We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$418
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$445
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
1906 Lodge(Coronado)
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crown City Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coronado Beach Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$289
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,738)
Filter reviews
4,738 results
Traveller rating
2,669
1,230
483
226
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,669
1,230
483
226
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket cafemistral restaurantsan diegosilver strand beachping pongshuttle servicefree shuttlegolf cartconcierge deskpool area isan adultrental carself parkingbusiness conferenceper dayboogie boardsfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
4,380 - 4,385 of 4,738 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Stayed at Loews for a few days during Easter Break.We had booked a marina/pool view room and paid extra.On check in we were allocated a room facing the car park and stacks of shipping containers.On stating that this was not acceptable the reception infomed me that this was an upgrade. I insisted on having my original room if this was an upgrade!! It took until the third room offered until we saw a marina/pool view!!!! The room was newly decorated to a high standard and we were happy with it.Dining in the hotel in the evening is an experience not to be repeated.One night we ate in the formal resturant (dreadful) and the next night in the informal resturant ( even worse). The cold pizza that eventually arrived was inedible and I sent it back to the kitchen. There was no acceptable level of staff service .We asked for a manager and got a full refund immediately.I believe the chef had given notice and left suddenly which would explain the chaos in the kitchen.We paid quite a lot of money to stay here and it was very disappointing because it could have been great.The Dell next time!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I live in SD, but wanted a local getaway. This was $149/night on Travelocity for a Garden Room. We were top floor with views of the Coronado bridge, and downtown. Pool was great, but the best was the room. Looked recently remodeled...huge tub, glass shower, neat tile with bamboo accents. Really top notch. Hit up the spa while I was there...it was pricey...but it is a resort.

There is a $23 charge for parking that is unavoidable...but I knew that going in.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chip_n_diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

very nice room and excellent view. Staff very friendly and polite. We were given a $500 credit for food and drinks for staying over 6 days but we were charged for getting drinks and food from the gift shop. Manager wouldn't help out at check out and thought that was very poor customer service since we asked 3 different staff members about the gift shop. Other than that episode, we were pleased with our staying at Loew's.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bascombe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

My fiancee and I stayed for 3 days at this resort. Its beautiful, the staff is very professional and the room and the view from the room was spectacular. The room was up to date in decor, it had a seaside theme and a flat screen tv , the bathroom was very big and spacious. We loved it. The only downside is it being so far from downtown coronado, we had to take a taxi every time we wanted to go into san diego or coronado. Next time we will rent a cab or stay closer to the mainland. Otherwise, our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanlover76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

My husband, small daughter and I stayed here for five nights in April. We had a nice room with two double beds, desk area, seating, plasma TV, CD player / radio alarm clock, tea and coffee making facilities, in room safe, iron / board. The room was nicely decorated to a high standard. There was also a large bathroom, with a huge bath tub, separate shower and plenty of towels and toiletries, hair dryer etc. We also had a large balcony which overlooked the pool.

At the time of our stay the hotel was very quiet as a very large party which booked out the entire hotel for a few weeks had just left.

The hotel is split into 5 wings which extend from the main reception area in a line. We were in wing 5 which is the furthest from the reception and main entrance – a good walk! Whilst you can park under your wing and take a lift up to your room from the car park, if you struggle with walking it may be better to request a room in wing 1 or 2 when you book.

I have split the rest of this review into positive and negatives:

Positives
Rooms
The room was nice and was well maintained. The beds were extremely comfy and the linens were clean and crisp. The balcony was great and it was nice to watch the activities in the pool area.

Pool area
The pool area was nice and there were plenty of sun loungers and towels available. We ate once at the poolside café and whilst it was pricey the food was good and plentiful. The pool area was great for children and there were plenty of pool toys, a sand box. The pools were heated and split into adults only, adults and kids and kids – great for parent who worry that their little darlings are being a nuisance to adults in the pool! There were also two spas which were good.

General Areas
The reception, restaurant and bar areas were all nice and the staff generally friendly and helpful (although not always). We ate once in the ground floor restaurant (can’t remember the name). The choice was good and there was a separate kids menu. The food was good if a little pricey. We had a table outside and it was nice to watch the boats and generally relax.

Internet
There was free wireless in the hotel lobby and a business centre if you don’t bring your lap top (there was a charge for this).

Staff
The majority of staff we came into contact with were extremely helpful and very nice – there were a few exceptions. There had been a big conference at the hotel when we arrived and I think they were pushed to the limit.

Location
The location was great and was in very easy reach of San Diego and Coronado centre. However a car is essential if you are intending to leave the complex.

Negatives
Housekeeping
The housekeeping was AWFUL, whilst our room was clean – everything else was a bit of a nightmare. When we first arrived we had coffee and cups but no coffee maker. Everything was just a bit too slap dash and ad hoc. Sometimes we had a bathmat sometimes not, dirty towels not taken away but we had new ones as well – one day we were drowning in towels etc etc. It sounds very trivial but was annoying at the time. I would expect much better from a Loews hotel or similar.

Pool & pool area
The edges of the pool were dangerously slippy – my daughter fell a number of times, through no fault of her own. The pool bar was shut during the week, meaning we had to use the hotel bars to get drinks etc (not ideal when you have to watch a child in the pool).

Parking
There was valet and self parking available both were ludicrously expensive – there is no need to charge to park when the hotel has so much space and is in a location which requires you to have a car!

International Phone Calls
We had to make an emergency call back to the UK during our stay. The first call we made didn’t connect and the call we made was 8mins. We expected it to be expensive as calls from hotels usually are but there was no tariff so we just made the call anyway – like I say URGENT! When we came to check out our mouths nearly hit the floor – they had the audacity to try and charge $23 for the unconnected call and $73 for our connected call!!!! To be fair they waived the $73 after some negotiation but still we feel it is a bit cheeky! Fair enough charge an astronomical rate but at least publicise it!

In summary we had a very nice time at the Loews but would be reluctant to return during peak season, it seems to me that they were only just keeping it together with a minimal number of guests

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank didigriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews