We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Everything was Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa because we went to the Orange County Fair to see the band Little Big Town. Our stay could not have been better! We stayed for two nights. The hotel is clean and comfortable. It was very easy to find, just off the freeway. Our room was large and comfortable. The beds are amazing! So comfortable. We ate dinner one night and breakfast on morning at the hotel restaurant. The food and service was way beyond what I would expect for a hotel restaurant. The employees really make this hotel special. They do a great job, providing excellent customer service. An example: I asked a gentleman at the front desk to call me a cab. He politely asked where I would like to go. When I told him it was the fairgrounds, he asked if I knew about their free shuttle. We took the shuttle to and from the fairgrounds. Very convenient! He saved us time and money, but of course we tipped the very friendly driver. I would highly recommend this hotel. We will return if back in Orange County.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy021807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    174
    69
    17
    21
See reviews for
101
129
44
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle, Sussex
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Room nicely decorated but would have been nice to have fridge as in cheaper hotels such as Holiday Inn. Pool area is great, large heated pool and children had it all to themselves and hot tub. Surprised that smoking is allowed by the pool. Overall a very good hotel with helpful staff.

Room Tip: Back of hotel away from road and not overlooking the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Needed to stay around Northern Irvine and selected the Crowne Plaza because I am a Gold Ambassador with IHG.

The hotel's location is convenient by the 405 freeway. There is a nearby mall and some fast food places too. But Costa Mesa is far from being a holiday destination.

The hotel's exterior looks quite nice but the Hilton across the street has the upper edge when it comes to appearance. I arrived well after midnight and the check in was fast but I I did not get the usual "we thank you for being a loyal ambassador" nor did I get an upgrade. That is partially because the hotel has one class of rooms. I was given the choice of two drinks or 400 bonus points at the reception, but that was it.

Went up to the room and it was very large and recently rennovated. Missing was the customary welcome letter, fruit basket and complimentary bottled water.

On the upside, the bed was huge, the bathroom large and stylish and the room was generally well equipped. A minibar was either missing or I was unable to locate it.

Next morning, I passed by the reception to ask for my compllimentary water and was asked to pull out a couple of bottles from the fridge. Also had to repeat the same thing the next day.

A nice touch is that I was gifen a "quiet floor". It means no housekeeping or scheduled maintanancebefore 10 am. Children, groups and musicians are not allowed on that floor either.

We thought of having breakfast in the hotel but found the choices somewhat limited for those who do not eat pork.

Checkout was smooth and the bill was accurate.

Final impressions and thoughts:
This is a Holiday Inn Express dressed up as a crowne plaza. For an ambassador, there isn't much they can offer simply because the service options are limited. If all you look for is a nice clean room to be your base for work or pleasure then the Crowne Plaza does the job. I want a bit more and if returning to Orange County I will consider other hotel options.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Maher A.,

We appreciate your comments regarding the oversight of your Gold status (applicable to Intercontinental Hotels) from our front office. We will use your experience as part of our on going training to ensure all guests are greeted with a warm welcome. Should your travels bring you back to Costa Mesa please reach out to me before booking your stay at the Crowne Plaza.

Warm regards,
Aldo Casanova
Sales & Social Media Administrator
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

3131 Bristol Street
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
D 714 557-3000
F 714 957 8957
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here over the July 4th weekend. Based on earlier reviews the hotel was recently renovated and it looked great. We had a first floor room. At some hotels we have stayed at, having lower floors can lead to more noise, but not here. We didn't have any issues with that. Easy access to the freeways was handy, although one of the main reasons I picked this location. The hotel staff was very friendly. We weren't able to use the pool or eat at the restaurant onsite, but both looked good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Want to commend Andrew on his service in the bar/restaurant. Particularly on Sat night when it was crowded, our service was fabulous. When some of the customers with a large group were difficult, he kept his cool and looked after all of the patrons. Also kudos to the chefs. Great food always.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgalyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I coordinated a high school class reunion at the Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa for a group of approximately 50 persons. Crowne Plaza Captain, Mr. Oscar Guzman,made our event the best ever! Oscar is attentive, courteous, helpful and there when you need him. He is experienced in all facets of managing an event seamlessly serving our group efficiently and going the extra mile to address individual requests such as providing carafes of ice tea at the coffee table. We really enjoyed working with Mr. Guzman and recommend him highly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
222 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Unlike the surrounding hotels that cater to tourists and kids, this hotel is primarily a business hotel which means it is quiet, efficient, and straightforward. No extra "resort" fees for parking, wifi, etc. The hotel restaurant is quite good with actual cooked food, not microwaved frozen stuff. We had a room that faced Bristol and were concerned about noise but overall it was acceptably quiet. We will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#7 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Property: Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Address: 3131 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3037 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing