We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Much Noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
1 review
“Too Much Noise”
Reviewed 12 June 2007

The positive: the bed was nice, sheets soft, view of the San Diego Bay was beautiful. Negative: This hotel has very poor sound insulation, could hear foot stomping from peole walking on the floor above, also could hear people taking from the next room. The shower head in our room was old and dirty (dingy yellowed plastic)with poor water pressure and some of the towels smelled funny. This hotel should not be rated 4 stars.

  • Liked — View of San Diego Bay from the hotel.
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrstrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,230
    1,080
    419
    197
    106
See reviews for
1,236
1,193
85
1,027
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2007

Spent 4 very pleasant days at this hotel. The ambiance is good and the staff friendly and helpful. All the meals we took here were excellent with wonderful views from the main restaurant. Our bedroom was large and well equipped and we would certainly recommend this hotel.
Two 'downsides' to staying here is that there is no quiet area anywhere - except in the spa area which is set apart from the main hotel. All reception and dining and bar area have music continually playing (sometimes clashing with each other!) and the pool area has very intrusive loud music playing all day from the poolside bar.
The second slight disappointment was the distance to Coranado Bay centre itself . The hotel is positioned near the end of the peninsula. It was an expensive taxi ride to the nearest dining area,shops, entertainment etc. A shuttle bus from the hotel would be a welcome additon.
However, despite these two drawbacks we were very comfortable and well looked after

  • Liked — Excellent service
  • Disliked — Loud music by pool and intrusive to bedrooms too
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briteyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, CA
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2007

We checked in on Memorial Day and will be checking out today. The hotel property is very nice. We especially enjoyed the spa and the tennis courts. We were really lucky to have a quiet week, so didn't experience some of the other troubles reported by other members. On Thursday night, the weekenders started to arrive and we got an extremely noisy bunch next door. It highlighted how thin the walls are here.

The service was mostly good, but I would say it can be inconsistent. The front desk was sometimes great, sometimes chilly. Most of the servers at the restaurant were great with one exception during breakfast. We didn't find that anyone's attitudes were bad, just not really complete service where many times we'd have to ask for things repeatedly.

The food was overall very good. The location is a bit remote, but you should know that before you get here. There is a free shuttle to downtown Coronado and there is a great ferry service from Coronado to downtown San Diego. If you want to be mobile, get a rental car. I appreciated the tranquility of the setting. If you do take the hotel shuttle to downtown Coronado, the Hotel Del Coronado runs shuttles for $15 per party back to the Loews so you can get back here.

  • Liked — Spa, scenic setting, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clarkietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

We stayed one night at the Loews Resort and loved it. The location was beautiful, the resort was very nice. The room was large and comfortable. We got the room on Priceline for $120 - the website price was $259. Our room was on the ground floor, poolside. The pool area was nice. We only saw two dogs the whole time we were there. We enjoyed a beautiful evening walk along the beach. We had a car so the remote location was no problem.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildcat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
474 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

We decided to spend Memorial Day weekend at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. We booked the "Romance" package through the resorts website.

We also signed up for the Loews "First" rewards program, on the website. This was a great decision! When you sign up (for free, by the way) for Loews "First" you are asked what you would like in your room upon arrival. There are many things from wine to cookies and milk. We chose wine and were pleased to enter our room and find champagne and strawberries (from the romance package) and a bottle of red wine, from the "First" program. The parking, valet and self, is $23 per day at this resort. If you are a member of the "First" program, it is only $7 which was a huge savings.

The room itself was pretty nice and the view was alright as well. We expected a bit more luxury for the over $300 a night that we paid, but the room was sufficient.

The conditioner in the hotel room was horrible, and caused mattes in my long hair. When we complained, they quickly sent up a nice bottle of conditioner from the spa, at no charge to us. Our advice, take your own hair products!

Our biggest complaint was that there were kids everywhere! Many seemed to be unchaperoned as well. We went to sit in the hot tub one evening and the parents of two children were in there as well, which was fine with us. What wasn't fine is that they allowed their children to jump in the hot tub. So, there we were sitting in the hot tub while two small children jumped in, got out, jumped in again, etc. It would've been nice if there had been some hotel staff around to keep this from happening. We ended up just returning to our room. We have nothing against children, but there were so many children around this hotel, that it really felt centered on their needs rather than ours, and we weren't paying to deal with that all weekend so we ended up avoiding the pool area during the duration of our stay.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelerCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2007

We just returned from our four night stay at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort. We were there with a business group. Our room was in building one overlooking the pool, tennis courts & water in the distance.

Room - Our room (1204) was very large with a large bathroom. The decor was fresh, attractive & soothing. Large flat screen tv. Comfortable linens. We had turn down service every night. Quite location.

Lobby - Spacious. Attractive, Nightly entertainment. Check in and check out was friendly & fine.

Restaurants - We ate twice in the Marketplace Cafe. The food was decent. The service was good. It is exactly what one would expect in a nice resort. Nothing spectacular but good food, good service at a premium price.

Since we were there for a conference we did eat several times with our large group. I was impressed with the catering service. We had one evening event, two breakfasts, two lunches, and an afternoon snack. All were done very well. Great food. Wonderful service. Attractive presentations.

During our time at the Lowes there were several groups there meeting plus a prom as well as a wedding. My impression is that they handle the business conference / event type group very well. I knew that there were other groups at the resort but the resort did not seem crowded nor did the staff ever seem frazzeled.

I had a very enjoyable time at the Lowes Coronado. The only negative thing that I would mention is that the location is remote. You either need a car with you to get to places other than the resort or you have to know /plan that you will be on the property for all of your needs.
It is a $15 cab ride to the Hotel Del (one way). I would have liked to have had more easy access to Coronado as there are many shops & restaurants in the downtown area. If I were making a trip to Coronado on my own I would chose a hotel within walking distance to the downtown area.
I wish that they had some sort of shuttle service to take guests into Coronado. Even for a small ( few dollars) fee. For me that would have made the difference between an above average rating & an excellent rating.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Remote location
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

We stayed at the Loews Coronado on a business convention and thought the hotel was quite nice. It is a hotel that caters to conventions and there were several going on during our visit. The only downside for someone traveling on vacation would be that the lobby bar gets quite crowded and noisy with these groups for several hours each evening. And the Market Cafe is the only option for breakfast other than the Starbucks kiosk or room service. Conventioneers filled the Market Cafe each morning and the wait for a table was long. We chose to order room service breakfast (which is the same menu as the Market Cafe) and the service was prompt. We dined in our room with a lovely view and were served much faster than waiting in line for the restaurant.

In my opinion the two best assets of this hotel are the quality service and the fact that it is pet friendly. We did not experience any problems like the previous review mentions. The dogs we saw were well behaved and although I went for daily walks around the property, pools and gardens I never saw pet residue on the grounds. Our room was clean and had no stains or bad smell on the carpet, bedding or balcony.

Service by the bell staff, front desk staff and housekeeping was excellent. I phoned in advance to inquire out our Loews First benefits but was told that group rate rooms don't qualify. Other major hotel groups do offer reward points for expenses such as meals so I was surprised that Loews doesn't do that. However, the front desk supervisor did make sure that we received our Loews First welcome amenity and offered to give us the room type that I requested if it was available when we checked in. As it turned out we were given a 3rd floor room with the large soaking tub just as I had hoped for and the welcome bottle of wine was waiting in our room we when we checked in. We arrived early and the room was not ready so we had lunch and they called my cell phone to let us know we could pick up the key shortly after we ate. When we arrived in the room our luggage had already been delivered.

Our room was on the 3rd floor of building 3, overlooking the pool and beyond the pool there is a view of the marina. I think this may be a noisy area during the warm summer season but since it was too cool for the pools to get much use during out stay the balcony was very pleasant. There is a hot tub directly below this balcony but people using it were generally quiet.

The room itself was larger than we have had in many hotels of this type. It had one large chair and ottoman and could have easily accommodated another. Since we were there on business we found that the desk area was really too small for that purpose but it did have an electrical outlet on the side of the desk that was convenient. The closet was a little too small but there were plenty of drawers in the bedside tables and dresser (but none in the bathroom). There was a coffee maker with free coffee, a hairdryer, and an iron and ironing board (all things that I needed to use). The TV was a nice flat screen model that pivoted for viewing from the bed or chair.

The bathroom was spacious and had a separate glass enclosed shower and large deep soaking tub. The sink area was large with plenty of room for our toiletries. I didn't care for the Loews toiletries that were provided but they did have some body-wash/bubble bath foam for the tub. The soft Loews robes were very nice, much nicer than some of the overly heavy terry robes that many hotels provide.

The pools looked very nice and there were two hot tubs. I was surprised that the hot tub nearest the adult pool is not an adult-only hot tub. We didn't use the pools, tennis courts, gym or spa so I can't comment on them.

We ate in every hotel restaurant except the poolside bar. Since the weather was generally pretty cool it was not open during much of our stay. We thought the food and service was good in all the restaurants and was also for room service. The presentation for room service dinner was nice with unusual blue glass dishes (not just the plain white that most hotels use for room service). Delivery was within the promised 30 minutes each time and the tray was picked up in a reasonable amount of time after we phone and put it out in the hallway.

I thought the Loews was a very nice hotel but if I were staying for a vacation trip I probably would not choose it because of its remote location. Perhaps it’s not too bad if you have a car (although parking is too expensive, many resorts offer self parking for free). It cost $15 to take a taxi from the Loews to the Hotel Del in the main part of Coronado. I thought the Silver Strand Beach near the Loews was not terribly appealing and the 10-minute walk to the beach is not very attractive.

However I was impressed with the service and the nice room. The pool area is much nicer than that at the Hotel Del.

  • Liked — Service. Very nice large room and bathroom. Most balconies have a nice view.
  • Disliked — Remote location. Could not walk to restaurants, shops or sightseeing. Coronado is five miles away.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank babygoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Property: Loews Coronado Bay Resort
Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118-3290
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing