited that one. The other yards we went through did not have citrus trees, hence they were odor free. Whew!

The nice sized room had 2 double beds, not queens, which would have fit just fine, and more preferred. The other room choice is a king bed, but we were using United Miles and didn't get the option when we booked. I tried to upgrade, but it would have needed to be done with United.com and became more of a hassle than it was worth. I'm glad it was just 2 of us and no kids or anyone else with us because my husband and I would not have enjoyed sharing a (small) double as we are used to a king at home! I will say though that these beds were very comfortable! So were the pillows. The sheets were cool and soft as could be. Really appreciated that! Overall the room was clean and nicely appointed and had free Wi-fi. The room did have a nice sized balcony furnished with 2 comfortable chairs and a small table. The bathroom was modern and spacious with oversized, soft and thirsty towels. Loved that! Nice sized sundries too - soaps, shampoos and such.
The wash cloths hadn't been restocked, so when we discovered that and need them, even though late at night, they had a fresh supply delivered to us within a few minutes. Great service!

I don't know if this was necessary, but when we stay at time-shares it is, so we are sort of trained, I suppose, so we did inventory the well stocked mini bar and found 3 or 4 things missing. We called the desk to ask about that. (With a can of soda being $3.00, and a beer at $6.00, for example, we didn't want to be charged for any of the missing items!) The young lady on the phone was very helpful and said she would make a note on our acct.

Speaking of the hotel employees, they all were very helpful and very friendly, from the check-in clerk to everyone we met on the grounds, the lovely gift shop, the bar... They all were excellent! Absolutely no complaints there!

We had our big labrador retriever with us and she was welcomed almost everywhere, which we really enjoyed. (No dogs at the pool or of course in the restaurants, neither of which we used anyway.) Loved the little bowls and dog tag she got to take home. She even got to kick back with us one evening on the outdoors patio which was serviced by a waitress (or you could go into the bar and "fetch" your own.) The outdoor fireplace was wonderful, as were the heaters on the rafters high above. We sat on a comfortable patio sofa in what became our own private area, (we were there on a weeknight/not busy) and enjoyed seeing the water and bits of San Diego in the near distance.

Overall the place was nice enough and if I could book it with some kind of special that appeals to us, we would certainly go back to Loew's Coronado. (My husband stayed at Loew's Lake Las Vegas earlier this year and said it is a little bit nicer. It's newer, so that probably accounts for a lot of it.) As with everything there are pros and cons. You probably pay less here than you would on the "island" because it is a little bit out of town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mtn2Lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AStephany, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear Mtn2Lake, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy you found our service and spacious bathrooms to your complete satisfaction. Additionally, thank you for your feedback in regards to our landscaping. We have shared your experience with our management team to ensure this is not a recurring issue. We truly appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

The concierge service really made our experience at Loews truly memorable. It started out by Tucker/Barry arranging dinner for us at Peohe’s . We had customized menus that made great souvenirs, flowers at the table, met the restaurant manager, and received a free dessert, all while enjoying the spectacular view of San Diego. Not to mention the food at Peohe’s is amazing!

Gordie was amazing as well. He suggested the best breakfast place we had ever been to, Hash House a go go. We liked it so much we went there a second day with my parents. Each time we arrived, we didn’t have to wait in line. Our Loews reservation card got us right in and the restaurant owner came to greet us. On our departure Gordie even offered more advice on places to visit for the rest of our trip that were spot on. The other staff at Loews was also extremely accommodating from giving us a better room with a big shower and great view, to shuttling us to and from the beach.

In addition they have everything you would ever want to do on a vacation. We were not able to experience it all on our first visit, but definitely want to return.

The staff at Loews was exceptional and provided an amazing start to our vacation in California! We’re already planning our next trip back!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katakins05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

I booked this hotel on a whim due to a discount I got, and ended up being beyond happily surprised. It is very kid friendly; they gave my 3 year old daughter a little coloring book and crayons upon arrival.

We were hungry and ended up eating in the fancy restaurant, Mistral, but they still had a kids menu for her (even though she still wanted to eat my salmon and my husband's steak). The staff was so nice and accommodating, and even though it was an upscale restaurant they did not bat their eyelashes twice at having her in the restaurant.

The outdoors is great; they have a giant chess board and a giant connect-four you can play. There are three pools: one for adults only, one for families, and one for kids. We went swimming kind of late so it didn't really matter anyways but what was wonderful was the free pool noodles and pool toys that were available.

They also have alot of family activities; on Friday night we went to a smores event on the patio-for an extra 5 dollars we got all the marshmallows we could roast, graham crackers, chocolate and fruit. They also provided coffee, tea, and hot chocolate.

The room service the next night was also great because again there was a kids menu with alot of choices and very reasonable-for less than 9 dollars, my daughter got a meal, a large side of fruit, chocolate milk, and a choice of dessert (brownie). She loved "picnicking" in the room.

We spent most of the weekend out and about so my only regret is not spending MORE time at the hotel: you can also rent family bikes, boats, etc. Next time I will just spend an entire day at the hotel :)

Note: there is a kids program and babysitting service; it appears that you have to be 4 to take part, but again we did not delve into that arena thoroughly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We had wonderful time with friends and our children. Pools were really good and convenient for our kids. Easy to access coffee shops, restaurants, downtown...
Especially Sea Spa... you can be very relax when walking in and very welcome smiling from the staff. Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank webworkconnects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

While on our honeymoon, we stayed May 8 - 14 at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort and had a wonderful time. Each member of the staff we encountered was very attentive to us, and we were very impressed with the level of customer service we experienced. Because of this, we will definitely look to stay at a Loews hotel when traveling again. Cody S. at the front desk was very helpful to us at check-in, and even remembered we were on our honeymoon when checking out. The valet attendants were always there to greet us -- we didn't need to open a main-entrance door for ourselves the entire stay!
We especially loved our room -- a deluxe bay-view with soaking tub -- and were in no hurry to leave at the end of our stay. The decor was in cool blue tones, and very relaxing. Every morning from our balcony, we enjoyed a beautiful view of the San Diego bay while sipping a cup of hot chocolate or tea and reading our copy of the San Diego Union-Tribune that was placed daily outside our door.
The look of the lobby area was very impressive, and the resort's grounds as a whole are beautiful. We found the terraces with pretty views of the bay to be especially lovely in the evening. The three heated pools and two jacuzzis were really nice as well.
While we never tried Mistral, we ate at the Market Cafe several times and have no complaints. The service and food at each meal was great.
If we were pressed to come up with a complaint, a minor one would be the charges to use the internet in the business center are high. But, there were iPads to use for free in the lobby area, and we had access to our iPhone, so did not need additional computer use during our stay.
Overall, we were very impressed with our stay and already have recommended this hotel to friends who are visiting San Diego next month for their wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letsgohere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,065 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £160 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing