We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got a dog? This is for you.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Millarville
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Got a dog? This is for you.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I thought I would write a review while we are here so that everything is fresh in my mind.
My wife and I are traveling with our dog so hotel choice is always limited. When we saw Loews it looked nice and was "very" pet friendly.
As some others have noted the hotel is a bit dated but has been renovated. Our rooms are quite nice, very clean and the staff have been great.
The pool or should I say pools are excellent and will give you and your kids hours of enjoyment. There is a pool for adults only if you want. Throw in a couple of hot tubs and a bunch of other activities plus a poolside bar for a great day.
The restaurants so far have been good with average food at a fair price.
There are a couple of nice patios outside with bar service as well for the afternoon and evening crowd.
For those intersted in water sports the hotel rents everything from a paddle boards to sailboats to power boats.
Some of the minuses to the hotel are a $25 per day parking fee and a $25 per day hotel tax. They don't tell you that when you book so be prepared.
The other minus is a very slow free wifi service. At least in our part of the hotel. Of course they offer a premium service for an extra $12.50 a day which to me is a bit of a rip off.
The beach is right across the street from the hotel but you have to drive down the street for about a mile to access it.
And you are within 30 minutes drive of some of the best attractions that San Diego has to offer.
So far it's been a great stay and we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Full bay view rooms are nice. Great sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farenheit451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us in detail, and thank you for choosing Loews. We're delighted to hear that you found the staff to be great and the rooms to be nice and clean. We look forward to welcoming you and your family members (including the four-legged one) back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,164
    1,060
    410
    191
    105
See reviews for
1,194
1,168
82
1,005
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Had a great time!
Customer service is excellent.
Rooms were very clean.
Grounds were kept up well.
Food at the restaurant was wonderful. The filet was tender and amazing! Exceeded my expectations.
Shuttle to shops and beach were always on time.
Hotel is secluded but....we really liked it that way.
We will be visiting again for sure!
Thank you Lowes resort for a relaxing stay :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whoobie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're thrilled that you had a great, relaxing stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. That's exactly what we love to hear! We look forward to your next visit to Loews Coronado Bay.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband had a business meeting at Lowes Coronado Bay Resort, Coronado Island, CA, and I went with him as well. It was actually our 4th visit to the San Diego, CA area and will not be our last. The staff at this hotel was really friendly and did a wonderful job trying to keep everyone's spirit up especially with the bad weather we had, in particular, during most of our 5 day stay, 02/25-03/02/2014. The hotel is soooooo clean and nicely decorated, with a wonderful Marina & pool area. The restaurants and Snack Bar are also filled with employees who seem to love their job and pay attention to the customers and their needs. We are so glad that we had a chance to stay there and hopefully will return some day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're so pleased that you felt the staff was really friendly and it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay on your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We come back to this resort time and time again. It is family-friendly, with many different activities for the kids by the pool, such as movie night at the pool and pool-side games. They have wood-framed cribs for the babies, and provide your kid and toddler with separate goody bag of welcome toys. For the baby, they provide all baby toiletry essentials upon arrival. The service is excellent. They will take you to the beach in a golf cart and provide beach toys, umbrellas and towels. The food at the restaurants is very good. The rooms are serviced very well, the rooms are clean and spacious, and bathrooms are large, with both a shower and a tub and double sinks. Very peaceful to just sit outside on your balcony and watch the water and the boats pass by. The only downside is that you must drive to get to the town of Coronado.

Room Tip: Rooms with partial ocean view still have a great view without paying for full ocean view price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAandCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for being our loyal guest. We appreciate your feedback and continually strive to offer unique services designed to keep children healthy and happy. We also take great pride in our standards so we're delighted that you were met with excellent service, very good food and a clean and spacious room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The night before departure, we looked on the website to see if irons and hair dryers were in the rooms and it was listed that indeed they were. Our room had neither, but we called the front desk and it was quickly remedied. My only annoyance was that each time we called (once for the iron and second for the hair dryer), we were asked 'did you look in the closet? Did you look in the cubbies? They keep it in the...'. I hate calling the front desk for things and had looked everywhere already.
The room was nice. We had a porch and view of the pool. The rooms are very quiet, so if you sleep with a little 'white noise' download a free app for that. We had one and it was great.
We ordered room service for breakfast and it was delicious.
I rented a bike for the day and the staff was very helpful in guiding me where I wanted to ride.
The concierge/bellstaff were very helpful in devising a way for me to carry onboard a plane the dozen roses and vase that my husband had sent me.
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay. the above listed things are minor and were quickly taken care of.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank masimonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us. We're happy that your issues were quickly resolved and that you had a very pleasant stay. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My review is long overdue, like last year overdue! But, I promised the front desk staff I would write a raving review for such a pleasurable stay during a crowded holiday weekend in Coronado. If you want to be away from the touristy part of Coronado Island, then Loews is where you want to stay! Extremely glad we chose this over the Hotel Del. After walking the grounds of of the Del, which seemed more like a historical museum than a relaxing resort, we appreciated the value and level of service we were getting on the other side of the island. Loews is not only family-friendly, but surprisingly pooch friendly too! The pool area is an oasis of its own, with live music playing, games and movie night for the kids. And can't forget happy hour by the pool to keep the parents content!

Staying in a room with a partial view of the San Diego Bay was very serene and peaceful. It was cool to see paddle boarders and jet skiers pass by every now and then. My favorite part of the resort was the pathways that lead to the beach where you can walk, run or be shuttled to by golf cart. Though the hotel itself is a bit dated, there are newer sections of the resort and the entire property is extremely clean...clean enough for this germaphobe ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookin4bluewaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're delighted that you found your stay pleasurable and enjoyed both the hotel grounds and level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very large pool area, separate pools for adults, children and a third for everyone. Large clean lobby with shops. Must take a shuttle bus to town. Did not have an opportunity to eat on premises but there is a 24 hour market on premises which I found surprising. Do love Coronado though. Room was nice with a balcony overlooking the bay. Extremely large bathroom.

Room Tip: We had an end room with a balcony. Found it quiet even though there was a party going on next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the pools, lobby and guestroom. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing