We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Resort Pricing, But Still A Travesty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I would agree with others that the physical setting and room quality is excellent, knowing of course that you are somewhat isolated from the town of Coronado. However, like the majority of other resorts, their "add-on" pricing structure for what I consider necessities at a hotel these days is ridiculous. Parking is priced a bit lower that the "island proper" hotel parking rates, but I am old school and think parking should be provided free of charge. Definitely watch out for the Wi-Fi rates! They charge daily for each device, not per room! This could get to be expensive with a two cell phone, two iPad family.

Room Tip: Get a third floor room for a better view of the bay.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRTPKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,372)
There are newer reviews for Loews Coronado Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,169 - 3,175 of 4,375 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Spent 1 week at loews, on a conference. Fantastic views, great facilities, catered for events during conference were the best I have been to. Lovely pool areas and bar snacks tasty. Location of hotel means a car is essential, or bike hire, but would recommend for couples. Room was tired, but v clean, no smells of previous canine guests.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank cnash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Excellent customer service. Everyone at the hotel (especially at the pool) were very helpful and went the extra mile to provide superior service. One thing that I look for in a good hotel. The view was beautiful of the bay. Breakfast was nice. Our room was stylish and comfortable but several people traveling with us said their rooms smelled bad. Important to know - this is a pet friendly hotel. There aren't pets all over the place, but you will see them walking through the hotel with their owners. I would not have been happy if we had been in a pet friendly room. The location is far down the island. Not too far to drive to shops and restaurants but not walking distance. The beach in front of the hotel was empty and covered in sea weed. Nobody was using it. The pool food and drinks were great so that made up for the beach.

Room Tip: If pets bother you, make sure you are in a pet free room (if that exist)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I had a fantastic stay on Coronado. I wanted a place that was calm and stylish and Loews was perfect for that. All of the staff including Steve who checked us in at the reception desk and the wonderful team in the more casual restaurant where we had breakfast each morning.We sat at the tables out overlooking the marina. What a way to start your day! The manager Michael, Margarita, Hector,Carla, and Teresa, all truly made our stay so warm and memorable. Our room was a suite with a living room and bedroom above the bungalows with stunning bay views.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPGA17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is an expensive restaurant for the amount of food you get. The format is a Tapas (small plates) type menu. The food is tasty, good place if you are a foodie. The restaurant is inside of a resort which gives it a feel of a tourist trap.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort for three nights in September. We had to change rooms after we checked in because our suite smelled horrible. We were told we were in a pets wing and the new room was in a pet free building. The new suite smelled better but just barely. All of the rooms have a view of the water. Our suite had a balcony but it was not very inviting and I only sat out there one time. The wifi was essentially useless. I tried working in my room and had to give up because it was glacially slow. There are nice things about the hotel. The staff was very nice and the group dinners they planned were well done, especially the beach party. The pool area was also very pleasant. It's a bit far from the main drag, where the Del Coronado is located. So a car is necessary if you wan to go anywhere.

Room Tip: Unless you bring your pet ask for a pet free room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilmettetraveler1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed at Loews four days October 10. Had requested building 1, third floor, pool view. I don't know how many times I have requested rooms at other hotels and not received it, but this one was spot on. The room was lovely, with a nice balcony with view of the pool and marina. Service was great with a couple of minor exceptions. Housekeeping bothered us at 8:30 a.m., wanting to clean. And received an ok for a late checkout from noon until 1:30. Unfortunately, our room keys were deactivated, and we couldn't get back into the room without going back down to the front desk and standing in line for help. Pool and grounds were fantastic. Pool service good, and food there was delicious. Parking was a little steep ($25/day). There is absolutely no need for Valet parking as you can park immediately below the building you are assigned, and take the elevator directly to your room. Using the valet will actually be less convenient. We did not use the shuttle to the beach, rather enjoyed the five minute walk to the sand. The beach there is beautiful and not crowded. Despite a couple of minor hiccups, I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Building 1, third floor gives you a beautiful view of the pool and marina. Plus, is close to the lo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0nnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
4.5 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
296 reviews
17.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
4.4 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,299 reviews
4.8 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
12.9 mi away
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £158 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing