We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our tried and true favorite in Coronado”

Spiro's Gyros Greek Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our tried and true favorite in Coronado”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have been coming to Spiro's for 10 years now and it has remained consistent in its wonderful food, service, and authenticity. The gyro's and salads are excellent and this is our 2nd favorite restaurant in Coronado (miguel's cocina is first!). Great view of the bay and just an overall relaxed, vacation feeling about eating here. Wonderful local establishment!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    53
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great location and view”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The location and view are great! The staff is friendly and courteous, unfortunately, the food is not authentic greek. We have eaten at many, many, many greek restaurants, everywhere we've travelled. So sorry Spiro, the chicken was dry, like plastic, the tzatziki was not homemade. The calamari was freezer burnt and unedible. The best part was the happy hour, beer $3.00 and at least the calamari was half price at $5.50.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Greek Restaurant”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I am constantly sampling greek restaurants as I travel frequently and I haven't found a place I like more the Spiros. Great Gyros....Family platter is a real treat. Far and away the best avgolemono soup I have ever tasted. Combine this with the 5 star view - can't miss.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crabbyman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Great”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Based on our experience, the only thing great about this place is the location. My wife's chicken souvlaki was extremely dry and my daughter did not like her falafel. There you have it. That said, I'm still tempted to try the gyros during today's bike ride and see if they are any better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Food on the Island!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is by far the BEST food in Coronado! We enjoy the beautiful bay front patio seating with a view of the San Diego skyline, and always make a point to ride our bikes down for gyros every time we are on the island.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spiro's Gyros Greek Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Spiro's Gyros Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing