We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Out For Those Expensive Meals!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We booked a room at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort in the middle of May, taking advantage of an advertized online special. We thought it was somewhat economical at $1000.00 for 4 nights for a room with 2 pets and 3 people. But after the first night when we ordered room service dinner for my son's birthday, we decided to watch out! A bill of $207.96 was steep. We followed the exodus of other guests to the McDonalds at Imperial Beach just down the road. That's the only thing that made the stay financially possible. I suspect the resort was trying to lure in guests with lower rates just to sock it to them with high restaurant bills and other temptations such as the Market Cafe where you could buy cupcakes and other sundries to take back to your room. Of course there are other advantages to staying at the resort such as the proximity to the Silver Strand Beach (right across the road) and the Hotel Del Coronado just down the road. There we discovered the very best beach on Coronado. (Tip: there is a dog beach next to the Del if you can find parking). The resort also boasts the best shower I've ever seen anywhere. I want to build one just like it at my house.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a bay view for a little more money. We chose a room with a courtyard view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,467 - 3,473 of 4,466 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. They upgraded us to a suite, which was amazing! We had a balcony with 2 large TVs and a huge bathroom. Its a little isolated (4 miles from the main strip in Coronado), but we saw that as a good thing. Its right by a state park so the beaches are nice and you can walk between the bay and the Pacific. The only down side was that breakfast was not included and their cafe was rather pricey.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visit to Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It’s great to hear you had such a wonderful experience and had the opportunity to enjoy one of our executive suites! I’m glad you were able to relax and enjoy the peacefulness of the surrounding area and when you decide to return as a reminder we do offer a complimentary guest shuttle into center of Coronado. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have stayed here since its first open summer. It became a tradition that we would take the children and head out from hot Arizona every summer and spent at least a week at the Loews. Of course when it was first built it was so beautiful with soft muted blues and white = very clean and seashore looking. I love the towels - they are so big, soft and fluffy and they smell so good (again a clean small, like you're at the beach). Service has always been good. Some years better than others. one of their previous renovations they changed the colors and it was not as calm and peaceful as they went to more orange/red colors, but I understand they are currently doing a renovation - I hope someone with some taste decides to go back to the way it was. The beds were comfortable, bathrooms roomy and nice. I always enjoyed the balcony and it cam in handy for drying out my son's seashell collection. We love this hotel. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 (I would have done a 4.5, if I could) is that there has not been total consistency on the conditions and the service, but even so, it has not been bad. The location is near the Silver Strand State Park and that is the beach you use (it is a bayside property). They have a free shuttle that takes you back and forth. They provide towels, chairs, umbrellas, etc. It is close enough to walk, though. You can rent bikes and boats, which is always fun. They have a spa, fitness, and tennis. A car is necessary in order to see the rest of Coronado (which is so nice to go to and walk around town) and San Diego, but parking is not a problem. In fact they have underground parking and you can park right under the residential building (there are 5) you are staying in and take the elevator up. Laundry facilities are available for those with kids (I used them all the time) - so I learned to ask for a room in the building they were in (I can't remember - 2 and 4, I think?) There is also a kids club and lots of activities for the kids. We did marshmallow roasts on the bay beach at night, etc. This is a real family resort. The one downside, if you do have a family and are trying to budget is that the food in the restaurants is very expensive. Having a car gave us options to dine in more affordable places. If you can get a bed and breakfast promotion I highly recommend it because breakfast is expensive. I do love this resort (we've stayed at the Hotel Del and prefer the Loews).

Room Tip: If you have kids try to be in a building with the laundry facilities (if you think you need them), o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamu421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visits to Loews Coronado Bay Resort. We are so delighted you decide to spend your vacation with us. We have just recently finished up on the remodel of our Lobby, Market Cafe, and Market to Go. I truly believe you will enjoy the finished product and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Rooms were clean. Lobby and pools were great. Nice New Year's Eve party. Beds were old and hurt our backs. Digital TV didn't work in our room for the bowl games, and a call to the service desk didn't produce a technician or any success with the cable.

Felt a little nickel-and-dimed with the $10 fee to use the workout room which was very small and underwhelming.

Golf carts service to the beach was nice, parking under the hotel was convenient. Shower leaked all over the floor every time since the design of the door and seal was terrible.

We would stay there again, but were not overwhelmed with the excellence.

Room Tip: We were in building 5 - the farthest away from the lobby, which was great since the New Year's e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flexdog1_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

There is not a lot to complain about regarding the rooms or service but because it is isolated one needs a car to do anything (or get any variety), yet at the same time it is not so isolated that one gets any benefit from isolation. The Hotel del Coronado would be a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop on a 3 week American southwest road trip. Lovely hotel but a good few miles from Coronado made it a bit of a pain in the evenings. The pool was lovely and the beach was a 10 min walk away. Overall pretty good but we probably would of preferred something more central on reflection.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealisticLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visit to Loews Coronado Bay Resort. We are thankful you allowed us to be a part of your road trip and hope you enjoyed your time here. If you should decide to return as a reminder we do have a complimentary shuttle that will take you right to the middle of Coronado. Hope you have a great and safe remaining road trip and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We spent three nights here and the location is great if you want to see Los Angeles, the Chinese theatre is right at your front door as are a look of dining choices ranging from takeaway to fine dining. The only slight issue is some traffic delays to get back to your hotel in the evenings so be prepared, no issue during the day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanglenSanglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,054 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £164 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing