We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIFIC SEAFOOD, NICE ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scott's - CLOSED

Scott's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Anton
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“TERRIFIC SEAFOOD, NICE ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a lovely place for either a business dinner or a dinner with friends. Elegant room, attentive service, and really terrific seafood. A "Provencale" calimari app had a terrific sauce, and the shrimp cakes and Peruvian cervice were also fresh and bright-tasting. Entrees included swordfish with a light lobster sauce, and a colleague had lamb chops with a chimichurri sauce which he raved about. There are three prime aged steaks for the non-seafood fans. Desserts were well presented as well, including a "Mocha Box" of three different chocolate/espresso creations. Really a very nice evening's experience...no disappointments.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Papertec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    66
    22
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach CA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A tank top on a man... In 60 degree weather...really??!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This has been one of our favorite restaurants gorgeous years.. Until tonight.

On a busy Friday night we were escorted to nice booth and we settled in for what we thought would be a lively meal. We ordered drinks and were waiting for our entree when a couple were escorted to a table next to us. This place is casual business attire. Indeed my husband had on a sport coat and tie. The. MAn they escorted in had board shorts and a tank top.. No sleeves. Totally disgusting for this type of place.
To top it off my favorite miso sea bass was dry.
It will be a while before we try this place again!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harrodsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Scott's has been around for years but I've only been there a few times. Each and every time has been an excellent experience. They have a private dining room for large groups plus an open area. The food is excellent and the service is even better. You must try whatever fish is on special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunny0016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always really great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Had the Cioppino for dinner, all I can say is Mmm Mmm good! The fish was fresh and the tomato broth was full bodied. You have to try it!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joannethev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very reliable and consistent. You cannot go wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I take my employees here for our annual Christmas Lunch, and I really, really like my employees.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scott's also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing