We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent Christmas at Loews - Great :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Spent Christmas at Loews - Great :)”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at Loews Coronado Bay Resort.

We decided to go to San Diego for Christmas and choose Loews as we wanted to stay on Coronado Island.

Upon arrival the staff where very friendly and efficient, explaining everything that we needed to know.

Our room was really good and a great size with a balcony.

We had taken our dog with us (a medium size dog) and within a few minutes one of the staff arrived and delivered us a bowl and treats for the dog.

We had breakfast both days on the patio - food and service great.

We decided to have dinner at the hotel on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day in the Mistral restaurant. I can honestly say that the food and service was fantastic. The staff were very attentive and the food was awesome.

Both nights we had drinks in the lounge area and it was very lovely.

The sports facilities were excellent. The tennis courts were out of order for NYE but the hotel had arrived for some neighbouring courts to be available (floodlight) and they took us there but hotel car. We also took part in the yoga class on Boxing day which was great.

The hotel is super dog friendly. If you have a dog that you want to take with you, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadauk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us in detail. We are thrilled that you and your four-legged family member enjoyed your meals and recreational activities during your stay, as well as found your room spacious and our staff friendly. We take great pride in our service standards and your kind words will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,

George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,167
    1,061
    410
    192
    105
See reviews for
1,195
1,170
83
1,006
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the pictures on its website. I'd end the review there, but it doesn't meet the character minimum, so...

Positives: The staff was helpful, patient, and accommodating (when possible). Also, it looks like it'd be a fun place to hang out with little kids and grandparents who have no desire to do anything other than hang out by the pool and splash around and enjoy one another's company.

Negatives: Where to begin? The bathroom was disgusting. The grout looked like my high school locker room's, and the floor of the shower was a startlingly opaque shade of yellowish green. What's more, our "Grand King" upgraded room was right next to the staircase, and I think the walls were cardboard boxes. We didn't sleep well at all. We didn't eat at Mistral, but the other dining options were suspect. At Cays Lounge, we tried to watch a bowl game and have a beer, but were put off by a pooped couple who decided to plop down on the lounge couches and literally get horizontal, their feet sprawled out on the lounge tables. Annoyed and a little bit disgusted, we decided to take our business to the Market. If $13 soda crackers topped with pre-melted cheese and pepperoni is your idea of a good meal, this is the place for you. If not, don't bother.

At the end of the day, everything about this place is just not quite right. At first blush, the location is great. Then you look around and realize it's the most mehhhh ocean view ever and it's a $20 cab ride to get back to civilization. The dining options look great, but then you see unkempt old people with their feet on the tables and realize you're surrounded by unkempt old people who look like they've been splashing around with their toddler grandkids all day. The rooms look resort-ish and nice, but then you go in the bathroom and resolve not to take a shower during your stay (true story).

The only reason I'm giving this "resort" two stars instead of one is because the staff was great. When I complained about the loud room, they tried to move us to a suite. When I told a bartender that there was a dude with his feet on the table, they told him to move. Unfortunately, this great staff is working on a lousy property.

Finally, if you're a young couple looking to get away and enjoy San Diego, learn from our mistake. In two days we spent about $150 just on transportation (not including $100 to get to and from the airport). Only stay here if you're content to stay at the resort the whole time. Even if you get off the resort, Coronado is sleepy and old, and doesn't quite fit with the youthful, glamorous hopes you might have for your San Diego get away.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPShamshoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We visited right after Christmas. The boats in the adjacent marina were nicely decorated. Great views throughout the property. Lots of dogs at the hotel but every pet was friendly and well mannered. Bike racks provided in the parking structure. We enjoyed exploring Coronado on our bikes. Resort feels like a resort with a nice pool deck, ping pong, boats, and did I mention the views? Our room was very comfy. Every staff member we encountered greeted us and made us feel welcome.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Loews resort for three nights. One thing that we did not realize until we arrived was that the resort was pet friendly. There were a lot of dogs around which we did not like. Also, the resort is on the south side of Coronado Island so you will need to drive for about anything. The rooms are dated (you can tell it is an older resort) but the room was clean and the bathroom was nice. The shower is small and the water pressure is not high. The lobby has been recently renovated and is very nice. They told us they were starting to do the same with the rooms. The views from the lobby patio are awesome and they have a very nice seating area there with bar service. The pool area is nice and there are two hot tubs.

We would come back again for the right deal but this is not going to be our first choice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Becky, the waitress at the bar was outstanding,she resolved our problem in a very professional matter. first she notified her manager of our concern and then made sure she made us feel at home. Me being in the hospitality industry I appreciate excellent service when I see one. Thank you becky for your service.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurik777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We visited in mid December and some of the hotel was closed and they were working on the pools. The cafe is great for snacks and lite lunches. Hotel Shuttle was excellent and the staff very good. Probably better in the summer. Good location and prefer this to downtown venue.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Loew's Coronado is a bit away from the main part of the island but only a five minute drive from the busier Orange Ave shops and restaurant. I would have enjoyed it more if I was spending more time at the pool area (it was cold and rainy that weekend) which is nice. The lobby leads out to the bar and pool with fire pits which was a nice place to have drinks. The food was mediocre. The service at the bar was very good but I wish I could say the same for the front desk.

Our room was nice but nothing special for a Loews. It reminded me of any old family beach hotel room. The space in the room could have been used more effectively - a small couch or love seat would fit nicely.

They charged $25 per night for self parking and they charged for every little item. Internet was $14 and you got the feeling they were nickel and dime-ing you wherever they could.

Enjoyed Hotel Del Coronado and the Coronado Marriott Resort much better.

Room Tip: upgrade to a room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing