We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant service!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Most recent stay here, I received excellent service and the order was accurate. As a fact, I hadn't even approached my table and Erik was already there to ask what I wanted to drink. Lupe also was serving me by simply asking me if I needed anything as he walked by. This is amazing!! Why doesn't other restaurants do the same (?) - This would revolutionize the whole industry! The service here is actually typical of this hotel. I am undergoing medical treatments now but when I return to the area (July), I plan to stay at same location...without any hesitation. Everyone is great at this hotel. IHG and CP should use this location as a training ground for each respective area of service. The manager is outstanding, which may be the reason of such dedicated staff.
My stay: April 8-12, 2013

Room Tip: as always, choose "away" from any highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    186
    71
    18
    22
See reviews for
103
138
45
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is ok. Clean, comfortable. The reason why I would never stay here again is breakfast. Had to stay there for a week last March. Because we had to leave early every day, we had no time to stop anywhere else to eat. Shame, because their breakfast can spoil your mood. The choice is poor, every day it's exactly the same thing, and for some really weird reason their Danish pastries and croissants are ALWAYS stale, as if they were bought a week earlier! There is no toast or normal bread at all and if you ask for it, they look at you as if you asked for something really fancy. Whether you get juice or not depends on the mood of a waiter that particular day.. The whole experience is infuriating and enough to put you of staying there ever again..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bewareofkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear bewareofkate,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am happy that you found our rooms to be comfortable for your stay. However, please accept my apologies that the breakfast served during your travel did not live up to standards. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable comments as this is our best means of improving guest satisfaction.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

From the minute I walked in, I was treated rudely! Front desk person was extremely rude and even at one pointed tried to accuse me of being a liar. We clearly stated when booking online that we were travelling with our pets, even got an email confirmation that the hotel sent us but then the front desk guy said that we did not mention. We had no help with our bags, just stare-downs and then later found 3 bugs in our room. Finally, we were rudely woken up at 8 am with threats that if our pets (2 small dogs that don't bark at all) made any noise while left in the room alone while we were out that "we would have a problem"!! Why charge for a pet fee and claim to be "pet friendly" if you're going to harass the ppl who come with their pets?!! We were so upset and disgusted by how we were being treated by this point that we immediately checked out and refused to stay here for the remainder of the trip! I was not about to leave my dogs there, who knows what they will do!! Still trying to get a refund for that night we didn't stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinchy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear pinchy29,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We recently stayed here to attend my sister's wedding last Friday. The lobby, restaurant and room were modern & updated. The hot breakfast buffet was good and there was always cold water with lemon at the lobby for arriving guest. My sister's bridal suite was nice. Overall, our experience was great but the most I want to commend is Frank the front desk receptionist. He went over and beyond our expectations. Our cousin from Wisconsin got stuck at the airport waiting for the shuttle but she was asked to take the cab and the hotel paid for the inconvenience. Frank was very warm and accommodating to all our questions and requests. His partner Grant was also great.
I definitely will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GDizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Great location, clean rooms, looks remodeled on inside, clean linens, comfortable beds and pillows. great shower and bathroom amenities. Good happy hour, Ashley our bartender friendly as well as other employees. Would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McHungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The guest service at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa was the best I've experienced in any hotel. Both Grant and Lance (Front Desk) went above and beyond in helping me with various needs in the most professional and gracious manner. The hotel is elegantly appointed, restaurant and bar are on-site, and convenient shuttle service is cordially provided, not just to the airport but to nearby South Coast Plaza and elsewhere (call to check-if you have meetings nearby, you may not need a vehicle). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ServiceMinded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My boyfriend and I are having a wonderful stay here. The grounds of the hotel are very nice and the rooms cute and comfortable. Last night we had a wonderful time eating and drinking at the bar. We met several nice people and our server/ bartender Ashley is the BEST. We will definitely return to this hotel next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KendraAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
853 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Property: Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Address: 3131 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3037 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing