We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

From our arrival to our departure, it was a huge disappointment. Our $699++ a night suite was not worth it. The room was outdated with an old tub, old TVs, and a tree blocked our terrible view of a shipyard!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BoltedYankee203619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, although we're happy to share that our new televisions will be installed into our guestrooms in September. We thank you for your feedback and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,020
    1,016
    398
    185
    102
See reviews for
1,135
1,114
76
932
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

First trip to the San Diego area and staying at the Loews Resort made the trip super relaxed and fun. The room was clean and comfortable. Room service was fast. The coffee shop/to go cafe was super convenient for a quick, light breakfast or lunch. The prices were a little high there, but you should expect that at a resort. We used the beach service one day and it was a huge bonus, we wish we had had more time to spend another day there. We appreciated that the hotel was a little off the beaten path. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Not a bad drive into San Diego to do all the attractions. By far the best random pick we have ever done for a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled that you had a super relaxing and fun trip at Loews Coronado Bay, and that you enjoyed our newly-renovated guestrooms, resort amenities and friendly staff. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The best part of this hotel is the concierge staff. If they could get the rest of the property up to their level they would get higher marks, I would rather stay at the hotel Del Coronado for the same price and better view. The hotel has nothing wrong with it but nothing right either. I would not waste my own money here, Company meeting and I left early even though it was free. I can stay anywhere I like and this is not it

Room Tip: go somewhere else to tell the truth if you have money and or choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your impressions. We regret to hear of your disappointments, but we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to address the issues of concern.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Coronado Loews offers a beautiful setting to make memories with family. We spent 8 days at the hotel including July 4th and the view of the fireworks was incredible. What distinguished this hotel was its exceptional concierge staff. Their sincerity, good nature and anticipation and exceeding my family's needs was incredible. This was my 15th wedding anniversary and my special thanks to the E.M. concierge extraordinaire for service above and beyond. Hands down they have the best pool complex on the island with separate pools for kids and adults with plenty of space for everyone. I've recommended to my friends on Facebook and I would recommend it for you and yours.

Room Tip: I recommend the bayside rooms facing the bridge for ultimate views from sun up to sundown
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel, has a garden on site where it grows some of its own herbs and fruits used in its kitchen. You can even walk by and garb a fresh orange off the tree.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and happy 15th wedding anniversary! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our beautiful setting, pool complex and our exceptional concierge staff. It's wonderful to hear that they exceeded your family's expectations and were attentive to your needs. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay during your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Took my family there last night, they are visiting from Taiwan.
Upon checking, the room were not ready yet by 2:30pm, it was ready around pass 4pm. We book 2 rooms, one with balcony, one without, the one without had pet's smell, which my family were ok with but I did not like the smell. It is a pet friendly hotel, so I felt like going other rooms would just b a hit and miss. So we accepted it. The bed was comfortable, so is the blanket and pillows, had a good night sleep.

The breakfast buffet was ok, I thought for $25 they could make it even better perhaps with more selections. The location of the hotel was far from everything else, made the commute a bit tiring going back and forth in and out the hotel.

Overall I thought this is a very average hotel, I feel like the Marriott has a much better location on the island compare to this one.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room let has pet smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EChen106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We regret to hear of your experiences at check-in, as well as your disappointment with the guestroom -- although we're pleased that you got a good night's sleep. We sincerely hope you will stay with us again and give us another opportunity to welcome you to Loews.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel has the most outstanding concierge staff I have every encountered! The concierge at the Loew's Santa Monica recommended we see Gordon Berry. When we arrived, Gordon welcomed us by name and had a wine and cheese plate waiting for us in our room. Travis patiently answered all of our questions. If you are planning to visit the San Diego Zoo, be sure to talk to Concierge Kerry first - she is a zoo enthusiast and will give you the best plan for tackling the huge park. Kerry will also give you the honest scoop about traffic and how much time to allow to get to the airport. The concierge staff can also purchase and print out tickets to area attractions. They are a wonderful resource - be sure to use them so you can maximize your time and see as much as possible.

Everything else at the hotel (room, amenities, activities) was as expected for a resort in this price range. It is the wonderful service from the valets, to the shuttle drivers to the pool attendants that really make this place special.

Room Tip: Definitely book a bay view room.
See more room tips
Green Features: I was surprised that California hotels were not as water-conscious as other places I have visited. There was no stated policy on reusing towels, there are water features, water is automatically served with meals and neither the toilets or showers were low flow.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaLovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're thrilled that you found our concierge staff - Gordon, Travis and Kerry - to be the most outstanding you've ever encountered. We're extremely proud of our team and will pass along your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Staff is so friendly, but management does a terrible job of staffing to accommodate guests. Long wait times for food throughout the hotel casts a bad light on this otherwise fine hotel. Wait staff, pool staff and housekeeping are exceptional. Internet service including paid premium service is beyond awful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SidneyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're pleased that you found our hotel staff to be exceptional, but we will absolutely pass along your comments regarding wait times. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing