We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Event Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best Event Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I coordinated a high school class reunion at the Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa for a group of approximately 50 persons. Crowne Plaza Captain, Mr. Oscar Guzman,made our event the best ever! Oscar is attentive, courteous, helpful and there when you need him. He is experienced in all facets of managing an event seamlessly serving our group efficiently and going the extra mile to address individual requests such as providing carafes of ice tea at the coffee table. We really enjoyed working with Mr. Guzman and recommend him highly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    177
    69
    18
    21
See reviews for
101
130
44
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
222 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Unlike the surrounding hotels that cater to tourists and kids, this hotel is primarily a business hotel which means it is quiet, efficient, and straightforward. No extra "resort" fees for parking, wifi, etc. The hotel restaurant is quite good with actual cooked food, not microwaved frozen stuff. We had a room that faced Bristol and were concerned about noise but overall it was acceptably quiet. We will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting family. Location is very convenient to John Wayne airport, South Coast Plaza shopping and other locations...The room, although just a bit small was clean, comfortable bed and quiet. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast options of buffet or choice from the menu as part of our room package. We did not have to pay for parking because we were always able to find a spot on the front side of the hotel open parking lot. The hotel also included free wifi. We will stay at this hotel on return trips to the area.

Room Tip: We had a room on an upper floor, facing Bristol St and found it to be very quiet. Did not notice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

....Is all I can say for this particular visit. I've stayed her on a few occassions when i visit for business. Rooms are great, clean and the lobby is finally done and looks awesome. Rooms can be a bit small, but very well put together. Beds are comfy and i absolutely love the rain shower heads.

The gym is not too bad, restaurant is good enough to eat in and you can find quite a few restaurants in the area; plus the mall. There is a neighborhood right behind the hotel and the night crowds at the gas stations in the area can be a bit shady. I like to run when I travel, but not feeling all that safe running any where around this area.

Two misses on this trip 1) as a rewards member I was given the cold shoulder for booking on a prepay business website. Like really??? I felt like I was being punished for not booking directly with the hotel and not given any reward points 2) I get it's summer, but they need to enforce the pool hours (shut the kids up at least by 11 p.m. and don't allow the maids to clean rooms at 10:30 at night ,<-- what, what???

I'll really have to think hard on whether or not my rain showerhead is worth a return visit. I'll let y'all know.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumyumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I recently spent three days at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, during a staycation of sorts. The hotel grounds were very well maintained. I found my hotel room to be comfortable. The food at the on-site restaurant was delicious. Most of all, I was impressed with the hotel staff. The staff members I encountered were all incredibly polite, accommodating and eager to ensure that I had a pleasant stay at the hotel. I would definitely stay at this Crowne Plaza Hotel again, if the need arises.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meticulous_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here for a conference, which was well hosted by the hotel. But the real draw was the wonderful hotel! All the staff was so friendly (thank you Javier, Sam, and all the front desk people!), and the restaurant was EXCELLENT. Great food, and generous happy hour specials (late night, too), and the service was outstanding. Jeremy was our private waiter, it seemed, and he was great. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and relaxing, and the pool is lovely. The room was elegant yet casual and comfortable, and very quiet, and parking was close and easy. Really everything about this place was perfect. Being next to South Coast Plaza meant even more restaurants (and shopping) nearby, and it took only a few minutes to get to Newport Beach. Laguna Beach was also easy to get to. I did not visit Huntington Beach this time but know it is close as well. Plus, rumor has it we were very close to Disneyland...maybe next time... I will be back for SURE.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Crowne had good internet, clean rooms and comfortable beds. Javier and the rest of the staff were friendly and responsive. I had a very pleasant stay.

The bar/restaurant has great food and a nice patio.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profexorgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Property: Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Address: 3131 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3037 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing