We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant Surprise, thanks to Samuel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

After a long day of travel, I was greeted with a smile from SAM!!! I was upgraded to a King Executive Room for being a Platinum Member which was very nice. The staff was just so personable and made you feel right at home. The whole hotel looks completely remodeled and the rooms were spacious and modern with unique touches. The king bed was very comfortable and the different choices of pillows were a plus. Whenever I'm in Orange County again I am for sure going to stay here, plus the restaurant (Fireside Tavern) was wonderful and very upscale. Also reasonable prices and they have happy hour two times a day. But what made everything great was just from the beginning with Sam greeting me and being so caring and professional. That always leaves a great impression. Thanks Sam and the whole staff!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank BuTtA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

I don't get the opportunity to stay at local hotels much, but for a conference I got to stay at the beautiful Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa. Everything about this hotel, from the service and knowledge at the front desk, to the cheerful housekeepers, to the super cool restaurant exceeded all my expectations.
The rooms are super clean, beautifully decorated and the bed is the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. I made a call to the front desk at 9pm to ask for ice, and it literally took 1 1/2 minutes to be delivered to my room.
My meetings throughout the week included lunches and the super friendly and efficient banquet staff prepared a great buffet pool side. SO nice to get away from the meetings and sit by the pool for an hour. Oscar, our banquet manager was so friendly and accomodating to our ever changing schedule. I just can't say enough great things about Oscar and his team.
Before I left, I made it a point to meet with the lovely ladies on the Sales team and negotiate future business, as in the future this is the only place i want to send my travelers in my company.
Thank you Crowne Plaza for raising the bar for all the hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Avs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza and had a terrible experience. We specifically booked a room with a jacuzzi tub but upon arriving at our room we discovered that there was no tub at all. The room was small and cramped and we were just disappointed that we didn't get the amenities that were advertised to us. We visited the bar and the drinks were terrible. I ordered a mojito and it came with exactly 1 mint leaf in it and I don't think they even used rum. So that was a fail. I had 1 sip because it was so awful. On top of that the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night for about 10 minutes, which I would have been totally fine with, IF there was a fire, there wasn't. We received absolutely no apology for the fact that our sleep was disrupted. And then in the morning we ordered breakfast which was sub par. And they forgot half of it in the kitchen. I would have loved to recommend this hotel- the location is great, the bed was comfortable and it was very clean but I felt like I spent a lot of money and didn't get the type of experience I would expect form a hotel that boasts 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devault1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Devault1988,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa. We are very sorry and not happy with what you experienced during your stay. When it comes to the fire alarm, we are obligated to treat each alarm as if it were a real case scenario and apologize for the inconvenience.

We have since conveyed your feedback to our restaurant management and are looking further into the incident. Our sincere apologize on your overall poor experience, however if your travels bring you back to Costa Mesa we would very much like the opportunity to host you for another nights stay. Please contact me personally to assist you in booking your next stay.

Warm regards,

Aldo Casanova
Front Desk Supervisor
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

3131 Bristol Street
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
D 714 557-3000
F 714 957 8957

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have stayed here several times now and have been well taken care of each time. The front desk is always helpful. My husband and I are really enjoying the new restaurant and menu, especially the service. Richard is Great and really takes time with all of us guests. I've also enjoyed being served by Cesar, Moises, and the others... You have a good group of employees which makes a great experience for your guests. Thanks, Linda and Lloyd Farris

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is my home away from home when I am in Orange County. Clean and spacious rooms, comfortable beds, free shuttle service. The staff make it great, they offer great and friendly service, they remember your name and preferences after only one stay. Especially Cesar and Richard in the dining room, they are the best!

Room Tip: Ask to face the pool so as not to hear the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I've reviewed this hotel in the past and due to some changes, wanted to update my review. I want to preface this by saying that I stay here almost every week and have done so for about 1 1/2 years, While there have been changes at the front desk, the staff continues to provide top notch service. I'd like to send huge thanks to Chris, Arturo, Imelda and everyone who works the 2nd shift during the week. They make my home away from home delightful to the extent that they can. While the rooms could use a little upgrading, they are clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The shower is arguably the best hotel shower ever!

Now to the negative. They have recently renovated the restaurant and bar area, which, physically is an inviting and comfortable room. They've added much needed wide screen TV's in order to enjoy sports etc. However, what they totally downgraded was the food, both quality and selection, and service. While my favorite former bartender and server, Javier is still there, it is in a limited capacity and only a few days a week. For the most part, the service is robotic and uncaring. (Although I did have a very nice server on Monday night 3/10 in the bar area but don't remember her name). The food is even more of a downgrade than the service. The menu is very limited and all of the items that you'd like to see on a menu servicing business traveler have gone by the wayside. It appears as though they are trying to make this a destination restaurant but to be honest, even if the food was stellar, this is a Crowne Plaza and not a Four Seasons or even a Marriott. The food is, in some cases, not edible. A simple salad with chicken had cold, hard chicken, pieces of fat and tomatoes that seemed to be a bit aged. Don't mean to gross anyone out but it was bad. Also, although I don't have allergies, there were seeds in the salad not listed on the menu that could have caused issues for some people.

When you are away from home as much as I am, the food experience is important, both for quality and comfort. There are others who stay there almost as much as I and they are not returning.

As for me, I'm weighing my options but would like to continue to be a guest at this hotel because of the otherwise stellar service. I guess I'll see how long I can last having meals elsewhere.

One more thing to add to this lengthy review, the food is not only bad but it's expensive as are the drinks (expensive but not bad).

Room Tip: Some people want a room away from the street. For me personally, I think they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AM0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel and found the rooms quiet & spacious, staff very helpful and the restaurant which is brand new excellent both food & staff. Less expensive then other major hotel chains across the street. Free shuttle to airport & shopping. What more can one ask for!

Room Tip: Good choice for the business traveler who needs to stay in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
867 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Address: 3131 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3037 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: £76 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing