We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the worst La Quinta I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you just need a quick place to stay for the night, then it is okay. Other than that, the room smelled like mildew, it was dusty, there was a gap under the door which left room for bugs, and there were gnats in the bathroom which seems to be indicative of mold or mildew.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Jazmine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Car alarm went off 4 times during the night. Bathroom was not clean, not did toilet flush. Reserved a king sized room, but was given 2 double beds because "not enough rooms were cleaned that day." This hotel is attached to a Hooters, so that was certainly the first clue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stay at this hotel when in Orange for a monthly business trip and the rooms are always comfortable and right for my needs. The amenities in the room are very good and better than hotels of this value category.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank mountains33045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Quiet room for next to freeway. Comfortable bed. Hooters next door, in and out burger close by. Easy on and off freeway. 200 words, really?? for a hotel stay??? I came , I slept, I got up and went to work. Ate at the overpriced Hooters, but it really isn't the food you go there for, In N out burger is better

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank doug h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here for a month long business trip, where I would fly home for the weekends. Soooo many problems. I had issues checking in EVERY monday. Even though my office had made the reservations and supplied a card and authorization form. I was twice locked out of my room because they had mistakenly only keyed the room for one night. I had a different room every week. Each one, the carpet was oily, smell was bad, shower cleanliness was bad. It is noisy....on any side the hotel. On the plus side, the beds are comfortable. Also I left my phone charger one weekend and I called to asked them to hold it for me....surprisingly the staff was competent enough to do that. All the staff was friendly the entire visit, but with all the mistakes made I am still displeased with the lack of brain power on the building. I am actually shocked that anyone gave this place a good review. Good luck to all who choose this place....

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Cleanliness
Thank siddypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, California
12
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It's a simple place. For the price, this place was wonderful. I stayed with my sister to go to the nearby music festival called Burgerama. The reviews I read prior made it out to be not-so-great and when I saw the Hooters directly in front I thought it might be a bit sleazy but not at all! After a one night stay I felt like I would stay again. The staff at the front desk were quick to take my calls and accommodate the fact that I got there earlier than expected. That night we came back from the concert around eleven, and hooters turned out to be the perfect place for late-night food. Overall I was very satisfied. I was worried because I missed a lot of the concert when I got there and the room was not ready by noon. But that was my own fault for not considering the check-in time before I reserved. Can't say much about the breakfast because I woke up late but hey it was complimentary! People said the freeway noise might be a problem but the beds were so comfy that I slept like a baby. Honestly it was my first time staying at a hotel without my parents so it was a new experience and I don't have high standards so this place was exactly what I needed. The IKEA nearby made for a good place for breakfast. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The day and evening staff were professional and very helpful. The property needs some work, especially the interiors of the rooms and common areas but my room was nice and clean. The bed in my room was great and I slept well, which is usually a problem for me. I didn't use the pool but it looked well cared for. The location has very easy access to the 405 and is about 10 minutes from the John Wayne airport. There are several good restaurants, including In-N-Out within five minutes. If Hooters is your idea of a good place to eat, it is next door and is the only dining within walking distance. I had no noise issues but offer the following recommendation: to minimize the noise in your room, stay on the side of the building away from the freeway and away from the pool area. I stayed during the week so I don't know what weekends are like. There were some "sketchy" characters staying there but I didn't feel threatened. Just use common sense and you, your family, and your possessions should be fine. Don't expect the Ritz and you should be satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
3.9 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#13 of 23 in Costa Mesa
237 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
2.5 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County

Address: 1515 S Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1529 (Formerly La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range: £56 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
La Quinta Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing