We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Had a great stay here on Dec 29th/13. Extremely clean, had a corner suite on top floor, bit noisy in the morning (Monday) folks going to work at the base, but really not a huge problem. Nicely appointment rooms. Had great advice from the desk clerk who sent us to the Coronado Brewing Co just 1 block down for a wonderful meal and beer. Really busy but worth the wait.
Breakfast was awesome, good choices and plentiful. Parking included. We certainly would return and hopefully stay longer than 1 night. Recommend it!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room away from the main drag that funnels off the bridge,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karvin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

The room was clean, the refrigerator did not seem to work, the breakfast consisted of powdered eggs, BBQ weiners frozen OJ, paper plates coffee cups of thin paper. and a 10 minute wait at the time of registration prior to a staff member coming into the lobby at 8 pm. Finally bring a small car if you plan on parking, spaces are small and narrow.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The staff was wonderful with my grandchildren. The children were a bit of pests, with all their questions and asks. However, everyone at the hotel was gracious in their responses to the frequent inquiries.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

good, clean room. nice to have a tv in sitting room and in bedroom as well as the fridge and microwave when traveling with kids. A bit of a walk to the beach (down Orange Ave), but I did not mind. There is also a convenient grocery/market the next block over:)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The problem with Coronado is they have very high-end (the del, the marriot) and then they have motel level but those places charge hotel prices. This place was hit and miss but for the price it was very disappointing.

The worst was our first impression. We walk in the lobby, no hello, just a gruff, are you checking out? No we are here to check in - nope check-in is at 3pm. There was no courtesy and no apology - so sorry we are full right now. Then we had obvious bags but no offer to store them, we had to ask, and then we were just told office door is unlocked store them yourself. Then no offer to call when the room was available - ultimately we asked when to check back but were given no guidance. Horrible, rude front desk experience.

We returned a few hours later and were able to check-in. Minor improvement in the friendliness of the service but nothing to write home about. Once we were in the room, things improved, bed was comfy, room was spacious, it had a recent update, clean, I loved that there was a kitchen sink and fridge.

The bathroom however was tiny and while clean just reminded you of a cheap motel rather than a BW "PLUS"

Staff upon checkout was friendly and more what you would expect. The breakfast was standard plus some scrambled eggs and potatoes, really a nice experience.

Overall it was ok, but for the money, will not be staying here again.

Coronado however was fantastic, incredible, wonderful, so fun and I would really recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christopherkoontz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was very impressed with the hotel. From the check-in to the check-out, I really enjoyed staying there. The room was well appointed and very quiet and I had a wonderful night's sleep. I would highly suggest this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The pillows were awesome, the best I have ever slept on. I would love to know where I can purchase them. The breakfast was great. You could choose anything from cereal, bagels, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, peanut butter and jelly, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Monique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
608 reviews
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Address: 275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118-1410 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £155 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coronado
Coronado Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing