We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had three rooms at this hotel. all were very clean--carpet was a bit worn and a few cracked tiles. But the people were nice and it was on a main street, walkable to lots of things.The breakfast wasn't great but there was a decent selection to get you going in the morning. Coffee, water, cookies and fruit at reception all day. Frig, microwave, coffee maker and extra sink in all rooms. Ask about the configuration of the rooms as they vary alot, especially the suites; the bathroom isn't always very convenient for the person on the pull out sofa bed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohiotraveler120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

We just returned from San Diego on a long weekend visit with our son who is stationed there in the Navy. We were very pleased with check-in. We originally had a room with one queen bed and then discovered that our son could stay with us. The desk clerk changed our room to two doubles without any trouble at all! The room was very clean and comfortable. There was nothing fancy about the room but the condition of the furniture and linens was very good and up-to-date. A big plus about this location is that parking is included. I believe most hotels on Coronado charge around $20/day to park. The breakfast was good and the ladies attending to the buffet kept busy keeping the area stocked and clean. We stayed there for four nights and during that time the staff was always very friendly and helpful. The hotel is not very close to the beach but we enjoyed discovering the island on our walk there. You can easily drive over to the beach if you wish. When we return we will most likely stay at the Best Western on Coronado again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandmindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The rooms are spotless. Functional but not fancy. Real coffeemaker, microwave and fridge. No issues with room. Staff very efficient. A walk to Coronado, a cab ride to tje downtown area. The only thing I would have liked would be a little exercise room but that's me. Breakfast starts at 0500 which is very helpful. The usual rolls, fruit, waffles, yogurt, juices, coffee. Nice breakfast room. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy33208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

In a pinch when visiting Coronado Island I will stay here but it is far from my favorite place to stay. Perhaps a business traveler with no vacation plans in mind would be better suited for this property as it is on the main street that comes off the bridge and not convenient for walking to the beach or shopping. They keep the property clean and have donuts and coffee in the morning. If the bay end of the island is what attracts you this hotel would be of closer proximity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from 3rd Street so you don't hear the noise of the traffic coming off the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This hotel charges the highest nightly rate of any Best Western in the San Diego area. It must be only due the location, because its a dump. Crappy breakfast, bad rooms. It looks like maybe they wanted to paint my room because the FIRE SPRINKLER WAS MASKED OFF, and so were some of the lighting fixtures on the ceilings. Probably a good idea because the popcorn ceiling was beggining to fall off! Also, its on a very busy corner and every morning there are tons of really loud MOTORCYCLES and BUMPING STEREOS going by. Also, the parking spots are tiny so if you have a larger vehicle, park on the street.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregRidgecrest_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

After reading some of the Reviews we almost didn't take a chance, we are so GLAD we did.

Everything from making the initial reservation, to check in, and our stay was OUTSTANDING. The staff were committed to helping out in any way possible. The accomondations were Clean, Neat, and Very Quiet. We had been at a conference all day into the evening and upon returning to the Hotel there was a party going on in the quad area. It was a bit loud as partys will be but as soon as we entered our room you would Never know what was going on outside.

The Location and the Staff made this a wonderful experience and we will be returning ! !! !

Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lewie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I came here for a few days with my son, and didn't really have the $$ for the Hotel "Del"... or any fancy hotel.
The rooms were basic (which you should know ahead of time being a best western) but clean (the #1 criteria for me), breakfast included... (basic but plenty) and close to the ferry landing.
Its a bits away it you want to be close to the hotel del Coronado... but we took the bus and it was fine.
I didn't want to move my car, as parking is hard to find... oh, and did I mentioned "free parking"!
when most others charge $25 for parking!...
don't get me wrong... I love the good life and fancy hotels... but if you are on a budget, this is perfect.
Plus, the staff was very friendly.
Don't understand the others reviews on the staff... I think it all depends on how nice "you" are...

Room Tip: Close to the Ferry Landing & free parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yesiloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
717 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
612 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.1 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Address: 275 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1410 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £155 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coronado
Coronado Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing