We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family fun time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Claremont, California, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family fun time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel since we has a free night to use. Loved the thought of staying on Coronado. Arrived early and were upgraded to a 2 room suite, it wasn't ready yet but that was fine. We parked the car in the hotel garage and walked a couple of blocks to the ferry, toured around downtown SD just as I had planned. Upon check in, room was nice and big, fridge and micro, and bar sink. French doors separate bedroom from living room, nice touch. You are able to open windows which is nice for smoking rooms. Very small pool, but sounded like kids were enjoying. The hot tub was nice and hot. We had a room on the back side, quieter as the hotel, as most of the island are, is on the main thuroughfares. We walked just one block down for restaurants, actually walked everywhere, very convienent placing. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    123
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
128
99
13
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

PROS:
* In the middle of the island; 5 minute walk to ferry landing - 15 minute walk to hotel del - I had no noice issues.
* Large, clean remodeled rooms; friendly helpfut staff; free parking.
* Bayside market (healthy, prepared foods and little market), and liquor store one block away
* Flattering back lit mirror in bathroom, hand held make up mirror provided and plenty of RUSK products.
* bus routes 901 and 904 one block from hotel.

SORT OF CON: As shown in picture, pool is pretty small and you cannot "lounge" around it because only about 3 feet of edge around the pool. 5-6 PVC chairs provided. Better to have a pool than not to though....

After all the hype about Tartine Bakery, I though it was just OK. Bought an inedible chocolate chip cookie. The panini's were really good. Overpriced for what you get. PRIMAVERA was our best dining experience.

Room Tip: Loud ice machine right outside of rooms 09-11 on second and third floor. If there was a lot of use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LP1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. It was a short distance from the beach and not by the really busy part of town so we didn't have to deal with traffic or crowds unless we wanted to head out to that area. Check in was quick and efficient. Our room was spacious, quiet and very crisp/clean looking with modern decor. Breakfast was typical free breakfast - fine if you like toast, cereal, yogurt and juice. The hot items (eggs) were not that tasty. The pool looked fine though it is on the corner of a busy intersection and the weather was too cold for us to enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DM389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

overall, a very nice place to stay. Comfortable bed, quiet...only thing was that there was no fan in the bathroom, or ours did not work...not a huge issue though...would recommend to others..perhaps the breakfast room could be a little bigger inside (was cold in the morning).. altough there were tables outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! This hotel has been renovated and is clean and family-friendly, with a nice breakfast selection. It's close to the Coronado action and nearly all of the island is within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

While the location is not right in the middle of the action and a couple of miles from the famous beach, that was perfect for us because it was quiet and had less traffic. It was also close to the ferry launch, which meant that we could go into downtown San Diego without taking a car. So, in one evening, we were able to experience the island and downtown, as well as seeing a stunning view of downtown from the ferry. The hotel was clean and the staff, from the reception area to the breakfast attendants, were all very nice and professional.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank elizabeth2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you want to see San Diego the right way...stay at the BW on Coronado Island! From the early check-in, to the must-see suggestions BW employees had for me, what more could you want. I walked to lots of things, and effortlessly drove up to 30 miles away in any direction of the BW thanks to my hotel being perfectly located and easily accessible and friendly. I traveled alone but met up with family at Loews---I loved bragging that I had a hot breakfast daily (as soon as I left my room) Can you say "FREE parking"?!!! What more can I say:)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Address: 275 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coronado
Coronado Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing