We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meticulously clean, great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Newport Beach
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My first time at a Motel 6. I booked based on good reviews as I looked for a simple place to spend a couple nights. From check-in on, my experience was perfect. I could tell immediately that my room was super clean, plus the grounds and pool were as well. WiFi worked perfectly, so did TV, frig, microwave and the key cards. Not one single problem. Pure pleasure, I was in and out in no time, slept really good, felt completely safe... and was close to everything. The staff is super-friendly. All around highly recommended.
I did know that there will be no coffeemaker or shampoo/conditioner, so I came prepared. In all honesty, I'll take a clean and friendly place as this motel 6 without coffeemaker & shampoo over an unclean one with those things any time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janina073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

the room wasn't a typical motel 6, it was very modern looking, clean good service. i was very surprised on how clean the rooms were. However we ran into a couple problems. 1. We encountered many extremely slow internet connections during our 3 day stay. 2. Our room key did not work a total of two times and that means we had to walk all the way to the front office (which was quite a ways from our room) 3. the walls are paper thin and can hear people outside. If motel 6 fixes their internet problems and making sure room key works i will come back but i won't be coming back for a while.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nini0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

First of all, remember this is a Motel 6, so do not judge it or expect it to be something it isn't. No amenities - but good price :) This particular Motel 6 is very clean, very comfortable, newly remodeled. The person (I believe may be the manager) who helped me a couple of times pre-trip and was also there to check us in the afternoon of arrival, was extremely helpful and pleasant on the phone and was very friendly when we checked in. Immediately offered anything we might need in the way of extra towels etc. We did not find any needs and our requests were all met pre-arrival. It is also nice that this Motel 6 has fridge and microwave. The TV screen was good size and the beds were very comfortable. The traveler pics on this site look very true to life. The floor is not carpeted, but a material that looks a bit like hard wood floors. I like this very much because it is easier to expect a very clean floor surface upon arrival, and I traveled with my cat, and it is easy for me to sweep up any tracked litter before I left, so the room is left in good condition. Our trip was a overnight mini-vacation and the property was very convenient to Newport Pier/Beach were we wanted to go, as well as to dining. It is also a very easy exit off of Hwy 55. We decided to check out South Coast Plaza and the property sat equal distance between the Mall and the Beach so this was also a pleasant surprise. All in all, I would recommend this Motel 6 to others desiring a similar visit to the Costa Mesa/Newport area. On additional pleasant surprise was the parking on site was very good and the property looked well maintained.

Room Tip: I was very please with the room that was given to me at random. I would think upstairs rooms would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Newly refurbed motel, about $10 dollar taxi ride into Newport beach area. Had to ask for more pillows. The fixtures and fitting are above standard for motel 6, overall a good base. For a great dinner try the blue water grill in Newport.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kateasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Within a short driving distance to Newport Beach. Very clean room with fridge and microwave. Great value for money. Free wifi and parking. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if staying for a few nights in the Newport Beach area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstiephipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The rooms are amazing! Modern & clean! Love the colors! Great parking & very nice people working! I would totally stay here again next time I visit Costa Mesa. It's close to the beach & all the restaurants. Great location! Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vik1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The property is located in a nice area. The rooms have been updated and seem more modern. I will say that its obvious that the work was done with limited funds by a cheap contractor, but at least they are trying. The price was the main reason I chose to stay there and I had low expectations. They exceeded those expectations and I will likely stay there again. The walls are paper thin, and as a result in the morning you can hear everything happening next door and outside. Luckily I had to wake up early.

Room Tip: the walls are paper thin and parking is tight. not recommended for big trucks, SUVs, or motor homes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellsumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.6 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#13 of 23 in Costa Mesa
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
1.6 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport Beach

Address: 2274 Newport Blvd, Highway 55, Exit #3, Costa Mesa, CA 92627-1751
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range: £60 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in June 2009 with a modern, European boutique-style flair , modern guestroom design that features bright accent colors. The room includes ambient lighting, wood-effect flooring rather than carpet, and a 32-inch flat-screen TV. The flat screen TV is displayed on the entertainment unit which conceals the door-less wardrobe behind it, thus combining two needs into one unit. Also included on the entertainment unit is a cubby for personal items and a multi-media panel allowing guests to plug in their mp3 players, CD players and laptop computers – this feature allows guests to listen to their favorite tunes or use the flat-screen TV as their computer monitor while enjoying Wi-Fi internet access in their room. The room also features pedestal beds with a new taupe-colored coverlet and pillow-top platform mattress. Guests will also notice the clean style and the upscale touch of the colored bed scarf that matches the accent wall color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel 6 Newport Beach Costa Mesa, Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing