We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband, son and I had a fabulous vacation here. It started with Callie helping us at check in, Gordy assisted us in booking some fantastic excursions, and Elizabeth went out of her way to help us celebrate our anniversary and son’s birthday! Really all staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and well maintained. The services provided made it easy to get to the beach and Coronado town area. We would gladly stay again!

Wendy S

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Wendy. We're thrilled that you and your family had a fabulous vacation here at Loews Coronado Bay, and that Callie, Gordy and Elizabeth were all helpful and attentive to your needs. We're also pleased you enjoyed our newly-renovated guestrooms. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,306
    1,111
    428
    205
    108
See reviews for
1,300
1,228
86
1,048
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful resort
Staff all very helpful
Beach was little disappointing
Very crowded and not as well kept as beach near the del
I realize this beach is not hotel own but state owned
Pool area and spa very nice
Able to rent kayaks and your area

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're delighted that you had a relaxing 4th of July girls getaway at Loews Coronado Bay and that you found all our staff to be very helpful. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The resort is a wonderful experience for both the staff and the property. Every staff member has a friendly greeting and Callie on the front desk is friendly, efficient and remembers names, making the checking experience a wonderful entry to the hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are large, with a window that allows you to get some fresh air and a view of the water. There is free WIFI which works well and power points at desk height that are very convenient. I got a free newspaper on one of the days I stayed (not sure if that was intentional). The coffee machine didn't work properly and I told the guy that was replacing the coffee. He said he would send another machine, but I still ended up with one that didn't work properly. The food available from the "market" in the lobby was good quality and value.

There is a great opportunity to run along the beach in either direction, with nice views.

Overall a great experience which staff being the big stand-out attraction.

Room Tip: Block 1 is closest to the lobby if you aren't in for a walk.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel seems to have good environmental policies without it being "in your face"
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're thrilled that you had a wonderful experience during your visit to Loews Coronado Bay and that our staff was the "stand-out attraction". We'll pass along your comments to our team, as well as have our room attendants double-check to ensure all the Keurig coffeemakers are in working order. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had reserved a king bed superior room through Priceline but when we arrived they said we had a different level of room. So I wasn't impressed with that, felt a little bait and switch like. But it got corrected and it all worked out and we got a lovely room.

pros: Staff were all great, made for a pleasant stay. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The sunsets at Cays Lounge were a slice of heaven. Pitcher of local beer at the lounge was only 25 bucks... best deal in the entire resort.

The pool area is gorgeous and spacious, but the painted concrete is SLICK. I almost slipped several times.

The beach isn't on property, but it's a very easy walk (or golf cart ride) -- there's a walkway/tunnel under the highway to the beach, and it's a lovely beach.

Cons: The prices were too high for everything. 8 bucks for beer, 13 bucks for a small sandwich at the to go cafe. We didn't have a car but we were lucky a friend could take us to a grocery store to get some breakfast items and beer so we wouldn't have to pay the outrageous prices for absolutely everything. BUT, there was no fridge in the room, just a lame "cooler"... basically an unplugged and non-functioning fridge that didn't keep anything cold. That was really annoying.

Also, for some reason we could hear EVERYTHING out in the hallways. We could make out entire conversations of the people walking by. We sleep with white noise so that helped, but jeex you'd think a nice place like this would have better sound-proofed the rooms.

OH YEAH, one more thing
We checked out the nearby Calypso Cafe.. it was hard to tell on Google maps but it was VERY close, easily walkable (and a pleasant walk) and the cafe was great.. good food, reasonably priced, great view. It's worth checking out.

Room Tip: King suite was spacious and comfortable. We traveled with an infant so we had plenty of room for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We regret to hear of any issues during your check-in process, but we're glad that everything was settled and you were ultimately happy with your room. We're delighted that our staff made for a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your dining experience in Cays Lounge.

We appreciate your comment regarding the pool deck... our engineering team is currently looking into this to ensure the safety of our guests. Also, we apologize for the inconvenience with the in-room cooler. We do have refrigerators available for rent, so we hope you'll take advantage of this during your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I want to thank Kerry, Gordy, Callie and Johnathan for all their help while I stayed at the Resort! They were very helpful and showed excellent hospitably. I will return because of their hospitality.

Dr. Zelia Wiley

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. It's wonderful to hear that Kerry, Gordy, Callie and Johnathen were all helpful and hospitable during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Gordie Berry, the Concierge at Lowes Coronado Bay was fabulous! He recommended great restaurants, had wonderful ideas for us to experience San Diego, Temecula, Wine Tasting, Olive Oil Tasting. He is a foody and his recommendations were spot on! Make sure you talk with him if you are staying at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased that you received some great recommendations from our fabulous concierge, Gordie. He is truly a tremendous asset to our team and he'll be thrilled to read your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Its hard to find value on Coronado but Leows has it. Our stay was cofortable and staff was verry attentive. Nice rooms, great pools. We rented a poolside cabana for the whole stay and loved it. Would go again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're delighted that you found value at Loews Coronado Bay, and that you had a comfortable stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
4.4 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
17.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 16 in Coronado
5,118 reviews
4.7 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
12.9 mi away
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing