We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Best Mexican food on Coronado Island”
Review of Costa Azul

Costa Azul
Ranked #37 of 101 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Second Best Mexican food on Coronado Island”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Not too authentic but okay. THey also serve things like fish and chips and burgers. Honestly the thing I like most at this restaurant is the tortilla lady that stands outside and makes fresh tortillas and quesadillas for $2/$3. The service at our last visit was very slow and the staff appeared very unorganized and ill prepared for the high volume of travelers eating there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TRL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    85
    42
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great find...”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Looking for somewhere to eat in Coronado? We tried this place - and it was so good, on our 2nd visit to Coronado we returned. Its a mixture of Mexican/American. We had 2 beers, and ordered the pulled pork sandwichs. Whilst waiting, the waiter came out with 2 glasses of water, and a basket of nachos warmed. A nice touch. If we could have gone back more often, this place would definitely be on our list. The seating was either indoors or out, we chose out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank flyingangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go hungry!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Everyone (party of 13) had great food. Get thebhuge margarita. . It wasnvery good! I personally had the grilled chili relleno. It wasnso good but shouldve shared.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MnSAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Margaritaville”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great place with great food,

the Margaritas stand out over all, fresh, homemade and wonderful!!!! They also cater to the low carb diners with their skinny tacos, just wonderful!!!!!!
YUMMY!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You don't have to go to Old Town for good Mexican food”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

My family and I were staying at a hotel in Coronado and happened to walk by this restaurant. We usually go to Old Town SD for Mexican food but decided to stop by here for dinner. Their margaritas were great and their food was just as good. I had a mix of steak, chicken and shrimp fajitas. My wife had swordfish tacos. We had to share each others dishes because they were both excellent. Service was great and it's kid friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ugooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costa Azul also viewed

 

Been to Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing