We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we had read the reviews”
Review of Pinot Provence - CLOSED

Pinot Provence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bristol
Transit: OCTA South Coast Plaza stops
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
914 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 740 helpful votes
“Wish we had read the reviews”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had a reservation for dinner at Pinot Provence. It started off well: we were seated at a table in a corner--a really private place to sit. We wanted an ice wine, spatlese, or a botrytis wine, but the restaurant did not have the spatlese wine that was shown on the dessert menu. They had only a Dolce wine for $30 a glass. We finally asked for a sweet Riesling, and our waiter brought a bottle and poured us a glass. Had we read the TripAdvisor reviews first, we would have brought our own wine. We wanted duck breast, but at 7 pm they were all sold out. Our second choice, lamb shoulder, was tender but swimming in beans. The green vegetables were very nice. We ordered truffle mac and cheese and we could taste the truffles quite distinctly. Yet this delight was not sufficient to encourage us to order dessert. The manager came to our table a couple of times, but we really had no complaint that he could fix. We'll come earlier before the duck is sold out and bring our own wine next time, if there is a next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the Best Breakfast I have ever had.”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I travel a lot and frequently go to a lot of trip advisor reviewed places for breakfast and this has been one of the best places I have been too. It was amazing. Creme Brulee Oatmeal and then pancakes and eggs.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank FSUWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Date with my wife”
Reviewed 23 December 2013


Pinot Provence in Costa Mesa, great ambience in a French Bistro style. Carmen had a gin drink made with simple syrup, elderberry, and soda. We shared a tomato salad that was good, Carmen had mussels that were good but not special and I had great scallops. We shared a good desert. Bill with two 3 cocktails, one glass of wine and food was $111.00. This place deserves a return for the setting, service and the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Burnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great food great wine and my favorite french country decor. The filet and the scallops are 5 star! We stayed at the Westin that night the wine would not be an issue...enjoy!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiliyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
291 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I've been to this restaurant several times and it never ceases to please. The restaurant is elegant, the food delicious, and the service impeccable. It's conveniently located across the street from South Coast Plaza and is in the Westin Hotel in Costa Mesa, CA. Many people use it before attending a performance across the street at the Orange County Performing Arts Center.

I highly recommend it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArleneB435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pinot Provence also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing