We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag...but great if you can find a solid price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is better suited as a 3.5 star experience...Just not quite where I feel it to be for a 4 star rating.

Loews Coronado Bay is a resort style hotel situated on the Strand that runs between Coronado Island and Imperial Beach; not quite in town but the hotel appears to make all efforts to get guests into town via shuttle, etc. In other words, don't let the location keep you from staying here.

The hotel rates as a 4 on most sites, and rooms appear to run 180-200/nt. in January...We live maybe 200 mi. north of San Diego-it made it easy to plan a last minute getaway for my wife, our son and me. Priceline saved us over 50% on the room, making it a really great deal for staying 3 nights....Overall, I found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and outgoing; everyone from the front desk to the guy who poured my coffee in the am had a genuine interest in my enjoyment.

The remodeled lobby and bar is nice....great place to watch some weekend football with the large screen sports bar style screen. Decent beer selection including some local choices, and a bar menu that (while expensive) has a good line up of selections..

The pool is very kid friendly....three separate pools that surround an outside bar (closed on our stay) and a few jacuzzis. Easy access to seating, ocean view, plenty of towels and lots of sun! Ping pong was a neat addition...seems like a great place to spend if you have a couple of kids old enough to let loose to swim, etc.

Pros:
Patio off lobby bar. Exceptional! Plenty of room to stretch out around gas firepits, gorgeous views of the bay and Coronado bridge...landscaped with mature palms and birds of paradise. Almost as if the Mediterranean met a pacific island...really very nice. Great place for a cocktail and cigar if you're so inclined.
Large tub in room. Much like a jacuzzi...plenty of room to relaaaax. In fact, the entire bathroom was well appointed
Bed. Just firm enough, plenty of pillows...definitely great for a good night's sleep!
Staff. As mentioned, very kind and considerate...

Cons:
Unfortunately, the cons pulled this experience from a solid 4 star review...being someone who's stayed at the best any 5 star has to offer as well as being surprised by the hidden quality of a few of the 3 stars...I feel like Loews did come up short in a few areas.

Fees. Fees galore! I There was that commercial about banks a few years ago where the guy had to pay a fee for a fee, and a fee for complaining...remember that? Funny, but it felt the same way there...Internet 12.50 a day, valet parking 30.00 a day...While I'm sure that's par for the course in SD/Coronado...it just feels a little nasty...I'm not a fan of it, and make sure to mention it each time it comes up. 7.00 waters, 1.50 Keurig coffees, etc were a bit painful too...and with a starbucks or McDonalds not exactly around the corner...we were a bit of a captive audience.
Pricey food. The market cafe for breakfast served pretty decent food...in fact, better than most hotels in my opinion...the breakfast was well-made. Breakfast for four, however, was close to 80.00..no mimosas or booze. The bar food is also VERY expensive...15 bucks for 5 microwaved chicken wings...15 bucks for a quesadilla...3 drinks each and an order of wings for two people cost me 130 bucks the first night. BYOB!
No fridge to use in room. This would have undoubtedly offset some of the food costs, and I expected something there in a "family" hotel.

In the end, I think the Loews is a great stay if you can nail a solid discount on the room, and if you properly plan around some of the additional fees....Happy travels.

Room Tip: We had a "luxury room" upgrade that gave us nice views of the Ocean and hotel patio. Build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sewo1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,437 - 3,443 of 4,442 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

Loews Coronado Bay Resort is a truly wonderful hotel. First off, the staff are amazing. Everyone was exceedingly friendly from arrival to departure. Check-in was a breeze and everyone we met along the way from the concierge to the restaurant and bar staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.

The hotel has both a kids pool as well as an adults pool so things were quiet for me while I read poolside - a big plus. The grounds were also well-maintained and clean. A quick walk to the adjacent dock will get you the opportunity to ride in a gondola. The food was also very good as well. We ate in the restaurants and ordered room service and everything from the service to the food was wonderful. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The hotel is large and surprsiningly isolated. The suburb of Coronado is about five miles north and Imperial Beach is three miles south. The hotel has a lot of pools but is not on a beach. There is a public beach nearby and nothing else. The food is so-so and overpriced. The rooms are a good size but nothing special. The lobby is large and there is a bar. All in all, it's not a place for a vacation and it's not a place for a city visit. It's okay for a conference but very isolating. There are public transit buses into San Diego from the highway out from the hotel and the hotel has an occasional shuttle

Room Tip: All the rooms have a water view. Parking is in a large garage under every tower. Tower 1 is closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesson_learned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I was at a conference here this Jan. An excellent venue with lovely staff, freat accomodation and a location I loved. You can rent a bike and cycle towards Mexico, or run along the seashore. A bit outside of San Diego, but only 30 min by car or 10 min to Coronado. Bit expensive though.

Room Tip: Get a room with evening sun, then you can sit on the balcony and enjoy your pre-dinner drink. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Although off by itself in Coronado, this is a great hotel for couples, business and family. The rooms are spacious and comfortable (best nights sleep in months), the staff very friendly and the food great for a hotel. Meeting facilities are top notch. The fire pits outside of the lounge are warm and welcoming and a great place to enjoy a beverage served by knowledgeable and friendly bar tenders.

Room Tip: There's not a bad room or view in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelsOffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is heaven, the property is 9 miles from the gas lamp area and a beautiful drive. We loved the resort atmosphere. We had dinner with our daughter and her dog, pet friendly a d very welcoming.
The staff helpful and very nice. Huge room with a balcony overlooking the pool.
A must for anyone visiting the area!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pools. If you don't have a pet, ask for the pet free building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieLizzieLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We spent the day enjoying Sunny San Diego at the pool over looking the ocean . We wanted to relax, but there was tons for the kids as well. Try out the Kid's Club Room. They taught the kids how to do magic. Very cool. The room was very luxurious. A great choice of hotel. I will go back again and again. Also close to our favorite haunts, San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp District, Seaport Village.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visit to Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It’s great to hear you and your family had such a wonderful experience. In addition to Kids Club we also do family activities such as bingo and ceramics that during your next visit you can enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
302 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £158 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Bay Coronado
Loews Resort
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing