We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When you can't do the "Del"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“When you can't do the "Del"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

With respect to "value," that concept doesn't get along that well with San Diego. If you aren't used to it, it will hurt. By SD value standards, though, it is pretty decent.

The view is spectacular, if you can get one (see photo). The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed, with good-sized balconies. The pool area is first-rate, with generous hours. Can't comment on the food.

Downsides? Hotwire/Priceline-style deals don't always let you upgrade, so you might be stuck with a view of your neighbor. Self-parking is a ludicrous $25 per day. You are five miles from anywhere; you will have to drive across the road to get to the ocean and pay $10 for parking. They even charge for wi-fi. (The Hotel Del is right in town, which means nightlife.)

If you bid, you will get this hotel nine times out of ten.

Since you are going to have to drive to the beach anyway, I recommend Imperial Beach. The price is right, and there are a few bistros to choose from.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade from the garden-view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dissenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,014
    1,014
    396
    185
    102
See reviews for
1,133
1,112
76
927
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights recently for business but spent a lot of time at the hotel. Great room and view. Ate at both restaurants here and found the food well prepared and very good. The creme brûlée was awesome, I had it three different times. I like the family feel of this hotel although clearly a conference and event hotel during the week. The only complaint I have is the Market in the lobby is clearly overpriced. I got breakfast there one morning to eat on the run and it was 25 dollars and I ended up taking the hard boiled eggs back because they were slimy. The only good thing about the Market was they serve Starbucks coffee. The three pools were spotless and heated. Enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Its my understanding that all rooms have a great view. I had one overlooking the pool and bayside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed there 5 days in Nov for conference. My room was excellent, view of bridge and pacific was magical. My co workers were not so lucky, their views were of walls and balconies. Hotel services were first class, attended a gala in the ball room and food was surprisingly excellent and plentiful. Drawbacks are they nickel and dime you..They charge $25.00 for self parking and $30.00 for valet. 10.00 for fridge. Taxi from airport can be as much as $45.00 - 75.00, so rent a car as you can not walk into Coronado.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed there for four night last week. It was for business for me and vacation for my husband. The grounds and surrounding area make it somewhat difficult to go into conference sessions all day! We did have lunches outside. On cooler days the staff had the outdoor heaters running. We lucked out and had a full bay view. We could watch the tide come in and out. It was facing the east so I was worried about the morning sun! Fortunately the curtains didn't allow the sun to wake us too early.
The hotel is not close to anything. They have a beach, restaurants and you can rent boats or take a gondola ride, but if you want most anything else it is a drive. The town is not far and is charming, with restaurants and shopping. You can rent bikes and bike through some of the local neighborhoods.

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms have a full or partial bay view, some have views of a citrus or herb garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAMspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

San Diego was the first stop for us on our honeymoon at the end of October. We were greeted with a warm reception by Billy ( I think that was his name, he was from Chicago). He was very helpful with ideas for things to do in the area and gave a quick run down on the property. We stayed in building 5. Our room had a bay view and was very quiet. We never heard noise from the military base, the bay or other rooms. Our room was very clean, nicely appointed. The property is about a 10 min drive from the center of Coronado island but we didn't feel like this was a problem. We could easily access shops, restaurants and the ferry to downtown San Diego. Loews Coronado does not charge resort fees but they will charge for self parking, $25/day. I can't comment on the restaurant or cafe because we only bought a couple of bottles of water. If we ever visit San Diego in the future we would definitely consider staying at the Loews.

Room Tip: If you are celebrating a special occasion it might help to mention it while you are making your rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbatisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to Lowes to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When booking the reservation, I requested a deluxe king with full views of the bay and San Diego. Our room had a separate living room with a couch, television, and desk. Our patio was quite small, and it faced the hotel head on, and the bay to our right. From the patio, I cannot see the views of San Diego unless I stand up and go to the corner if the patio. The shower is very, very small! The hotel charges 30 dollars a day for valet parking, 25 for self park. Although I had a spa service, they charged my husband 10 to use the gym. As a hotel guest, I find that to be a bit tacky. While we had no real problems, I would not stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isunwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

A very nice hotel located about 10 mins from the town center. They have a great coffee shop that's open 24 hours. Rooms were nice and the pool area looked great. The only problem besides the location is the military aircraft that seem to buzz the hotel often. The staff was great and very helpful and professional. The meals we had as part of the conference were very good and served by a great staff.

Room Tip: go for a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELINMANFROMNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing