We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms and excellent staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms and excellent staff ”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a nice surprise and rooms were comfortable during my business stay. Minutes from John Wayne Airport and major freeways is why I chose this place. The dinning room is elegant and food was well prepared. Staff is kind and curdious. Location is near a major shopping area. I will be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GeniusTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    179
    70
    18
    20
See reviews for
100
131
44
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
costa mesa
Level Contributor
265 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great location for South Coast Plaza and the shuttle bus is a great addition if you want to visit a restaurant nearby and not drive. Highly recommend the suites, they are spacious and luxurious, loved the Temple Spa toiletries, bathrobes and the decor is very muted and relaxing, felt totally relaxed and loved the bedding. The pool area is great and the bar for drinks. All the staff were very friendly and would definitely revisit this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, it is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blink99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This easily was one of if not the best experience I've ever had a hotel. It started with Elizabeth at the front desk. She helped us get our rooms sorted out when we messed up, that was way too easy. Then a small group of us came down to have a quick dinner before heading out for the night. We walked in to a super clean restaurant and were given fantastic recommendations by Guiermo our server. Unfortunately they were out of the liquor we wanted for shots to start the night, normally a bummer... Not here! Ashley didn't hesitate to ask Greg the guest transportation driver to run out and pick some up for us. So cool! I've never heard of that happening before You'd think that would be enough. Nope not here. Richard the supervisor came by multiple times to make sure we were all happy and everything was to our liking which was clearly happening. What was supposed to be a quick bite to eat turned into our all night hang out. I travel a ton and this was unreal how friendly everyone was and willing to go the extra mile to make us feel like they appreciated out business.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsuhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Came into town but didn't have plans until the next day so we decided to take it easy and stay in for the evening which we were kind of bummed about because we wanted to go out to a nice restaurant an go out for some drinks... However when we went downstairs we were pleasantly surprised that they had a very nice restaurant and bad area. There were 4 of us and we all got steaks and drinks. Guillermo was our server and was awesome!!! He went above and behind for our table and made us feel like we were the only table in the restaurant. Our steaks were all cooked perfectly and tasted amazing! ( we have all been servers in college so we appreciate good service have eaten at many upscale steakhouses)

When we ordered a round of shots that were our favorite, they came back and told us they didn't have that liquor. So we held off on the shots but the bartender Ashley must have noticed we were upset and she asked Greg the shuttle driver if he would go make a run to go get it. Not only did Greg go get fireball for us he later went and got cigarettes for a member of our group that he overheard was out of them!

If all of this wasn't enough Richard, the supervisor went above and beyond facilitating our experience and making sure we had an absolutely unforgettable night.


The staff is bend over backwards friendly and I would recommend this place to everyone!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joedawg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

My family all came in for a wedding.... It was far beyond my expectations. Had dinner at the hotel and it was amazing. I can't say enough for the service we received, Guillermo served us and made us feel like we were the only table here. Ashley at the bar sent the driver Greg out for a specific type of alcohol we wished they had. It was very considerate and never once did they expect anything "extra". It's rare to find a place that genuinely cared about our experience. It felt like they were happy to take care of us. Richard stopped by and asked how we were doing several times and made it a priority to make sure everyone (not just us) was taken care of. Great experience. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikerobison11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Could not be happier with our stay at the Crowne.

The service was great, awesome valet saving my brand new iPhone, front desk accommodating our large group and the restaurant & bar being the best part of the visit.

Thank you again Ashley, Guillermo, Greg and Richard!! This will absolutely be our place to stay when we come back to Orange County!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliso viejo, california
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My girlfriend got an incredible rate on Hotwire for the Crowne Plaza Mesa hotel Orange County this past weekend. The hotel is located less than 1/2 mile from South Coast Plaza - a shopper's paradise. My girlfriend and I were attending a jazz concert at the Segestrom Theater for the Performing Arts only blocks away from the hotel.

The hotel has recently undergone a renovation. Our room was very spacious and had all new furnishings (i.e. tv, desk, lamps, bedding, art work, etc). The beds had pillowtop mattresses which were so comfortable and cozy. We even had down pillows to sleep on!! The bathroom had high end fixtures and was nicely decorated.

Lobby: check in/out was efficient. The staff was very courteous and friendly.

Bar/Restaurant: a special thank you to Ron (wait staff) and Ashley (bartender) for making our evening so enjoyable. The prices for food and drinks were reasonably priced. The restaurant/bar area is very open and inviting.

Shuttle Service: the hotel offers free shuttle service within a 5 mile radius. Thanks to Greg for transporting us to and from the Segerstrom theater.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1californiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Property: Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Address: 3131 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3037 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing