We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fake, this is the Authentic American Diner”

Clayton's Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing fake, this is the Authentic American Diner”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The benefit of being a tourist is that, over the course of a month, we ate breakfast in a lot of diners and Clayton's stands out as truly memorable. Genuine 1930's Americana decor give the restaurant an intimate and retro feel, without anything like the tacky, contrived "Johnny Rockets" image you might envision... And the food is excellent. Huge servings of excellent, old-school, comforting breakfast classics with good coffee and friendly staff, Clayton's is an essential Coronado breakfast spot for locals and tourists alike... Oh, and if you're passing late evening, a slice of apple pie for supper is great for warding off the morning hangover!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    191
    63
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeside, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Great”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This place is a terrific find in Coronado. The decor is nostalgia personified. The seating reminds me of places I went to as a kid in the midwest. The food is plentiful and delicious. Meat loaf better than mom's. Gotta try the berry shake, it's the bomb.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drmarabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fast, good food”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Liked the food, was served fast even though they were busy. Might not want to go if you're claustrophobic, it's a bit cramped, and popular.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KCDinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No apologies”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I often talk to locals - I am one as well - who disparage Clayton's as a "greasy spoon." Well, I wouldn't go that far, but even so, this is the best place on Coronado for your "comfort breakfast." Don't come looking for quiche! Bacon and eggs? Pancakes as big as your head? French toast? Breakfast burritos? Yes! All very good, and served by an awesome, friendly staff in a throwback 50s diner setting.

If you're going to drink your coffee with your pinky airborne, this probably isn't for you. Otherwise, it's a favorite of many locals and visitors alike.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Mom's Home Cookin' !”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a WOW! Oh my goodness - it's a good thing we don't live there because we wouldn't eat dinner anywhere else when we wanted "Mom's home cookin' ". What a fun time listening to old rock 'n roll as well! You could tell many of the patrons were regulars - that says it all. On our next visit to Coronado Island, it will be on the list of "musts" to go back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JM0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clayton's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing